Sometimes you just have to be unpredictable

28 34
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

This topic was inspired by an event that happened some weeks ago during my field practical training, where I ended up staying in an apartment with my classmates as we worked on a big farm.

On one fateful day, we were walking back home after a stressful day at the farm. We usually split into smaller groups when we are going home, and that day we were 4; 2 girls and 2 boys. I and one of the girls were lagging behind because we were having fun making videos on Snapchat, while the two other people were walking in front of us.

Image source

(For anonymity purposes, I am going to use pseudo-names for the two girls involved in this story; Jessica and Ella)

At one point, I stopped at a store because I needed to buy water. As soon as the water arrived, the other girl; Jessica (who actually likes me but I usually feign ignorance) took all the water, gave one to the other boy, and ran off with the rest.

On a normal day, I would have run after her and pleaded with her to give me the water but I knew that's exactly what she wanted me to do, so I did the opposite; I bought two extra water for me and Ella! 😂 With the extra water I bought, there was no need for me to ask her for the ones she took, I was pissed off with what she did but I just kept quiet as I slowly plotted my revenge.

She obviously wanted my attention but I didn't play into her game, instead, I did the opposite of what she thought I would have done, and that got her pissed off. One thing most people don't know about me is that I love mind games, but I only play that trick when I notice the other person is trying to do the same, then it turns into a competition 😆.

Image source

Remember I said I was plotting my revenge? So, I decided to play my own game as well by using one particular emotion; jealousy. I gave Jessica space while I and Ella were at the back still having fun on Snapchat, and I occasionally bought snacks as we walked home.

Ella noticed that Jessica was moody and said I should go talk to her but I told her no, that she just wants attention and I am not going to give it to her. We continued walking home and at one point, Jessica approached me with her usual playful nature to ask for some of the snacks I was eating, and with a straight face, I told her no.

Well, that was it, she was definitely very angry at that point but I needed to pay her back for the water stunt she pulled earlier, and that was exactly what I did with the snacks. Her face suddenly changed when I said no and she said "don't talk to me for the rest of the day", and then she stormed off.

Image source

Later in the evening when we were all at home, she came to me and requested I accompany her to go buy something from a shop outside (the same person that said I shouldn't talk to her 😂). On the way to the shop, she was quiet so I asked her why she was that way (I already knew the answer) and then she said she was mad at me because of what happened earlier.

I reminded her that she started the whole thing when she ran off with my water and then she said she did that because she wanted to get my attention, I replied with "I know, but I wasn't in the mood". She also mentioned that she was jealous because I and Ella were having fun with Snapchat and leaving her out of it.

We finally settled all our issues that evening. I guess she learned her lesson, but she still pulled other crazy stunts some other days 😆. Most times it's better to break out of the usual chains of events and do something unpredictable, aside from it being a way to get out of a boring routine, it also helps in keeping us safe.

Let me give you a reason why I said it can keep us safe. As a security measure, it's a great idea to be unpredictable when it comes to the route we take when going home, especially for those that drive to and from work every day.

It's advisable to follow different routes randomly every day because it's a good way to confuse criminals that are planning to ambush you. If someone is planning on robbing you while going back home, he can easily do it if he knows you only take one route, but it becomes harder if your movement and timing are unpredictable.

Image source

Let's say today you go home following road one, then tomorrow you switch it up and drive through road four, then the next day you change it to road three, and you keep circling through different roads randomly. It won't totally keep you safe from the hands of criminals, but it's a good way to reduce the chances 😉

Unpredictability also works well in other aspects of our lives, as long as it involves us dealing with other humans, then there's a need to be unpredictable and do something unexpected. It is a good way for getting out of a manipulative situation as well as to take care of people playing mind games (just like what I did to Jessica and her water stunt).

Mind games only work when the person behaves exactly how you want them to, it's all about having control over how they think and react to all your actions, but you can't do that to someone that is unpredictable and does something you didn't plan for, right? 😉

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Saturday January 29, 2022

12
$ 4.39
$ 4.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.04 from @FarmGirl
+ 7
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

Good you played mind games with her so she can learn her lessons,we need to be unpredictable most times so people don't know the real us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And sometimes, people do like it when you're unpredictable, because it shows you're not a boring person

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aigooo, poor girl. If it's me I won't give you my attention anymore and move on with my feelings for you. 😂🥴

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂😂😂 that will be hard for the girl to do if she really likes me, love isn't something that can just be turned off 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You like shakara 😂 You should have chased her while imagining slow music playing in the background lol. I don't like mind games, if I sense it I'll just cut off from the person. I hate stress 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You know you girls are the masters of shakara and mind games, the occasional "playing hard to get" is right there on top of the mind games manual, I am simply borrowing from you girls playbook 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hard to get is not a real thing, at least for me. It's either I don't like you in that way or I don't like you enough yet. I won't deny myself of being with someone I like just to form hard to get, it has to be for other reasons. Like I said, I don't like stress 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo, I have legit seen girls that says they play hard to get so they can know if the guy really likes them, they say it sometimes help them to know the guy's true motive

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 Really? As if it will change much. A guy that wants to play around will still do that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly 😉 guys are masters when it comes to the long game. Play hard to get all you want, but they are ready to lie in wait for months just to get what they want

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 Exactly!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting, very interesting. That's all I will say

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣 I have been waiting for you, I just know say na wetin you go talk

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na look I dey look you o but one person name dey come my mind Sha. That same person wey give you plantain that day 🌚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dead wrong 🤣 keep guessing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice story with you and Ella, I love mind games too, just the idea of making people fall to you tricks and all, is the trap I put for people on daily basis

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mind game is dangerous and involves manipulation, that's why I only use it for people that use it as well 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, you pulled off something funny. The question now is, do you like her? lol! But you are definitely right about being unpredictable. It keeps anyone guessing of what you would do next and also, keep you safe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Patterns are easy to notice and can be used against us, but being unpredictable is hard to keep up with. And yes, I do like her 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In summary, Jessica cares a bout you a lot. In fact she haf fall for you finish ☺

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😆 yeah you can say that, but one still have to be careful these days sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha ang cute namn selos yarn bawing bawi eh, agree sometimes we just need to be unpredictable because not everyday is the same day, same scenarios, life is unpredictable so does human should.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, life is unpredictable and it's better if we are as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I saw that photo , we fear rejection, Cause we want everyone accept our flaws and that's why we do everything just to please everyone. Trying to be perfect in front of the people but we aren't comfortable with cause it is not our true personality.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Most times it's better if we just do things to please ourselves first before worrying about other people. We must first learn to accept our flaws

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😅😅 it's like I will come and learn from the best

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂 I still dey learn o, I am far from the best

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you have learn from your very best. And making your endeavor prevails.

$ 0.00
2 years ago