Cryptocurrency is just crazy! Case study: NFTs

35 50
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Cryptocurrency has been around for over a decade now but it hasn't been very popular until a few years ago. From my observation, cryptocurrency blew up in 2020 (in my country, I don't know about the rest of the world) during the COVID-19 lockdown, probably because a lot of people were at home and got a lot of time to spend online.

Image source

Back in 2020, I was surprised by the growth of cryptocurrency as most of my friends (especially the females) started asking me for guides on how to buy some coins like Ethereum and Trons. A lot of airdrops and crypto-based Ponzi were done that year, and that was what contributed to the growth of crypto.

I remember one of my friends making about 4 Ethereum from one of those popular Ponzi schemes back then (forsage), and a lot of other people were interested and were humble enough to learn about crypto. Another person participated in a lot of airdrops with most of them turning out to be a scam, but he pressed on and finally got very successful from just one airdrop.

Right now, most people I know are into cryptocurrency or have interacted with it in the past. I thought things were good back then in the cryptoverse, but then came NFTs and it took things to a whole new level! It's not strange these days to see a person making thousands of dollars just within a few minutes, thanks to NFTs.

I was scrolling through Twitter earlier today and I saw that funny tweet. I guess the person got inspired by another Twitter user that sold a picture of a man for over 1 ETH! (Full details about that can be found in olasquare's article here).

I saw the picture a few days ago and I didn't think much about it: "it's just a picture", I said to myself but I didn't know the picture was turned into an NFT and sold on opensea until I read about it on olasquare's article. I was mind-blown! What could the buyer see in the picture that made him/her to buy it for such an amount? 1 ETH is around $3200, converting that to Nigeria's currency is about N1.8 million, just like that!

Some months ago, I came across a post on Twitter about a young boy that drew pictures of his grandmother, and the mom turned the pictures into an NFT and sold them! Yeap, someone actually bought them. It got me wondering why NFTs didn't come around a few years ago, I could have sold some of the drawings I had back in high school πŸ˜‚.

Image source

It seems that is the latest trend now; people turning personal pictures into NFTs and selling them on opensea. It doesn't even need to have a use case just like the ones on SmartBCH, someone out there might just like it and feel like adding it to his collection and I still don't know the reason why people do it (maybe they are just weird art collectors? πŸ˜†)

Lately, it's now seen as a crime if you use a smartphone and don't know about crypto. People are now making research online just so they can take part in conversations about crypto. Nobody wants to look ignorant and end up like the guy olasquare talked about in his article or like the person in the picture below πŸ˜‚.

NFT is now the latest vibe in the cryptoverse and it has helped to push cryptocurrency to a higher level. I believe things will keep getting better and we are only seeing the tip of the iceberg. The movement is starting to become a powerful force of nature and right now, the growth of cryptocurrency isn't slowing down but is instead gathering more momentum, courtesy of NFT.

Big thanks to @foryoubtc09 and @DanLawan for their sponsorship renewal, God bless you both

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Sunday April 10th, 2022

16
$ 4.61
$ 4.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 13
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago

Comments

People have now seen "personal pictures as NFT" as trend and I think I should use my grandmaΒ΄s picture now too πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ the trend is just going crazy, I am starting to see lots of weird things on opensea

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The way the craze of NFTs have been rising, some people are now posting rubbish on Opensea as NFTs lol. But the drummer guy's own have really inspired so many people

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Trust Nigerians to always abuse an opportunity. I won't be surprised if opensea bans us from using trading NFTs πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I won't be surprised too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was because of a young guy who made an old drummer man as NFT and sold it on opensea for about 1ETH I thin that’s why people wants to be in this trend lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah that's exactly what I talked about, olasquare wrote about it recently

$ 0.00
2 years ago

NFT is something else dude, I stumbled on a sneakers NFT sold for about $1k or more but earning every day for jogging with it virtually. A guy cashed out like $1500 in a month and it looks unexplainable to me, the space is deep and I hope the success continues the way.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow! This is the first time I am hearing of this, it seems the technology behind NFT is still at the infant stage and will definitely evolve more than this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Up till now, this Nfts just dey do me lome film. I am yet to comprehend how monkey head photo could cost so much, as if the confusion is not enough, people are now selling their photos. Ahh!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ crazy things are happening, and it's happening a lot in the world of NFT. There are some things I will see and I will just open my mouth in disbelief

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unbelievable indeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This NFT is now the talk of town now, everyone want to jump into it and a lot of tweets have been made. Omo! Yesterday, I snapped a cover of biro and e go make sense for NFT ooo!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🀣 Don't be shocked if someone actually buys it, I have seen more crazy thing been sold

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na to go mint am be that. But the gas fee with Etherum is the koko. Maybe I would go with polygon blockchain. Them no go reason am sef

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You go need liker $100 to do am for Ethereum chain

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is insane. It's sad I don't know Jack about all these crypto stuff. NFT!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can learn about them as long as you're active on this platform, this is where I learnt too πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I see. Thank you very much buddy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kush, if I sell the picture on my profile as an NFT, will they buy it?.... I have been thinking about this since yesterday that I heard about that old man's picture that you as sold as an NFT πŸ™„

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Someone will likely buy you're picture o, there are crazy people out there that buys things you can't even comprehend πŸ˜‚ someone on this platform sold his picture as NFT last year, and it was bought for a high amount

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, you can draw now and upload it on the blockchain as NFT and sell it too hehe. It's fascinating how the crypto verse is evolving fast. Some of the things we never thought would sell are making money nowadays.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly why it's just crazy, things we thought weren't possible is now made possible thanks to Blockchain tech

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exciting times indeed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah cryptocurrency is really crazy. Atleast those ones you mentioned are real detailed pictures. There are fine that are just nonsense in every bit yet would be sold for a huge amount of money. Wetin dey occur?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Guy, I have seen some really crazy ones that look like it was made by a mad mad, but someone still bought them, no be juju be that? πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo na real juju o. Imagine buying a picture that looks like Android's robot head for thousands of dollars? Na real juju. Make me sef go create my own. I go just snap one small ant and list amπŸ€‘πŸ€©

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣🀣 werey

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I read Olasquare article yesterday and I was amazed! Like how did it happened?

Oh I only knew about crypto when I joined at noise cash

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Noise and read cash have also helped to expose a lot of people to the world of cryptocurrency

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nft is the latest trend now,how I wish it started when I was still in school I would have sold some of my arts hehehehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aswear bro, I would have made some money selling my arts πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

NFT is really on trend... But some aren't worth claiming or buying.. πŸ˜….. it's quite tough to sell one as well. So better list while it's new

$ 0.02
2 years ago

NFT is majorly based on luck. Minting a rare NFT and selling it for a good price depends on how lucky you are πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The guy asking about what is better than who is saying it's a scam.

$ 0.02
2 years ago