This is what consumes my money

32 89
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Money, Expenses, Budget

Howdy ladies and gentlemen of readcash, how are you today?

It rained for most of today over here and the rain was actually what woke me up in the morning. It continued to rain until around 5 pm, with the rain adjusting its intensity but not totally stopping. It's like mother nature is waving goodbye to August, just flushing it off to make way for the ember months 😆

I came across another great challenge by Princess Busayo earlier today and she talked about the things that consume her money the most and I am just borrowing from that idea to create my own version of it and talk about what consumes my money the most. When it comes to young adults who are just living on their own, a big part of their expenses is spent on food but I don't have to worry about that because I live with my parents.

I was initially staying in my apartment at the university some months back but I had to run back home to my parents when I realized I couldn't save much because of the amount of money I am spending on food 😆. So, I'm just taking advantage of the free food I'm getting from my parents which has helped to reduce my monthly expenses but I still have a few things that consume my money the most.

1. Internet data subscription

Source

I'm sure data subscriptions is also one of the most money-consuming expense for most people, especially if you're living in Nigeria. Data subscription can be very expensive in my country and if you're not smart about it, you will end up spending a big part of your monthly budget on just data.

I used to spend up to N9000 (approximately $14) on data subscriptions every month but I realize I was wasting my money. I used to buy the data in small quantities of 1.5 GB daily and each one goes for N300 ($0.5). At the end of the month, I had spent around $14 for a total of 45 GB. I came across a better data plan which gives me the same 45 GB for just N6000 ($9.2), but I initially thought it was more expensive!

The reason I thought it was more expensive is that I haven't realized I was spending up to $14 for just 45 GB monthly until I sat down one day to do the calculation. So, $14 for 45 GB of data and $9.2 for the same 45 GB, which is better? The answer is quite obvious, and now I always buy data subscriptions for $9.2. That's majorly one of the things that consume my money the most, the other thing is:

2. Snacks

Source

As a person who's always at home all the time and doing different tasks on the internet, I tend to get hungry all the time. But I can't resort to eating up all the food in the house every day or my mom might get frustrated one day and chase me out 😂 so, the alternative I came up with is to buy snacks to supplement my normal meals. And the snack I mostly buy is minimie chin-chin.

I didn't like this snack the first time I tasted it but I gave it another trial earlier this year and I have loved it since then. I try to limit myself to buying just 2 every day, but sometimes it can get to 3 🙈. I also buy other snacks like peanuts and chocolate bars, but minimie is my favorite. I'm pretty sure the amount of money I spend on snacks monthly is even higher than my data subscription, but I really don't know how much it is.

I came across a money manager app while reading Princess Busayo's article and I realized I downloaded the app a few months ago but I never used it. I even forgot I had the app until I saw it today, I have over 100+ apps on my phone and I sometimes don't know I have a particular app until I see it mentioned somewhere and I go "ah-ha! I have this app"

I am happy the month is ending today, so I can start using the app from tomorrow to keep track of what I spend monthly on snacks 😆 if you're also interested in the app, you can just search for money manager on playstore and you should download the one in the image I posted above or just click on this link and it will take you directly to the app's page on playstore.

And that's it!

That is basically what consumes my money and it would have been more than that but I'm saving most of my money these days and the present condition of the crypto market is discouraging me from selling my coins. I guess it's a good thing for me coz I can be very extravagant and I waste money on gadgets and techs I might not even need 😆

I know everyone has a thing or two that consumes their money the most and you're welcome to write about it just like I did and feel free to mention me when you do 😉

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖 and goodbye to August!

Wednesday August 31, 2022

14
$ 0.86
$ 0.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Jane
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
+ 9
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Money, Expenses, Budget

Comments

My own if food as number one! The cost of food items is really costly out there and it's increasing on a daily basis.

The second for me is data. Guy, I hate myself anytime I'm about to subscribe for data. Please tell the plan you've been using on data, letme adapt

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's MTN ALWAYS-ON plan (just check *131# and you will see it there). I think I have explained to you how it works before but the summary is that they will give you 1.5gb every day for a duration of one month (30 days). I don't even finish the 1.5gb in a day, so they just add the remaining one to the next day's own. Right now I have over 5gb and by the end of today, they will still roll it over to tomorrow and add another 1.5gb on top

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nawa oo! You are lucky having to run home to eat Mom's food and save your money 😆😆😆 Where I wan run go?

Minimie ChinChin! I wonder what you people see in that thing. I have friends here too that buys it and I still don't understand what is there. I rarely eat snacks and if I want to, I only eat chicken meatpie from eateries.

I kind of reason that Data subscription because I have been calculating mine now and it's almost the same amount at the end of the month.

Nice reading your entry too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I only eat chicken meatpie from eateries.

See soft life 😆 I can't even remember the last time I visted an eatery. We that stay in the trenches just have to manage minimie chinchin, it's my favourite cheap snacks for now until something else comes along in the future 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i am not a fan of snacks or those sweet things but you see that subscription money, it takes most of my money away.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It looks like it's the same for most of us here, but I guess it's because we need data for our daily hustles

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Food! Kerosene! And data! In that order, those trio consume my money the most. I would probably write an article on it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ah, how come you're buying kerosene and food yourself, I thought you stay with your parents?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's one thing about snacks o. No matter how many times a new snack is being flaunted in front of me, no matter how much people talk about it's taste or no matter how cheap it is, I always try my best not not try it because I know that if I mistakenly taste it, then I would just develop an habit of eating it everyday. Before you know money spent on snacks in 365days is just enough to buy land

$ 0.01
1 year ago

🤣🤣🤣 I won't even dare to calculate how much I have spent on snacks within a year. I always have a favorite at one point or another. Before now my favourite was kreams chocolate biscuit and hollandia, na that one even worst pass in terms of cost 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's nothing as addictive as carbs in this life ☹️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm telling you. Right now I'm fighting the urge to go buy minimie chinchin, las las I will still go and buy it sha, I can feel it 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i think its a good idea to monitor your expenses :) thanks for the tips

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're welcome 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now, I will install that app kushyzee. I need that. I read also the article of Princess. I want to do this challenge kushyzee. Yes, the internet connection is really important kushyzee.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're welcome to take part in this challenge Ramona, I will love to read yours 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much kushyzee. I will try to make mine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same with me my friend, the inflation here in our place, the bills are getting higher, these are things that consume my money oftentimes.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The inflation all over the world is making things worse, it's also affecting price of goods and services in my country

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same thing. I guess I'll write about this as I have nothing to write about 🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😂 articles like this are lifesavers

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Commonly we are spending our earning in buying internet. Hehe of course we can't grind without internet.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly why I spend a lot of money on it, that's what I use to grind for more money 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The app is the best way to monitor and balance the expenses with budget. I don't spend much on snacks although I have to pay huge money for internet subscription.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Internet subscription is always one of the things that consume our money the most

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very hard to budget the expenses because we are used to it.but it's better to organize it so that you can minimize the amount you spend.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, that's why it's important to have an organized budget, so we can track our expenses

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You see that internet subscription ehn, only God can solve that problem. It's one of the problems I'm facing in my life right now😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Data has always been a big money consumer in this country, the funny thing is that I always find a way to buy data no matter how broke I am 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I list what takes my money enh... Many people will run. It's not easy being with so much responsibilities but God makes it easier...

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You guys that are parents shouldn't list your expenses abeg, it will scare the rest of us from becoming one 🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

😂😂🤣😂😂😂🤣🤣 make God just dey help us o.

$ 0.00
1 year ago