Let's get angry

33 50
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago
Topics: Anger, Rage, Emotions

Anger doesn't solve anything. It builds nothing but it can destroy - Lawrence Douglas Wilder

Anger is one of the emotions that makes us human but it's not our favorite as it makes us do things we wouldn't have done with a clear head. In essence, it brings out the feral beast in us.

Image source

Anger unlike most of its siblings is very impatient and seems to react at the slightest chance. It has a way of turning off our reasoning and it quietly exits after causing substantial damage, leaving its younger sibling; regret, to clean up after it.

I decided to write on anger after witnessing it in action last night. My roommate (Michael) came back from school late in the evening and after resting for a bit, he went to the kitchen and the next thing I heard was; "who finished this food!".

Image credit: Black photo created by master1305 - www.freepik.com

"great, he is going to bring down the roof today", I thought to myself. I saw the food when I came back from school and I figured it has already been spoken for, so I left it. And besides, I wasn't in the mood for spaghetti so I ate something else.

Seeing as I wasn't the one that ate the food, it left only one option; our third roommate. I told Michael that I wasn't the one that ate the food, and that's when he also realized who did.

He started blowing hot like a volcano, saying things like "everyone ate their portion in the morning but I left mine till this evening, now he has eaten mine also, let him come back first", then he stormed out of the house.

He came back a few minutes later still looking like he is about to go to war, the rage from him was making the whole room hot and he was still ranting about what he will do when the other person comes back.


After some hours, our other roommate came back but Michael wasn't home yet, I was just there on my bed getting ready for a showdown. Michael came back a few minutes later and get this; he was perfectly calm. Where did all that rage go?

I thought he was going to come back and rain fire and brimstone after coming across the person that ate his food but he didn't, he was no longer angry. That's how anger behaves; it's a spur-of-the-moment emotion and will fizzle out if it isn't utilized the moment it shows up.

That has happened to me lots of times, I would suddenly get angry but can't get my hands on the person of interest but after a while, I will calm down and although I'm still mad, I have fizzled out to the state where I can think properly.

Image credit: People vector created by stories - www.freepik.com

I can remember an incident that happened during my final year of high school, involving the most gentle boy in my class. This guy hardly talks and he is always on his own just reading, and mostly not interacting with any of us.

It was during the time to take out final exams and we noticed this guy wasn't around. It was that way the next day and we were all getting worried about his whereabouts, that's when we found out he is in jail for killing someone!

What happened? Turned out he killed his cousin over a plate of food. They were quarreling over a plate of noodles and he ended up strangling her with his bare hands.

The gentle boy couldn't tame his anger and he let it take over his being, making him do something he ended up regretting. I heard he was released after some years, I guess the family didn't press charges.

"A hungry man is an angry man", turns out that quote is very much correct, and I have seen how food has gotten some persons angry enough to kill someone.

Image source

Anger can push us to make bad financial decisions, and we must carry out financial decisions with a cool head. When learning forex trading a lot of years back, there's a section that talked about putting our emotions in check.

Among the emotions that can lead to a trader's downfall, the ringleader is anger. Whenever a trader suffers a huge loss, he/she gets angry and tries to get revenge on the market by jumping right into another trade to recover the previous loss.

The "revenge trade" is usually bigger and most of the time, they end up losing again. They carry out another revenge and it becomes a vicious cycle of revenge, at that point, we no longer call it trading; it's now gambling.

The same applies to crypto trade, and I'm drawing attention to it because of the recent rug-pulls. Some traders who have suffered huge losses due to the rug-pulls will quickly invest in another "promising" coin so they can get lots of profits from there and cover up their losses.

Most scammers know this and they take advantage of it by introducing more scam coins and people will still end up investing in them and the cycle continues.


Closing thoughts

No one will say he is above anger; everyone gets angry at one point or the other but what makes the difference is the way we control our anger.

Some people are so bad at controlling their anger that they end up hurting someone, but we should all learn how to control it so it doesn't end up controlling us.

It's actually not easy trying to control anger, but some things can help us in controlling it. For me, I usually channel my anger into comedy; I love to joke a lot. Music also helps, it helps to calm me down.

What about you, what calms down the beast within any time it rears its head

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Friday October 29th, 2021

13
$ 6.84
$ 6.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 11
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago
Topics: Anger, Rage, Emotions

Comments

Anger can make us to do a lot of things we will not be proud off, that's why when I'm angry at someone,I usually walking away from them so I will be able to calm down and won't do what I will regret in the future.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's one of the best ways to handle it, walking away from the thing that's making you angry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your illustration just at the several losses I encountered during Ponzi season. There were sites I would loose up to $30, I would become intensed and pained because a smarter scammed just touched me. So I would target at the the next platform to do "hit and run" with a bigger amount, wit the intention to recover my loss and gain. And painfully, I would end up losing everything. This happened to one of my friends and opted out of WhatsApp. Hahah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's exactly what happened to me last year and I swore never to do any ponzi again. I started small with mypay, and I made lots of profits from it (over 30k) but I lost everything to different ponzis within 2 months. E pain me sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah. Mypay247 was the blast, I've opted out of Ponzi but you see that mypay, if it comes again, e be like say I go do oo 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

to tell you honestly, I am the type of person who gets so angry easily lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I will start treading lightly around you so I wouldn't step on your toes 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate --> hungry man is an angry man. This is so me,.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A angry khing 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahaha,...Yeah,... I think I should have rephrase it to "hungry lady is an angry lady" :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That works too ma'am 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all get angry at some point. Maybe I would also get angry if someone ate my food...haha But it doesn't bring anything good. So we should learn other ways to deal with things. It was a good read.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the feedback 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't believe he killed someone just for noodles.. Maybe there were other reasons too... Quarreling and fighting can't solve the issue.. Better let things calm down and if it's just about simple things, there is no use in fighting..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right ate Jane, quarreling doesn't solve anything. Things can only be solved when both parties are calm and collected enough to communicate properly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You said "can't find the person of interest" haha. Hunger can drive people crazy, that one is a fact, provoking such a person is only going to reveal more of those impulses. What I do when I get angry is bite my tongue so hard that the pain distracts me from acting on my emotions, or I pinch myself. Physical pain can sometimes remove some of the attention from the body, just enough to calm you down.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow, I have heard about this technique before and I have seen it a couple of times. Pain truly help to reset our senses when it's been overrun by anger, I guess pain is the elder brother of anger 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anger doesn't bring any good to us. We should let that emotion eat up our senses. Me, if I am angry. I just keep quiet. Stay away from people that been the cause on it and meditate. Letting our anger cools down before facing someone is the best way for me to avoid spitting hurtful words to each other.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I also do the same. Whenever I am angry I just remain calm and I walk out of that environment so I wouldn't do something I will regret

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good, because if we are angry then we let it control us at that moment, we might do something that we will regret.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Outrage can obliterate such countless things, we should figure out how to control our displeasure since, supposing that we don't, things won't really go for your life decision.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah you're right, we just have to learn how to control it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anger as much as it's normal and usual, we must see that we aren't consumed by it. Anger destroys for real.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's a force that can end up consuming us if we don't tame it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was a victim today, I felt like smashing a chair on a woman's head but something was telling me that I will regret it.

Anger doesn't amend things, it destroys so we should try to learn to control it at all cost.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank God you didn't end up beating up the woman, nobody would have listened to your side of the story if that had happened. You really tried in controlling your anger at that point, a lot of person would have snapped and do something regrettable

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A yoruba adage says "only a bastd doesn't get angry" but the real bastd expresses it always

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lovely adage, in essense it's normal for us to get angry but it becomes a problem when we allow it to control us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anger can destroy so many things, that's why I'm always careful not to fall into any occurrence that will make me go angry...

A angry soul can do and undo, because they are not themselves any more , they have been filled with the spirit of anger , so therefore they don't care about anything they want to do at that moment , and when ever they calm down or they bite more than they can chew, they will be filled with regret ND might be wondering if they are the one did it or not....

Had it been the person that ate the food was around that time he was boiling with anger , he might have done what he would have regret for the rest of his life it is very necessary for us to learn how to control our anger.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's it o, anger is a bad spirit that pushes us to do what we will end up regretting. If the person that ate the food was at home, they would have ended up fighting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's just the whole truth..👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We ought to learn how to control our anger, as it can do a lot of harm if left untamed

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, control it so it doesn't end up controlling us

$ 0.00
2 years ago