I was almost scammed today!

47 62
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Howdy folks 🀠 how was your day? Today started like every other normal day for me, just indoors all day browsing the internet, playing games, watching movies, and also making good use of readcash. I was into one of those activities when my secondary phone rang and I checked who was calling but it was an unknown number.

I contemplated picking up the call or letting it just ring because I reasoned it might be one of those people that called a wrong number. After staring at it for a while, I decided to just answer it and I was expecting to hear a strange voice so I can just say "sorry, it's a wrong number" but I heard something else.

Caller: Hello, good evening Sir

Me: Good evening. Please who is this?

Caller: this is Felix from FCMB bank, am I speaking with Mr (he says my name).

Me: yes this is him.

Caller: ok. I am calling because there's something wrong with your bank account. You haven't linked your national identity number to the phone number you used in opening your account.

Me: yes I haven't linked it, is there a problem?


Image source

At this point, I knew I was talking to a scammer. There were several red flags I noticed when I answered the call;

  • The background noise was filled with the sound of vehicles, it sounds like a motor park.

  • The intonation and accent of the person sounded very weird, he was struggling to speak proper English. How can a bank put someone like that as their customer care representative? Big red flag

  • Finally he made mentioned that I haven't linked my national identity number to my phone number, meanwhile I have already done that. I just decided to play along to see how far he will go with the charade πŸ˜†.

I didn't suspect it at first when he mentioned he is from FCMB bank because I actually started a registration process with the bank earlier this week, so I thought that was why they called, but it turned out it was a scammer posing as one of the bank staff. After figuring out who he was, I decided I am going to frustrate him and keep him talking just so I can waste his call credit.

(The conversation continued)

Scammer: it's just a minor issue we can rectify from here. Your bank verification number is (he mentions the correct number), right?

Me: yes that's correct

Scammer: and your date of birth is (he mentions my date of birth).

Me: yes that's also correct.

Scammer: Ok your identity has been confirmed. A service fee of NGN56 has been deducted from your account, have you gotten the alert?

Me: not yet, I think it's been hindered by slow network.

Scammer: ok no problem, you will get it later. I will need you to call out your account number so we can fully start the process.

(This is the part I was waiting for 😁)

Me: sorry I am not with my account number.

Scammer: you don't know it off heart?

Me: no I don't, hold on let me get it from my bank app.

(I made sure I took around 2 minutes just so I can waste his time some more. He started making small talks by asking me if I have any unresolved issues with the bank while I keep pretending to go look for my account number)

Me: ok I have gotten the account number, should I call it out?

Scammer: yes

Me: (I called out some random numbers)

Scammer: please can you say it again, it looks like it's wrong

Me: (I called out the correct account number but replaced two of the digits with a random one)

Scammer: This one is different from the last one you mention, please call it again and let me confirm it

Me: (I called out the same number)

Scammer: you must be very stupid

Me: (laughing very hard) you're a big fool, and then I ended the call.

Image source

I have heard a lot of stories of people getting scammed with this same method and their bank accounts are emptied. When they ask for your account number and you give them the correct one, the next thing you will see is an OTP code sent to you by your bank and the scammer will ask you to give them the code, the moment you give them that code, they can easily walk into your account and milk it dry.

They usually target old people because they don't know much about the banking system and they are not used to it. Even some youngsters still fall prey to the schemes of these scammers, especially if it's someone with good command of English. They usually lower your guard by giving you sensitive information about you which is supposed to be known by only your bank.

First off they say your real name, and then call out your bank verification number (BVN) as well as your date of birth, these are all information you submitted to your bank when you opened an account with them. It now begs the question: how do these scammers get their hands on such sensitive information?

The truth is that the banking world is already compromised, some of those bank staff are even in cohort with these fraudsters and they give out sensitive information belonging to their customers. These scammers are becoming more desperate these days and are always evolving, so everyone needs to be extra careful.

There are usually signs that will let you know you're talking to a scammer who is trying to gain access to your account. Some of them are very good and will look like the real thing, but there is always going to be something that will let you know they are scammers, sometimes it might even be something very small and not too noticeable like when they mistakenly use the wrong bank term, you just have to take note of the little hints

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Thursday May 19, 2022

24
$ 4.61
$ 4.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 18
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
1 year ago

Comments

As you've rightly stated many old people fall victim to this kind of scam. It is true that banking world isn't 100 percent safe.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sensitive information are being given out to scammers by the bank staff

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha I always have a weird feeling when I see one. I know a lot of people have fallen for this. They like to target the uneducated ones and it's sad.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

These people spend so much time in looking for a potential victim, time they would have used for something good but they prefer to follow the shortcut

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's the funny thing. The amount of calls they place in a day...if they use that same energy, they would be more successful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was how Grandma was scammed few years ago due to her stubbornness. My cousin taking care of her tried telling her they are scammers but she was adamant until she saw alert of #30k being deducted from her account. Her eyes were opened and she could not blame anyone.

Same thing they did with my brother, I was with him that day and we made sure we wasted the woman's time (It was even a lady).

