Finally got a break!

44 52
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago
Topics: Weekend, Journey

This week has been very crazy for me, some of you might have noticed that I haven't been very active here the past few days and that's because I have been busy as a bee.

In my last article, I mentioned I am currently running my field practical training (it's a form of industrial training for agriculture students) and it has been one word: hell. I barely have the time to do any other thing and the little break I get while at work, I use it to catch my breath.

Image source

Even when I get home usually around 6pm, I have to freshen up, prepare something to eat, and before I settle down completely, it's already 9pm. I can't even use that time to write an article or interact coz I stay in an apartment with my classmates (we are about 21) and I get easily distracted by them.

So, what I usually do is that I sneak out while I am at work and try to interact on a few articles 😆 but we hardly get any breaks. The morale at the farm was dampened yesterday and it was caused by one person; the CEO of the farm.

The poultry unit of the farm

How it went down

The CEO officially had his first meeting with us yesterday, where he talked about some issues. This is the first week we are working at the farm and we thought Saturdays were exempted (at least that was what our coordinator told us) but the CEO said it's included.

Everyone had it in mind that we will be free on weekends and some people already made plans to go to their family's home and return on Sunday evening. When the CEO suddenly said Saturdays are included, everyone's mood changed and we tried reasoning with him to see if he can change it, but he only said "I will think about it".

It was after that meeting that everyone started seeing something wrong with the CEO, I guess we have all been ignoring those things and just decided to focus on getting as much experience as possible, but the CEO is beginning to feel entitled.

The thing is, we are not been paid which is normal because we are there to get field training and the CEO is taking advantage of that by treating us as another one of his workers but in this case, it's a sweet deal for him because he isn't paying us and we have little to no choice than to comply or we will get bad reports and likely end up with bad grades.

Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty

The CEO could have shown some form of gratitude to us and some of my classmates said he should at least be providing lunch but I told them that they are even looking far ahead, he didn't even provide something as basic as water for us, we have to buy water ourselves.

It now seems like the meeting even did more harm than good, coz most of us lost the zeal to keep working. We got home later that day and still spoke more about the issue, some people said we should all boycott Saturday but one person said we should just go so we can submit our logbooks to the manager for him to sign, then we will work for only half of the day and leave by 12pm.

I woke up at about 5:30am today and noticed the atmosphere is still tense; a lot of my classmates were still sleeping! 😆 We were all supposed to be ready before 6am but it seemed like nobody cared anymore. We all got ready later on and left the house at about 7:30am, and then we arrived at the farm 30 minutes later with heavy faces looking like we were coming from a funeral.

Image source

Then the manager called all of us together and said he has talked to the CEO and he has agreed to give us Saturdays as a day-off and we didn't have to come to the farm today. Everyone was happy, except me 😂 I was just thinking; "so, I just wasted 30 minutes trekking to the farm when the manager could have called one of us on phone to deliver the message".

But nobody was thinking of that, we have finally gotten the break we needed and everyone is just excited to go back home. Some persons already had their bags packed for their trip back to their family, so they didn't bother to follow the rest of us back to our shared apartment.

I was contemplating going back to my apartment in the university and just spend the weekend there since most of my classmates are leaving and the house is going to be deserted and the people that will be remaining aren't exactly my favorite persons.

I finally decided to just go back to the university, since @Talon said he is heading in that direction as well. I got to the apartment, did some laundry, and started packing my bags when @Talon suddenly said there has been a change of plans, that he is taking another route which is opposite the one I will be taking, which means I will be going alone.

Image source

At that point I just gave up and unpacked my bags, there was no need for me to go anymore. I decided to just chill out in the house and use that opportunity to focus on read.cash. I interacted a bit on this platform and then I decided to play some games on my phone, but the internet connection over here is very terrible so I watched some movies instead.

Right now, we are about 9 remaining in the house and most of my classmates will be back on Sunday evening. This week is already over, so we have two more weeks before our training will end and we can all go back to the university and prepare for the second phase of the training which is going to be in Lagos. I just hope that turns out to be a better experience than what we are having right now.

Special thanks to Ate @Jane and @foryoubtc09 for their sponsorship renewal.

Thanks for reading 💖💖💖

Saturday January 8, 2022

13
$ 4.04
$ 3.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Infinity
+ 10
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago
Topics: Weekend, Journey

Comments

Tough one but thank God weekends were released to you guys for rest. Some people like to travel Sha and you're one of them 🤪. Just stay, use the opportunity to tour the town if you're the extrovert type or grind online as you did🤸

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, omo I stayed at home throughout o, I am not exactly extrovert

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you guys got your deserved rest. It's not fair that the farm owner is just using you guys as cheap labour without offering even something as basic as water

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sorry dear. I have a cousin who studied agriculture too although he's now in Lagos. During his IT , he was always complaining about body pains. So I really understand what you are passing through. I really pray you are able to ad pat favorably during your short stay there. Pls don't forget to chop very well o before you engage yourself in any strenuous farm work. You could also take feldin, ibrupofen or any other pain reliever before you sleep whenever you feel heavy after a day's job. Your body would be renewed the following morning.. Do take care pls.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks Bilqees, I don't want to rely too much on those painkillers so that I wouldn't get used to taking it everytime, I will be alright sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow that seems like a lot of work. School like is not easy at all. Take it easy Kushy it's onlt a matter of time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's just what keeps me going, it's just a matter of time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can feel how hectic the work have been through out the course of the week, I know how poultry work can be so stressful.. But at least they should be paying you guys little token, or at least food to eat, but it all good and fine, the knowledge you learn from the poultry is worth more than that.

Well , it pretty Cool that you guys I've been give free day ok Saturday...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the only thing I am happy for right now, we have Saturdays off

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to know kushy that you are good and have your day off. Enjoy and relax .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks kleah 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really had a busy day, but good thing that the owner gives u a day off so you can rest

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, I am just glad for the day off

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I relate this kushyzee. Hehehe the moment when you are given a day off. It was the happiest day because you can rest. You can rest your mind too.

Why you didn't go home Kushyzee? I want to know what movie did you watch. I love movies a lot.☺️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The movie I watched is called army of thieves, it's a movie from last year. Thanks Ramona 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I watched it already Kushyzee. It's really a great movie. It makes me laughed too because of the guy.😁

You're always welcome Kushyzee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad that the CEO give the Saturday as your day off so you can rest Kushy but I am curious what is your work in the poultry farm?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We just feed the chickens and then collect eggs from them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah it's not very tiring i guess. You can rest after you will feed and collect the eggs right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are over 30 thousand chickens 😆 we spend up to 3 hours just collecting eggs, and we have to keeping bending down to pick it up, it's very tiring

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah i thought , it just more than thousand. It's really tiring, you did that for five days in a week, right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ma'am. We do that everyday and also make their feed, and we still take care of the thousands of fish in the farm, it gets very tiring most times

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my, there's still fish? What a tiring day you have. Is it part of your school requirements so you will pass?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it's a compulsory requirement for all student in the university to do their industrial training before they get to their final year in the university. If you don't do it, you won't be able to graduate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It may be a not-so-good experience.. But you learned lessons from it. 🙂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah I did, thanks Ate Jane 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, it's very tiring isn't it hahha good to know you have a break for a while kushy. Take a rest kushy. Hahaha I want to pet a chicken after reading this.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I will certainly take enough rest, thanks 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you want to work, you have to study in such a situation, I know that. I understand you. Got a break, give yourself time. Sometimes with a vacation like this, try to give yourself time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks Mazekin 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hows your muscles Kushy? Still screaming? Good thing the CEO was convince to give you all day off for Saturday. If I were, I would be mad too, find it abusive

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My muscles has relaxed a bit for now, I rested very well on Saturday. Thanks 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's nice, means you body already adjust. Have a nice day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, and have a nice day as well 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The CEO didn’t even give una welcome party by making barbecue fish and chicken for you people. Nigeria is something else. Haha 😆

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nothing at all, the man just get as e be

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you share the article and my wife about the farm here, I want you to know that my main interest will be fish. :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My main interest is also fish but it's good that I am learning poultry as well 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very nice poultry farm 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Una still go for Saturday. Glad it was cancelled, cos I know they won't see me Saturdays. Don't Care what the report says. For free labour again SMH

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Guy, you need to see how people dey vex on Friday, everybody just holding side meetings as if they want to assassinate the CEO 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LMAO make the man self calm down o

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad you had your wish hehe. I wonder what you will be doing in the poultry farm, but it looks fascinating with all those chickens. Enjoy the remaining training days there and hope the next one will be great

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I work in the fisheries unit of the farm for now, but it's certainly not a fascinating experience for my classmates that work in the poultry 😆 they spend hours walking around picking up chicken eggs and feeding them as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago