Moral decadence in the society

37 59
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Hello everyone, how are you doing today? I know most people are still resting after the new year celebration, but that's not the case for me as I had to go back to school today.

I will be starting my IT tomorrow and the way we do it in my department is that everyone in the class will go together and stay in one house (I can already see trouble brewing 😆). I did my preparation today and I went to the market to get a few things, and that's actually the reason why I wasn't very active here today.

My parents didn't even care that I was going back to school today, they still gave me chores to do 😂 it was while doing one of those chores that I heard a somewhat interesting conversation between a young boy that's not even up to 18 years and a woman.

Image source

They were talking about cyber fraud and the young boy said there's nothing wrong with it, that the people doing it aren't doing anything bad and they aren't stealing. I was still thinking in my head; how is cyber fraud not stealing? You're tricking someone to take their money and you don't see anything wrong with it?

That was what the woman asked the boy and he replied; "they are not stealing because they didn't force the person to give them money, they just say a few things to the person and try to convince them to part with their money". Just wow, it's no wonder the issue of cyber fraud is very huge in my country.

The boy later added that the whites stole from us in the past, so it's only right that we take back what they stole (so I guess it's an eye for an eye sort of thing). Cyber fraud is now seen as a good thing by a large number of youths and that's why they are a lot of them engage in it.

It's not even only the youths that now see nothing wrong with it, even parents are now encouraging it. I remember some years back, a mother came to meet me and she thought I was into cyber fraud and she was asking me if I can teach her son how to do it or if I know anyone that can help, can you just imagine? A mother is pushing her son into the world of crime.

Image source

The major reason why most people are engaging in cyber fraud and seeing it as a good thing is that they are intimidated by those that have made lots of money from it. I mean, it's not weird to see a 17 years old boy with a house and cars in my country, a lot of families also want that but they end up going through the wrong way.

You will even see elderly women telling you; "don't you see what your mates are doing? Can't you be like them?". Yeah, it has gotten so bad. Fraudsters are welcomed in major places like clubs, hotels, and even churches! Most businesses revolve around them and a lot of them will rather have them as their customer.

I have heard of a church that always holds special service for fraudsters, they are told to come out with their laptops and the pastor prays for them so they will be successful in their endeavors, pretty crazy, right?

Whenever the argument of cyber fraud being a crime comes up, most of them will tell you; "it's just a game of smartness and whoever isn't smart will fall prey", they are justifying it by referring to it as just a game, game where some of the victims end up committing suicide because they have lost all their savings to these keyboard warriors (maybe it's squid game?)

I have seen some videos of victims that have been defrauded and it's not a pretty sight, some of them are visibly heartbroken and they are just crying uncontrollably, but the so-called fraudsters don't even care and will even go ahead to collect more if they have the chance.

Right now, I feel that the young boy that is having that conversation with the woman will gladly jump into cyber fraud if he sees someone that will teach him the craft, he already has his mind made up and sees nothing wrong with defrauding people of their hard-earned money. I wonder how the situation will be like in the next 5 years because things are getting worse every day in the country.

Thanks for reading

Monday January 3rd, 2022

15
$ 6.27
$ 5.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 12
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

Oh my... I also read one like this here in Read and didn't want to say any more words coz I might say something bad

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's really thought-provoking when you hear about things like these

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My brother, I wrote something like this yesterday when a cousin that visited opened my eyes to see lines of unbelievable People into frauds. Parents are aware and they're fully in support. Pastor's are aware and they are not saying anything.

Almost every young boys in my villa are into it. Just like you say, the next four be years would be something else

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aswear, people will come online and be speaking out against yahoo boys but they are supporting them in the real world

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cyber fraud is now the quickest way to make money these days. God help us really!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The quickest way that's also a crime, but most people see it as nothing wrong. Very soon yahoo boys will even have ID card and will gladly wear it on their neck

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol my mum sometimes didn't care even if I have an online class because she will still make me do some household chores 🤦‍♀️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂 I guess that's just how parents behave everywhere

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sad and really sad. Those who are supposed to guide the younger ones are themselves encouraging them to fraud. That society is heading to the clift if nothing is done soon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's really sad that the ones that are supposed to be speaking against it are actually encouraging it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"While our politicians take money away from the economy, yahoo boys bring money back to the economy".. That line is really sickening I swear. I have hears stories of plot of honest and sincere young Nigerians who has e lost opportunities abroad because we all have been tagged as criminals by these countries...... Wishing you the best in your IT , I pray u get a very nice place with favorable conditions. It will boost your CGPA well a.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I always heard that line a lot and the funny thing is that it's not usually the yahoo boys that says it, it's business owners

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hmm. And those that benefit direclty or indirectly from such nefarious activity

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

H ow is cyber fraud not same with stealing? They will definitely regret it later because they are causing others to cry while they think they are enjoying. Forcefully taking something from someone is also stealing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They always meet their Waterloo at one point or the other, you can't use another person's money to go far in life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have saw in our department S.E some other students of Cyber security are great but they do sometimes fraud with people,at the top hackers lists. They fraud with their mond and using coding figure

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They is just too bad, they are using what they study to defraud others

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously? This is still steal just in a High tech way.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, they are stealing through the internet

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry, are you from Edo? I'm asking because this is exactly what's happening over there.

$ 0.02
User's avatar xus
2 years ago

Yeah I stay in Edo, specifically Benin. I guess I don't even need to mention the state before a person will know 😆 it's very prevalent over here and in Delta state

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He talk about a great project really and a lot to be said about this

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I just couldn't believe they are in a thought that cyber fraud is not stealing.. how is it not?? maybe slap them and that will knock some sense into their brains

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂 I don't think it has gotten to the stage of slapping them, they will know it's stealing when they have been arrested

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He talked about a very beautiful subject. In fact, there is a lot to be said about it. Nowadays, social degradation is often seen everywhere. Things get really bad.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's very common in all society, it's a very serious problem. Thanks Mazekin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a comp sci grad but never thought of taking that advantage to fraud other people...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow, I didn't know you studied computer science, that's impressive! 👏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The special service for fraudsters, that just blew me away. That's insane and cyber fraud is stealing!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I was shocked when I heard of it, fraudsters are celebrated in my country

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm from Nigeria too, and I had no idea this happened

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, if you stay in Lagos you should have heard about it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have found ways to normalise wrong things, that's why they would call it 'hustle'. Like it is legal. BTW, there is a difference between IT and FPT 👀

$ 0.02
2 years ago

How you want make I take dey explain FPT give them 🌝 all of them na industrial training

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, they are not. You don't do your training in industries, you do it in the field

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hear 🥱

$ 0.00
2 years ago