Earlier this morning, they called my Aunt, immediately she sent a text to the caller to desist from such act if he doesn't want to be caught and disgraced πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

I don't answer them at all.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Lol, this thing is just funny to read, imagine them even going to the extent of using a woman because most people won't suspect seeing it's a woman they are talking to

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. You are such a genius for getting him into the trap. Might try this too. But luckily, I haven't experienced this yet even if I already have my bank account. Try me, scammers. Hahaha

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Lol, I am going to be looking out for more scammers so I can lure them into my trap 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your small 2K wey dey you account naim he wan commot. How he know you BVN?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Na even N6 dey the account πŸ˜‚ e shock me say the guy know my BVN

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Guy!🀣🀣🀣. That's my process too, I'll keep the conversation going till when he gets tired of the process or when his airtime is running low.πŸ€“.

This is a common practice in Nigeria and only few people fall on this...few people (mostly people that are not versatile in tech or elderly people)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's who they usually target, they love going after people that don't know much about tech especially females

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahahah bro this thing is usually fun when they call me I play along and cruise them πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ foolish scams

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Aswear πŸ˜‚ I just pray another one should call me one day, that one own will be worse

$ 0.00
1 year ago

E dey always sweet when they call

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🀣🀣Dude got so frustrated he had to insult you, like what is wrong with these people, getting angry ontop someone else money!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I could hear the frustration in his voice as he threw that insult, he must have thought he has finally caught a mugu πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I wonder how many people he did that day to sound so confident!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I almost fell for this scam when I first opened a bank account and received a call similar to yours. I didn't hesitate to give them my information because I thought it was from the bank, but luckily for me, there was no money in the account and I had to open a new one. We just need to be cautious these days because scammers are getting better at luring people into their schemes.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Lmao, the account the guy was targeting was also empty, but I rather not give him any details coz the account is still useful

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo, when I saw the title, I already knew that you use someone catch cruise and still use ah gain BCH again. πŸ˜‚ hope you will share it with him. πŸ˜‚ these people easily catch the desperate ones, especially the ones that act like they know it all, that was how someone lost a lot of money in his account because he didn't ask some friends question if it's okay for bank to call ha.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

As soon as I ended the call with the mumu and finished laughing, I just said to myself; "thank God say I don see article to write for today" πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The numbers of 419ners that have called me since I started using phone can be up to fifty. Infect right now, as soon as the other person on unnamed number says "good morning ma'am", I would be able to tell whether he's a 419 or not because of my years of experience dealing with them. If I show you my contacts now you will see names like : 419 claim access bank staff, 419 from WhatsApp group, 419/from filling station, 419 as of august 19, 2021, twitter 419, upcoming 419, 419 from POS..... Lemme just stop here

$ 0.02
1 year ago

🀣🀣🀣 see names, you're their regular customer. Maybe they thought you will be easier to scam because you're a girl. That's what I have actually noticed, they tend to call females more than males. This is the first time they are calling me, this one must be very desperate to try and scam a young guy just like him, he think say I no sabi all those formats πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha, that must have been fun for you. These people are really notorious with what they do.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It was indeed very fun, I could hear the frustration in his voice before he ended the call πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The moment where you play along with the scammerΒ is amusing, but this kind of fraud is no joke, thank you for sharing this experience of yours.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You're welcome my friend 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aigoo! I was once a victim of this kind of scheme too. Its was a terrible experience. I lost my long hold saving but ended up being scammed. Too bad for me to experience this kind of act. I really just hope that they will gain conscience later on. This really is a bad thing.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sorry about getting scammed, it's truly very painful to lose all your savings to these scammers

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So far, I haven't been scammed yet. It's good that you didn't fall in their scheme haha. Or else, it will take a toll.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I haven't been scammed as well, those scammers aren't really smart enough to fool me 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like how you played with that scammer Kushy...It's really important nowadays to be very vigilant when it comes to account information because scammers are now doing every tactics just so they can fool others.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

People that aren't very tech savvy end up falling for these scams, it's a very painful experience when it happens

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true. I had read on Facebook a year ago, a couple that had lost 100k in their bank account just because of that kind of transaction from scammer and it hurts them knowing that they work hard to earned that sum of money

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those bunch of idiots are everywhere and some of the bank staff sell some of our information to them because it baffles me how they get to know some things about us.

I usually play along as well to make sure I waste their airtime very well.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It was when I saw a news online some years back that a bank staff was arrested with connections to these scammers, that was when I realised that bank staffs are actually one of their accomplice

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I appreciate for your being vigilant at all times. This article is a sort of reminder for us all. Thanks for this my friend.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You're welcome friend 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Loved the way you played the player. (No pun intended). I've received calls like that too from them. But, I don't bother talking too much. I just end the call. Hahaha

$ 0.02
1 year ago

They haven't called me before, this was my first time and I knew I just had to waste his credit instead of just ending the call πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was cruel, but I loved it. Next time he'd think twice before trying to scam people. Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Broo, those people can only scam the aged and the ignorant n One of them called me the other time and used this same tactics that they used on you. Omoh, I played along till when it was time to call out the BVN. After calling out random numbers, he said that it wasn't correct, I just insulted him and he hung upπŸ˜‚.

Omoh once you fall, your account is gone Bro. The way bank officials compromise customer bank details is what pains me the most.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The mother of one of my friends fell for one of these scams a few months ago and her account was emptied, luckily for her it isn't her main account and the money there isn't huge. Seriously those people are terrible sha

$ 0.00
1 year ago