What consumes your money most?

39 66
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“Your attitude, more than anything, will influence your effectiveness.”

Pat Gelsinger

I saw a trending question on Twitter yesterday and found it fun to share with you guys. You might want to share yours and don't forget to tag me, I will show up and read them.

What consumes your money most in Lagos?

That was how the question was put if I got it right. Those who live in Lagos state would agree with me that it is those who are strong that can live in that part of Nigeria. Lagos is a big city where, if you aren't wise, you will learn a big lesson in the hard way.

Should we talk about accommodation in some part of the city? Is it the recurring bills that never stop? Or the transport fare to your workplace daily? Aside from that, the traffic alone can make someone keeps speaking in their tongue for the road to be cleared.

Have you seen someone wakes up very early at 4 am just to beat the traffic, and get to work early by 7 am, but found himself or herself hooked up in traffic and gets to the office at 10 am? 😆😆 I hail those living in Lagos. I don't think my strength can survive it. Lol

There were many comments like Data, Bills, Food, Transport etc.

What consumes my money?

This is why I have an app that helps me keep track of my spending every month many times, I spend more than 50k per month and I wonder what happened. How did I spend such an amount of money? Should I say God has been faithful because there was a time, I saw in a month, that I spent 90k? I couldn't close my mouth but in the end, I saw that food and data takes the larger part of my spendings.

My expenses in August. 😲

Apart from paying house rent which is yearly, because the other bills, like electricity, sanitation and the likes are already calculated with it. I love it this way instead of paying for electricity or sanitation every month. I love to pay all at once so I will know how to start saving for another year. In that way, I don't get choked up.

Food is so important to us. Food is life and I don't think anyone can joke with me when it comes to eating food. I love eating good meals and I won't hesitate to enjoy myself. Why would I work so hard and at the end of the day, won't give myself enough treat?

I get my foodstuffs every month and I make sure it lasts me for a longer time. I cook my soup every week and with this, those raw food that gets spoilt on time are the ones I get any time to complement the ones in the home.

Another thing that consumes my money is water. I have had typhoid twice due to the water I drink and ever since then, I stopped it. My sister suggested I start taking Cway water which is very hygienic and safer than pure water or fetching from the well.

I have been drinking Cway water for almost a year now and God has been providing for me. I have two bottles of water which cost me #1500 (2.3$) and it takes me three weeks and some days (approximately a month) before I get another one.

Another is Data. Should I say this takes more money after food? I spend more than #8000 (12.3$) per month for subscription. Most of what I do with my Data is downloading and watching movies on Netflix and viewing status on Whatsapp. I also browse online, either to learn a course or read something inspiring and lastly, to blog.

Then, lastly is giving. This is something I can never take out of the equation, because what is the use of my money without giving it out? I find Joy when I give to someone who needs help. I might just decide to ask for someone's account details and give a little of what I have. In this way, I keep getting more because I do it willingly and never complain. I love to give.

So far, these are what consumes my money every month and I bless God for His provision and sustenance.

What about you? Let me read yours or just comment down and I will be there to answer you all.

Thanks for your time

Images from Alexander from Unsplash

[August 31, 2022] (No 242 articles for the year)

14
$ 3.61
$ 3.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 14
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

There are many things that takes away my money honestly. Most of them are things i can't live without

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right. We can't live without some necessities in our lives. We keep spending money on them daily.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So food, water, data and giving are the things which consume your money. But seriously 50k is too much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣🤣 It's too much for me but I don't have a choice. That's like $100 or so.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You always amaze me with your kindness and generosity, Princess. ❤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I talk now you will say I am after you 😂😂🤣😂 let me just keep quiet and move on... We move 😂😂🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank God you didn't say anything because you will not want to tell me you didn't see that screenshot 🙄🙄

I am still single oo. What if I get boyfriend? 😂😂😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂😂🤣😂 it's the screenshot that got me laughing 😂😂🤣😂😂.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🙄🙄😏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think I need this app too. It would definitely go way in helping my discipline, especially in these buhari times.... Hmm, if not food,what else 😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What else my sister? 😂😂 Na food be the first thing oo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't like using app as it takes time to manage it... But i set a certain amount of money that I could spend within a month. The excess will be saved into my account..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This method is kind of good too. At least we are keeping track of our spendings which is very important.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Have you seen someone wakes up very early at 4 am just to beat the traffic, and get to work early by 7 am, but found himself or herself hooked up in traffic and gets to the office at 10 am?

That someone is me 😂 I did my IT in Lagos a few months ago and I usually leave the house by 5 am every day to make sure I arrive at the institution where I'm doing the IT before 9 am but traffic choked me one day and I ended up getting to my destination by 12 pm. I salute those living in Lagos sha.

What consumes my money the most? Data and minimie chin-chin 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂😂 You already used half of the day on the road. Minimie ChinChin? 🤣🤣🤣🤣

You are so funny.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's really important to record our expenses princess. I love the app you use princess. I relate when you are in the city. When I was working princess I wake up early because I avoid the traffic because it was the reason I would be late.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes. We wake up early just to beat the traffic and get to office early. It's so hectic.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes princess. It's really hard. It's one of the most challenging I face in life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol.. I think I would write about mine too tonight but firstly, what's the name of the app. I think I need to keep track of my expenses too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will be glad to read.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have lots of expenses on our everyday life especially foods and fares from work and school.and also our personal hygiene like soap and shampoo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Each day, we keep spending and our money goes into those consumption. The best is to keep working and praying for God's provision always.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like how you budget your money very precise and yes food will never take for granted we are all doing this work or hustling because we want to feed ourselves and family.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes. When we work, we ought to eat good food.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You also paid for eggs also. We have our own hen farm so it is not a big issue for me. This question looked interesting to me, I wanna also want to write about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yea, I pay when I buy eggs since I don't have a poultry farm. Those who owns it are enjoying too.

Yes, I would love to read yours too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm curious about thr App Princess, can I have a link?

I actually heard about those who really wake up here in the Philippines specially from the Capital or from Manila. Just to get to work early they have to wake up early too but if luck is not with you, traffic will really consume all your time. Even me can't do this everyday. Nah, Id rather go back to our province than be in that situation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, Kushyzee for helping out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol.... It's really frustrating getting up early and still get to work late due to traffic.

There is no link but it's called Money Manager on playstore.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I saw different type😭😭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can say Data is what is consuming my money cos I can't do without it. I like that app ooo, what is the name of the app that monitors your expenses?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's called Money Manager. You can get it on playstore.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you ma, I will download it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting, I wanna write my own version about this later. Anyway would mind, what app do you use to write down all your expenses? I only use paper and pen to monitor my expenses and I wanna do it digitally too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's called Money Manager on playstore. You can download it and start using it. If it is available in your country though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I mostly consumes my money for fooood🤣 food is life lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Food is important my dear 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago