When should a person leave their parents' house?

33 62
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Happy Sunday to you all, how was it over there? Mine as usual started with church, I woke up around 6 am to a very cold morning that was perfect for sleeping but my mom that was standing over my bed didn't think so, "get up and start preparing for church", she said πŸ˜“.

Today was the youth harvest in my church and I didn't expect there will be a trade fair. There were lots of items to buy but I wasn't interested in them, what I needed was food and I ate a couple of them. I bought some meat pies, cake, and fruit parfait while my friend bought some rice and chicken. We were returning from church when my friend started making a call, he was talking to a customer about some goods he has.

Background Source

After the call, I teased him and called him a businessman but he reminded me that it's his dad's business, so I asked him when he will get his own and he said soon. He started telling me the need for him to move out of his dad's house and go start fending for himself, I was surprised to hear that coming from him. Why was I surprised?

This friend of mine is someone that usually doesn't take things seriously, if his dad didn't drag him along every morning to his workplace, he will be at home all the time playing video games, his whole life revolves around video games and he spends a lot of money on them. He has spent more than 1 million naira which is the equivalent of $1400 on call of duty mobile game this year alone, and no I'm not kidding.

I have tried advising him in the past to focus on important things and reduce the time he spends on video games but it always falls on deaf ears, so I was a little surprised to see him suddenly talking about owning his own business and being independent for once, which will start with him moving out of his dad's house.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

I believe that will be the best thing for him to do and it will eventually help him overcome his video game addiction. He is in his mid-20s and graduated from a higher institution two years ago, he should be planning his life by now and not focusing on video games, and I'm glad he is finally realizing it.

There's technically no specific age for a person to leave their parent's house and start fending for themselves, it's different for everyone and a person should only do that when they are ready but some people don't even know when they are ready. Sometimes it's better to just throw yourself out there into the world and see what happens instead of waiting for the right time which may never come.

The truth is, it's easy to think we aren't ready if we are in our comfort zone. Think about it; how will you know if you can live on your own if you haven't even tried? How will a bird know it can fly if it doesn't leave its nest? How will a baby know it can walk if it doesn't even try to stand? But like I said earlier, it's different for everybody, and what works for one person won't necessarily work for another.

Source

Some people left their parents' house at an early age and became successful but some other people had to return to their parents after doing the same thing because things didn't work out the way they planned. These days, I have seen people as young as 15 years (especially males) living on their own, but most of them (if not all) are into internet fraud which is very rampant in my country.

Some people wait until they have a good amount of money saved up before moving out and I believe that's a smart move, it's better to play it safe and have the confidence to stand on your own before doing so. But I have also seen people that didn't have much before moving out and it worked out well for them, their determination and persistence kept them moving and they eventually got to the top.

There's really no specific age for a person to leave their parents' house but I believe it should be done before the age of 30, I find it weird for a 30 years old man to be living under his parents' roof and depending on them for survival, it's very weird. As for me, I already have plans on living on my own after I graduate from the university, I have had a taste of how it feels like and I know it won't be easy but I'm still going to do it anyway, I'm determined.

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Sunday October 16, 2022

13
$ 1.66
$ 1.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.04 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

I might have just decided to go stay at my grandma's house after finishing from school but here I am today. The truth is, we won't know what we can do until we throw ourselves out there and leaving our comfort zone.

Yes, some people are smart to have been saving up to own their own house and leaving their parent's house which is a good move but when you have depended all your life on your parents even at age 30 and above, that is bad for me.

One has to go out to see how life is instead of being confined in your parent's house.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly my point, we won't know how things are until we have thrown ourselves out there and tried to survive on our own, life is more than what we see while under the care of our parents

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yo vivo con mi madre y me siento bien con ella, ahora yo estoy claro que cuando encuentre pareja me voy a vivir con mi pareja, para asi realizar nuestras vidas, pero en nuestro pais no hay limite de edad para vivir con los padres

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Tampoco hay lΓ­mite de edad en mi paΓ­s, pero una persona debe mudarse de la casa de sus padres antes de envejecer o incluso antes de casarse.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True, I remember having a friend that lives his mom so much that he doesn't want to leave her house but finally when he realize his age and what others have achieve at that level, he has to man up

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Some people do stat with their parents especially those that are the only child and that's understandable, at least they have a reason for not leaving

$ 0.00
1 year ago

He has spent more than 1 million naira which is the equivalent of $1400 on call of duty mobile game this year alone, and no I'm not kidding.

If not because I know you I would think this was an exaggeration. How does playing game cost that much? Was he betting.


A lot of people are living with their parents here in Lagos because housing is quite expensive.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

He buys those in-game coins o, and those things cost a lot of money. Sometimes he use up his ATM dollar limit for the month and he asks me to help buy the coins, in a day I do help him buy up to 20k naira worth of game coins, it's really crazy

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh my goodness 😬. I would even prefer betting addiction to this. I hope he is changing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel your friend's parent should cut him off from all funds maybe it will help him

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Technically he gets most of his funds from his side hustles, so I don't really think his parents can cut that off

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That really depends on culture. For most westerners, once you hit legal age, you are supposed to be on your own. Here in our country, we can stay with our parents as long as we want. Extended family are free to stay too as long as you can maintain the peace at home. Otherwise, better go and live somewhere.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's definitely true and it's something I forgot to mention. Different cultures has their way of doing things and what works in one region doesn't necessarily work in another

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Like you have said, there is no particular age to do so but it must be done sensibly. If one is not stable to some extent or let me say if one doesnt have a means of livelihood, it will be a very bad move but there are legit means of livelihood, then it is fine to leave and start your own life

$ 0.02
1 year ago

A person who doesn't have a means of livelihood shouldn't even consider going out to be on their own. The most important thing is to find something that will be bring money before thinking about moving out

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They say male firstborns should endeavor to leave their parents house in their early or mid 20s. It doesn't mean that they wouldn't be coming back to the house for assistance once in a while when things starts to get rough. But at least, let them try to experiment living independently at that age, it will increase the respect their parents and siblings have for them. I have seen this happen in real life.. Too much of staying at home can make parents and younger siblings "see person finish". It's not as if their love for you will reduce, na just see finish go increase Wella πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I forgot to mention that the guy is even the first child πŸ˜† let him go and live on his own jor, they don't need much of his assistance at home coz he has 2 younger brothers, they will need more of his financial support.

That "see finish" of a thing is what most wise guy try to avoid when they move out of their parents' house, imagine a 30-years old man dragging food with his younger sibling and the mother throws an insult to him πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Younger siblings can be very annoying. You would simply give them an instruction and thy would simply fail to carry it out without any tangible reason and mother wouldn't say or do much to scold them. The thing dey pain ehn that if you try to beat them you go just kee person pikin πŸ₯Ί

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can't even beat them coz dad or mom will intervene πŸ₯΄ na wetin my parents dey do and now our last born has become a problem for them too πŸ˜† make everybody dey feel the heat

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I left our house at age of 16, I lived in a dorm while studying in college. Would that be considered as leaving? Somehow, but I was still relying on my parents. I became independent at the age of 25, I worked in a Non-Government Organization that offers free lodging. Now that’s really leaving, lol! But I really hope your friend really realized it by now, I hope he’s not thinking that he needs to move out, so he can have more time to play video games.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

🀣 I don't think he plans on using his freedom from his parents to play video games, he seems more focused now. It's good that you became fully independent at the age of 25, the one you did at the age of 16 won't be considered independence because in a way you were still reliant on your parents 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In my case, I was 18 when I left our home and stand on my own, I looked for a job and got one too so I became independent. It's all about taking risks and determination too, living on your own is not easy but you'll get to know what life truly is.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly, we don't really know how life is in the outside world when we are still under our parents, being independent will show us the side of life we haven't seen

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Since my parents lost their jobs,and my age that time was 15,I started to learn to live on my own but I helped supported my parents if I have an extra money I send them even a little.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Wow, that's a very young age for you to start living on your own and supporting your parents, it's very impressive!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

$1400? Wth . he can spend it in more important things.. it's probably easy to think for him to live alone.. But the real struggle comes once he leaves his house . not unless he has a stable job to support himself..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Most things are easy when we plan them in our head but when it's eventually time to do it, we realize it's not so easy. There are lots of challenges with being independent and most people won't know until they actually start living alone

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly.. We wouldn't know unless we try it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I leave in our house when I decided to work Kushyzee. I live with my own while working for my family.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's good to hear Ramona, and you're doing great on your own 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much kushyzee. πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Difficult question. It's not so easy when you have nowhere to go and no matter how hard you work, you still can't pay rent.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's actually true, it becomes easier when the person has somewhere they can go

$ 0.00
1 year ago