The past few days have been hell

23 44
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Sick, Health

And there goes my 31-day writing streak goal.

Hello ladies and gentlemen of readcash, how have you been? I mentioned in my last article that I was having a bit of headache that was resistant to painkillers, so I slept early that night in the hopes that I will feel better in the morning but it got worse.

As someone who likes to look at all angles of something, I suspected it might get worse the next day and I could have gotten drugs as back up but I was banking on the 50% chance that I might get better with just a good night rest, I was wrong. I woke up the next day (Friday) with a more serious headache and general body weakness and I knew I was in for a very wild rollercoaster ride.

Image source

I was too weak to even call for help but luckily for me, my younger sister came into my room to pick up something and I told her to call my mom but she said my parents already left for work (damn!). I was extra lucky I woke up before my sisters left for work, I wonder how I would've coped if I was home alone as usual. My sister called my dad on phone and I was told to go get drugs from the nurse close to my house when she opens her workplace later.

I was hoping as the morning progressed, I would be strong enough to take a walk downstairs and visit the nurse but things seem to be getting worse and I knew I had to call for help. There is a reason why my mom was the first person I asked for when I woke up, she knew the best thing to do whenever any member of the family is sick. I called her immediately and told her what was going on and she said she was coming home.

She arrived a few minutes later with drugs which I took immediately and she tried to offer me the breakfast they left for me earlier but I told her I will throw up πŸ˜† coz the food she's offering is one of the things I hate the most when I am sick: bread, the other one is egg (whether boiled or fried, I hate them all). I finally settled for rice but I could only take a small quantity and I had to use a malt drink to enable me swallow it coz my mouth was very dry.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

Mom left after a while and in a few hours, I was feeling better; the medicine is working. I was still lying in bed but at least I could open my eyes properly without feeling like someone was hitting them with a sledgehammer and I tried using my phone but I could only use it for a few minutes before drifting off to sleep.

I woke up some hours later and it seems I have gone back to square one (or maybe even square zero). My mom came back later in the evening and was alarmed by my body temperature (I think she mentioned something around 40Β°C or thereabout). But the funny thing is I was feeling very cold and had to wrap myself with lots of clothes and a blanket but mom made me remove all of it so I could cool down, it was not a very fun experience.

I took the drugs again that night and had a bit of dinner before sleeping off immediately. Woke up the next day (Saturday) and I was feeling slightly better. Manage to eat breakfast that morning, took the same drugs and after a few hours, I was feeling better (it's beginning to look like a pattern πŸ˜†). By Saturday evening, I was feeling a lot better and can even move more freely. I kept myself busy with movies coz that's the only thing I could do that won't mentally drain me.

Image source

Sunday morning was a lot better and I could tell I have gotten about 60% of my health back to normal. I was still having a bit of weakness and a slight headache but my body temperature has reduced. Continued watching movies on my phone and played a few games just to get used to my phone again. I actually noticed the colors were looking more intense than before πŸ˜† (might just be a side-effect of the sickness?).


Moving forward

I seriously hate getting sick (I know nobody likes it but mine is extra) and I didn't like the way I was helpless this past couple of days. I have been doing a lot of activities that I know quite well are too much for me to handle all at once but I still went ahead to do them daily and barely had enough rest, so I wasn't surprised when I broke down.

Looks like I am going to reduce the time I allocate to my daily activities, starting with coding (that one is the biggest villain here πŸ˜†). I usually allocate up to 6 hours daily to coding but now I am reducing it to 3 hours, the remaining 3 hours will be added to my resting and relaxation time. Other activities will be reduced as well, I will hate for something like this to happen again.

All in all, I am glad to be back to blogging, that was the one thing I always had in mind as I dived in and out of different sleeping sessions, at one point I even tried writing an article but I blacked out after writing only the topic πŸ˜†. I am not yet fully back to full health but I am slowly getting there. On that note, I will fully resume activities here tomorrow (as well as hive), so please bear with me for now.

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Sunday July 10, 2022

8
$ 1.22
$ 1.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Cogamedia
$ 0.03 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 4
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago
Topics: Sick, Health

Comments

Nobody likes sickness because it takes over everything and render the body useless, the worst of it is that appetite for food will disappear. Welcome back!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's that appetite aspect that is very painful, I will just be looking at my favorite food and won't be able to eat πŸ˜† thank God I am better now sha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks heaven your feeling okay. Welcome back to us hehe and take care always

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sure I will, you take care of yourself too 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry about that, I am glad you've decided to take a cut on your online activities.

I think to much of work and time spent looking at the screen might have contributed to falling ill

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly bro, I actually saw it coming that all the stress I have been accumulating will make me breakdown one day, I have learnt my lessons

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hope your okay now, thank God for mother's, nobody like sickness

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah I am much better now, all thanks to my mom

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Almost the same thing happened to me some few weeks back, I wasn’t able to go to work, πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sickness na bad thing sha. It has been a long time I got sick, so this latest one was very intense

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Welcome back again, I hope you continue feeling better now

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I certainly hope so too, thanks 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here, everytime I am not feeling well all I wanted is my Mom. That is why I am always crying if I am sick now, cause I am away from herπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Moms are the best 😁 and that's because they have been taking care of us right from when we were babies, so they know us more than we even know ourselves

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with thatπŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Was wondering what happened, then I remember reading your last article. Welcome back. And take care of yourself. Myself, I have been using rest to hold it off, but b I know it is coming.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

🀣 that tingling feeling that tells you there's something lurking in the dark and waiting for its time to shine, na so e do me that last week, I suspected something was coming

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh we really need to take care of our health... Hopefully you are fully recovered now.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am not fully recovered yet but at least I have improved significantly, I should be fully back to normal within this week. Thank you Jen 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pele kush. I suspected as much cos i looked the nook and cranny of readcash and couldn't find a trace of you. I hope you recover quickly.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you bro. I am certainly going to recover fully before this week runs out, the whole thing just tire me πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope today you are 100% better and back to your health! Look after yourself as it's not easy and very uncomfortable to get sick. 😊

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I'm sure going to take better care of my health from now on, getting sick is not a very good price to pay for overworking myself. Thanks momma 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago