Lucid dreams

33 56
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Thanks to @Theblackdoll for the inspiration behind this article. I was talking with her on one of her previous articles about some of the dreams I have had in the past and she made mention of lucid dreams, I immediately wrote it down and decided to work on it later today 😁.

Now first off, what is a lucid dream? According to WebMD;

lucid dreams are when you know that you’re dreaming while you’re asleep.

You’re aware that the events flashing through your brain aren’t really happening. But the dream feels vivid and real. You may even be able to control how the action unfolds, as if you’re directing a movie in your sleep.

Image source

It's a very rare occurrence and it takes a lot of years to master. A lot of people don't know they are dreaming except maybe after they have woken up before they realize it was a dream. Back when I was a kid, I had no control over my dream and they always appear so real that I won't even realize it was a dream.

But how did I later learn how to become self-aware and control my dreams? I started noticing a lot of crazy things that made me realize it just couldn't be real life πŸ˜† From then on, I started watching out for such crazy signs to let me know that I am dreaming, and at one point I didn't even need to look for signs for me to know.

When I was younger, I had a couple of nightmares that usually involves ghosts and demons and it's probably because I watched a lot of horror movies as a kid (and that's why I love horror movies now 😁). Those nightmares always look so real and I most times woke up screaming.

It got to a point that my parents had to get something that looks like a pot made from wire mesh and burnt incense in it to drive away the "evil spirits" responsible for my nightmares. Usually, when those ghosts or demons attack me in my dream, they start by chasing me and I run like hell but sometimes I can't even run because my legs refuse to respond.

Image source

Seeing as I can't run, the ghost quickly catches up with me and I wake up screaming and unable to move for a minute or two (sleep paralysis). After some time, I started learning how to fight back and it began by not being scared of those ghosts or demons. I sometimes fight back using magic or I appear as one of those movies' superheroes (like superman 😁).

But even at that, I only knew I was dreaming but I still couldn't control how things turn out, I only knew I don't have to be scared of those demons anymore. I kept working on that and it finally got to the point where I had very good control over my dreams. Whenever I dream and those demons appear, I can choose to ignore them or I make them disappear by simply snapping my fingers.

I remember there was a day during one of my dream episodes, I walked up to a random stranger and just said "I am dreaming o, my body is in the real world" πŸ˜‚. I still don't have full control over what happens, but I do control a lot of things and I can even change environments by simply just closing my eyes and thinking about where I want to be.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

But the thing is, I hardly dream these days but that's not actually the right sentence I should be using, the right one is; I hardly remember my dreams these days and that's because R.E.M sleep decreases as we grow older and we no longer remember most of our dreams (or that we even dreamt) because our brain has learned to let go of our dreams and simply discard them (not fair, right?).

But why are lucid dreams not very common in everyone? According to a research, it suggests that people who are most likely to have lucid dreams tend to be self-reflective types who chew over thoughts in their heads. one benefit of lucid dreaming is that it helps to reduce anxiety because it gives you a sense of being in full control.

It makes you feel empowered when you know you're dreaming and you will be able to shape the story in whatever way you want. It's very useful for people that have nightmares (just like me) because you will be able to control what and how you dream.

Image source

How can you dream lucidly? While researching on this topic, I found out that you can increase your chances of having lucid dreams by tuning your mind to notice unusual and crazy details in your dream which will make you know it's not real (just like what I did when I was younger).

Researchers have tried a lot of other methods in a bid to trigger lucid dreams and you can find more details about it here if you're interested πŸ˜‰. This topic made me remember the song by juice wurd titled lucid dreams. Check it out below, it's a great song

So, what about you? Have you ever had a lucid dream? Do let me know in the comment box below.

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Friday March 25, 2022

12
$ 2.24
$ 1.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 10
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

Mmmmm not quite. I dream creepy stuff most of the time :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I used to dream creepy stuffs as well, but it reduced when I learnt to control my dreams

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There was a time I dreamt that I was hit by a car and I mmediately I became alarmed. I knew I couldn't just wake up at that point because such dream definitely meant trouble and would make me paranoid for days since it was obviously a bad dream. So I forced my self to continue this dream and recreated what will happen after the accident. I don't know how I did it, but I managed to pick myself up after the terrible accident and started running towards the vehicle. After I had forced the driver to stop, I got into the the vehicle and started screaming and giving him some slaps for almost killing me. I was still beating him when I woke up... I was so happy for the rest of the week, I felt I have averted a looming danger. Lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🀣 I swear this your dream is funny, I just imagine something like that happening to someone is the real world and the person just stand up and start running after the driver. Dreams are where crazy things are permitted to happen sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Had one recently that it kept me wondering when I woke up because it involved real people and circumstances surrounding me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Those types of dream gives you a feeling of deja Vu, like you have already seen something like that in the real world πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right. And I read that one can actually use lucid dreams to attain some real-life goals by directing his/her thoughts and focusing them into the things one wants to achieve. Not sure how though, but it may have been done by others, lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜† I have heard about that too but I haven't put much thoughts into it, it may really work for some persons

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Makes me wonder how haha, but yes, others may have the gift to let their dreams work to their advantage :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Used to have those kind of dreams as a kid. None that I can say about recent ones

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess it's because as adults we no longer care what happens in our dreams πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I occasionally have lucid dreams but it's not something I'll like to master or make happen oftern

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's an opportunity to become a god of my dreams, I love it 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, I hear you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do not like lucid dreams. They scare the living daylight out of me πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. I'll probably start shouting Jesus Jesus!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ but it's a good feeling when you're in control of your dreams, I wonder why you're scared of it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have had this kinds of dreams several times. It always made me feel like I am a powerful divine being that can do anything 😁 But I think you went through a lot in your childhood. Pele😏

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ I really went through a lot sha, evil spirit torment me when I was a kid πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eyah doh. Thank God say na you dey boss them now abi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I first learnt about this dream in a movie; Legend of the end seeker. I can't really say if I've had this kind of dream but I'm at the stage now where I don't too much give attention to those horrifying dreams. I would just wake and will be like "Taaar! Is it not dream again!"

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ that's usually the first step to having lucid dreams, it starts by not giving much attention to crazy things that are happening in the dream

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All of my dream a lucid dreams... Well most. I initially thought I was been haunted but after knowing more about it I assured myself that it is indeed normal.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It isn't normal for a lot of people sha πŸ˜† coz not everyone can have that type of dream

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I cant relate K, this sometimes happened to me. It also frustrating as sometimes though I badly want to control wants happening I still end up overpowered.

I had that sleep paralysis few years ago and I don't know but someone told me it was associated with evil spirit

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Controlling our dreams is much difficult and not everyone is able to do it. I think it's a lot easier if you start doing it as a kid

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm recently having weird dreams.. They said that if you are anxious..you tend to dream weird ones.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes that's right Ate Jane, the way we feel usually affects our dreams

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why my dreams are different. Somehow weird dreams. In such dreams I am afraid.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am no longer afraid of weird dreams 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've felt the same way when I was dreaming but my mind was working and I knew that I was dreaming and trying to wake up when the dream and I just turned out to be a lucid dream, indeed there is no unique fact about this even many people don't believe in this, only people who feel the same way to support this.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Many people don't believe in it because it hasn't happened to them, it's only people that have gone through it that can relate 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had my weird dreams too, and just like spiderman I crawl and fly hahahah something weird that is continuously working on my mind while asleep

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have also behaved like spiderman just to escape a weird dream 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago