Which of these things do you recognize or remember?

42 62
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Childhood, Struggles

This is going to be the final part of my article that was published yesterday. I was talking about childhood memories most of us had as a kid and I mentioned I will post pictures of things some of us might recognize. In case you haven't read the first part, check it out here: Fun childhood activities you might relate to

6. Unexpected vacations?

Image source

If you were not shipped off to your mother's younger sister's house for the holidays, your cousins were brought to yours! I had a mix of both actually, on some occasions, I was taken to my uncles and aunty's house to spend the holiday which is usually at most a month.

Then again you might wake up in the morning and see a strange kid on your bed, then your mom comes in to explain that he/she is your cousin πŸ˜† (happened to me as well). I love those vacations back then because my uncles and aunties always pamper me a lot, I always wish to go back there every holiday.

7. Instant teleportation

Image source

You sleep on the couch in the sitting room, and the next morning you find yourself on your bed and you start wondering what happened, or did you dream that you slept on the couch? I usually drift off to sleep most times when I am waiting for my dad to finish watching the news so I can start watching movies.

I will close my eyes for a few minutes and I will open them again to find myself in my room and it's already morning, I will start grumbling coz I know I have lost another television battle to my dad πŸ˜† I always wondered why they don't just leave us to sleep on the couch till morning, it's not like anything bad is going to happen.


Let's take a look at the pictures!

What better way to remind us of our childhood than using pictures? I found these pictures on nairaland some weeks ago and I said I just have to share them one day with everyone here, I got really nostalgic look at them, so let's roll 😁.

Remember these legends?

Image source

The Nokia 1100 was my mom's first phone and I had lots of memories of playing games like space impact and snake xenzia on it.

How many shapes can you form with this?

Image source

This was our phone back then

Image source

One person stays on one end with a tin can while someone else stays far with the other tin can and we both talk through them πŸ˜†

Our very own music studio

Image source

Just stand in front of a fan and use it as your microphone as you start dropping rap bars

Multicolored pen

Image source

4 in 1 pen (Red, black, blue, and green). The crazy thing about them is that they never last long, after a few weeks it's probably the green one that will still be working fine

The legendary eraser

Image source

Legends said the blue part can erase pen ink, but the unfortunate students that tried it ended up with a torn note πŸ˜†

Kerosene lamps

Image source

They can stay all through the night, I no longer see them these days, everyone had gone electrical.

Netflix and chill? Nah, we had VHS

Image source

We still have one of these in my house and I think it's still working. This was king before CD players took over

Cars? Check βœ…

Image source

I know it's mostly boys that can relate to this one, this was our cars back in the days. I had a big one and a smaller one. The big one is only brought out on special occasions πŸ˜†

Brick game? Why not

Image source

Playstation and Xbox had nothing on these bad boys

Our first mobile phone πŸ˜‚

Image source

Was mine pink? I can't even remember anymore, it's probably black


Wrapping up

Ok, I will be ending it here coz there are lots of pictures and I won't be sharing everything or this article might end up being a 3-hour read πŸ˜† seeing these pictures have triggered lots of memories from my childhood and for a moment, I felt like I was in the past, was it the same experience for you? I hope it is 😊

Special thanks to @Aimure for his sponsorship renewal, I am very grateful for it bro 😁

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Saturday May 28, 2022

21
$ 4.00
$ 3.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
+ 18
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Childhood, Struggles

Comments

Omo, what sleep did to me one time, I can never forget cause the scar is still in-between my eyes, πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ you don go lose concentration

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh boy! You took me back to memory lane πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I love playing brick games and snake xendia on my mom's phone then. That time, it was an argument of who owns the phone, my mom or me🀣🀣🀣

In fact, I can relate to everything you said here. Thank you for bringing back memories 😊

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The memories we have of our childhood are what make us remember the good old days, I am glad everyone remembered their childhood 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Takes me back to he childhood that I had before. I remember spending multiple hours playing tetris on my brick game back then. It was my prized possession that I do not want others to have. Hahah

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Same here, I bought several of those when I was a kid 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Instant Transportation is my favourite 🀣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sleep and wake up in a new location πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wonderful, this is so funny.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gosh I missed the instant teleportation haha I sometimes slept at sofa or sometimes in car and when I woke up I'm in my bed haha plus the brick game haha I cried a lot just for my mom to bought me that one haha.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I had to save up some money to buy one back then, it was very cheap, around $0.2 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ You be old man o. No do go marry, let ASUU dey delay you.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ see who dey talk, look at your birth certificate make you remember how many years you dey

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sweet sixteen😎😎😎

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agbaya

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I had the two types of Nokia phone you attached! Omg. It feels really nostalgic. And I can relate with the teleportation. I remember sleeping in the chair, then wake up next to my Mama in the morning, lol

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I didn't use any of those phones but my parents had them and I played games a lot on them 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Multicolored pen was my favorite then, I lived it because I always wanted to draw and paint the same time and brick game was my number 1 game then

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I also love that multicolored pen, iused to draw a lot back in secondary school and that pen helped me a lot

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I recall the brick game and kerosene lanterns being a lot of fun back then since I used to save any money given to me by my parents and then go out and buy the game after the money is complete for it hahaha, childhood is full of fun no doubt.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly bro, back when we had Gameboy and PS1, I saved up my pocket money to buy them

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't stop smiling while reading this article. Nostalgia overload:)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I am glad you liked it 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Beautiful childhood story, every you have listed happened to me as well. We had two Nokia 3310 then and I enjoyed playing one game on it then, too bad I can even remember well.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The one we had was the Nokia 1100, that's my mom's and dad's phone back then

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nokia3310..our very first phone 😁

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Mine was Nokia 1100 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's just so good to go back in the past and remember these things. You know it is always be a part of of our childhood days. Surely, when we get married and kids, we will tell them about this.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's the great thing about having a fun childhood, you have memories you can pass down to your kids

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You see that lantern if you don’t have that in your house then you aren’t fully African. It was a must have in every home then πŸ˜†

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ aswear bro, we even had like 3 back then, one still dey our house till now

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is fun K, I can relate in what you have mentioned except with televison battle. We don't have an electricity back then. I remember how I master the keypads of that phone..can even reply to a text messages without even looking

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly πŸ˜‚ we got used to using the keypad to reply messages that we can do it with our eyes closed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

exactly and can even reply on the text messages while teacher is discussing in front.lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚ it looks like we all did this, you can reply a text while still looking straight at the teacher, it's a skilll most of us had back then πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can relate to all that you've mentioned Kushy. You brought me back to my memorable childhood days. Yay, one of the most interesting part of my childhood years was when I got to play game in my grandma's Nokia 3310 phone.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I seriously love that phone back then, the games kept us busy for ours πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You really went all out, you remember bounce game on phone and the cheat code we used? Good times

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Of course I remember it, that was the only game on my first phone that time, I mastered playing it even without the cheat code 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

OporrπŸ˜‚, I tried to master it too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can relate to almost everything here o especially the instant teleportation, it was usually my thing cause I like sleeping on the sofa alot πŸ˜‚ .. OMG, it's so nice to remember all theseπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Remembering our childhood is one of the things that keep us happy these days 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago