Fast foods vs healthy foods

35 37
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago
Topics: Foods, Health

I got the idea to write about this after reading @Ruffa article about unhealthy foods. I commented that I recently decided to start focusing on eating healthy and I don't even know when I arrived at that decision but I just know that I suddenly felt like reducing my junk food intake.

I have been seeing a couple of articles that are all about eating healthy from the likes of @FarmGirl (healthy picnic) and @BCH_LOVER (vegetable dish foods) and I think it's high time everyone pays more attention to what they eat.

My friends know me as a person that loves fast food a lot because I am usually lazy when it comes to cooking, so I prefer taking junk foods instead of battling it out in the kitchen. But I guess the one thing that has helped me during my phase of fast food is the fact that I eat lots of fruits, specifically pineapple.

Image source

I have always been a fan of pineapple and most times I come across them, I always buy them. My mom once told me that my love for pineapple is high because she ate a lot of it when she was pregnant with me ๐Ÿ˜† and I think she's right. Apart from pineapple, another fruit I love so much is banana but I hardly see the ones that are good enough for me (I am picky when it comes to bananas).

I have heard numerous reasons why fast foods aren't good for the body but I have always ignored them, why? They are simply irresistible and very convenient. But while they are irresistible, they are very poor in nutrition and I guess they make up for that by being irresistible (just like a dumb lady equipped with a pretty face and a hot body ๐Ÿ˜†).

Not all fast foods are bad though, some of them are nutritious but at the same time, they contain a high amount of sugar, salt, fat (saturated), and processed preservatives. In the short run, consumption of fast foods can lead to an increase in blood sugar, binge eating, increased inflammation, and high blood pressure, among others.

And in the long run? Too much consumption of fast food leads to obesity (obviously), reduction in immunity, raises the risk of Alzheimerโ€™s and Parkinsonโ€™s diseases, and heart disease. Wow, that's a lot of side effects for just a few minutes of mouthwatering and mind-blowing fast food ๐Ÿ˜† but is it a fair price to pay?

Image source

On the other hand, eating healthy has a lot of benefits that you just have no choice but to do it. It offers protection against chronic diseases like heart disease, diabetes, and cancer. It helps in improving a person's memory and strengthens the immune system, your body tends to fight most illnesses on its own without having to rely heavily on medication.

Eating healthy isn't rocket science and isn't so difficult, just taking at least lots of fruits and vegetables is enough to keep one healthy. Frequent consumption of fruits and vegetables does a lot for the body because they contain lots of vitamins and minerals, which are essential for the general management of the body.

The remaining classes of nutrients (carbohydrate, protein, fat and oil) can easily be gotten from other foods and they are what is easily accessible in the world today (especially carbohydrates). But people tend to ignore fruits and vegetables a lot because they are more concerned with filling their stomachs, which fruits and vegetables won't be able to provide unless in a large quantity, which generally requires more money.

Image source

The fact that other classes of nutrients are easily accessible, that's the reason why we have to normalize eating fruits and vegetables. Children don't like eating vegetables but I guess it's because they are not used to taking them from a very young age. I had no problem with eating vegetables when I was young because it's a normal thing for me, I eat them all the time so I grew up having no problems with eating vegetables.

Let's not forget one of the most important classes of food: water. Always remember to drink a lot of water every day, it's very important in flushing out our system and keeping us hydrated. I used to take lots of sodas in the past and I recently switched to water as part of my goal of sticking to a healthy diet and I am very happy I did ๐Ÿ˜Š.

Generally, I am not saying it's bad to take fast food but learn not to do it every time and it shouldn't be a higher percentage of your daily food intake. At least healthy foods should take up as much as 80% of your diet, while the remaining 20% can be given to junk foods, but it isn't a bad idea if you eat healthy 100% of the time ๐Ÿ˜‰

Special thanks to @kristofferquincy for his sponsorship renewal, God bless you very much bro

Thanks for reading ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’–

Tuesday April 12, 2022

12
$ 3.34
$ 3.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Infinity
+ 7
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago
Topics: Foods, Health

Comments

I know fast food is bad oh but steadily preparing meals when you're cooking for yourself can be stressful lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true sha, it's even worse if you're a student ๐Ÿ˜ฉ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think taking fast food often goes with addiction. I wasn't brought up the fast-food method so I find it hard to go with it. In my house, we treasure real food, cook it well and enjoy yourself to the fullest. Although I buy these stuffs but not on a regular. The fruit I'm addicted to is sweet coconut. I fit buy the tree sef๐Ÿค—

$ 0.02
2 years ago

๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ dem suppose leave coconut for you. I don't really like coconut because it's not juicy, I prefer soft and juicy fruits

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of the scary fact about these fast foods is that they could be very addictive. Being addictive to such foods would definitely usher in the ill effects of the foods faster. How ironic that vegetables and fruits are cheaper and have more benefits to the body..... Trying adding cucumber, salads or carrots to your fruits collection, pineapples contains a certain level of sugar too. In all, just maintain a balanced diet including carbs, proteins and minerals, and ofcourse alot of water too

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly o, it's all about maintaining a balanced diet and you can never get that from fast food because the little nutrients in them are tilting to one direction which is carbohydrates and fats

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good to know that you are now sticking to a healthy diet Kushy. It's really important that we are taking healthy foods most of the time to avoid getting sick. That's why I always find ways to know some dish for my picky eater sons...Thanks for the mentioned, Kushy

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're welcome ma'am ๐Ÿค— it's great that you're implementing healthy dishes for your kids, they will learn to appreciate later on in life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right, it's really good to let them eat those healthy foods so that they will have a strong immune system. It's better to take care of their health because if we won't, we would spend more money if they would get sick always because their body lacks some nutrients and minerals.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eating healthy is expensive TBH. But I am all for it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're always up for it na, you wey like swallow and soup pass anything ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Who tell you sey I like swallow?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Experience ๐ŸŒš

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fast food contains too many calories too, healthy food is the best

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They contain lots of vitamins and minerals, unlike junk foods

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Healthy food is sometimes expensive.. But worth it..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's why junk foods are more popular, they are cheaper

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also like pineapple but I canโ€™t eat as many as possible due to how I feel after eating some pieces.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol, I tend not to eat much of it at a go

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We really impose by eating habit of vegies and fruits. They are very good in vitamins unlike junkfoods.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Junk foods barely contain any vitamins, that's why fruits and vegetables are important

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If we continue to eat junk, our body will be a garbage storage. ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly Kelzy, we are what we eat ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't even find anything interesting kn fast foods. Some of my friends even call me a bush girl because I don't like packaged food. I don't mind them though.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love them a lot, especially those fancy ones like pizza and burger but it's high time I reduce the way I eat them and focus on a healthy diet

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's be proven that fast foods contain some preservative chemicals that can cause harm to our body system. I don't even like eaten them, i prefer cooking my rice and stew, to all those fast foods.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I always know they contain those chemicals but I have always ignored them and went with the belief that I will handle the consequences later ๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for me. I love junk foods but I also love veggies haha. As fong fruits, I can eat any fruits and same as you when it comes to banana. I'm a bit picky too. I have some variety of it that I really love but there's some variety too that I don't like.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, there are some type of banana that tastes weird, they are usually short ๐Ÿ˜† I eat just one particular type

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I only wat 2 type of them. The other, I just ignore them haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the thought of eating healthy foods but too lazy to prepare๐Ÿ˜‚. I am not into cooking๐Ÿ˜‚.

Oh, i love pineapple too, but only of juice๐Ÿ˜€, not fruit

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Looks like we are the same, I love healthy foods as well but too lazy to prepare it ๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha cooking is not for me K,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fast food always :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It isn't exactly a good choice on the long run ๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago