A very funny conversation: are you ready to have a child?

35 45
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago
Topics: Humans, Baby, Friends

Hello everyone, how was your Sunday? I was very busy for most of today because I attended the baby dedication of a friend of mine. I left home in the morning for the church service and after that, we went to their house for a little get-together.

Image source

Yesterday while on a call with a friend, I told her that I am going to the baby dedication of a friend of mine today and the following conversation ensued;

Her: Wait, did you say your friend?

Me: yeah, any problem?

Her: Ah! Your friend has a child and you're still here

Me: I don't understand, am I supposed to have a child as well?

Her: yes na, is it a bad thing?

Me: No o, ok come let's make that happen (I laughed)

Her: As if you can take responsibility for a child right now

Me: Now you get it.

Her: So you mean you can't take care of a child now.

Me: I can barely take care of myself, how in the hell do you expect me to take care of a child? Hunger will end up killing me and the baby πŸ˜‚

Her: So you're not ready?

Me: Are you?

Her: Yes na, if I see a man now that is ready to get married to me and have a child, why not?

Me: I am not talking about marriage, can you get pregnant for a man right now out of wedlock?

Her: of course, what's there? As long as he is willing to take responsibility for the child. It has happened to other people, it's nothing new.

Me: Wow, well that is not my priority right now

Her: So if you get a girl pregnant, you will run away?

Me: Lol, that will definitely not happen

Her: But assuming it does happen, will you take responsibility or run away?

Me: I know I can't take responsibility, so why will I let things get to that point? That is not something that is part of my plans for now.

Her: people don't usually plan for things like that but when it happens, they find out they can adapt to it. Sometimes we think we are not ready but when faced with the challenge, we find out we are.

Me: That's your point of view πŸ˜‚ I guess we view things differently. I like to be prepared before doing anything, and I like passing through life one step at a time. So right now, a baby isn't what I need.

(My call credit was about to finish at this point).

Me: we will continue this conversation later, I got to go now.

Image source

Crazy, right? πŸ˜‚ After that conversation, I just sat back and imagined how easy most girls think life is, a lot of them (especially in my country) aren't bothered about hustling and bustling everyday coz they feel they will eventually marry a rich guy who is going to provide all their needs.

But for us men, it isn't the same. We have to hustle hard to make money coz we know we have lots of responsibilities, even if it's not now then it will certainly come in the future. It's even worse if you're the first child (just like me), you won't be taking care of your future family alone, but your parents and siblings are there as well.

So I guess that's the reason why a girl can easily make the choice of getting pregnant, but it isn't the same for a guy because there are so many factors to consider. The number one factor on that list is money, coz without that, how are you going to take care of a child?

Image source

Earlier this year, I came across a post on nairaland about a lady who's complaining that her husband refuses to have a child after over one year of their marriage because he says he wants to have a lot of money first before having children, but she doesn't agree with him so she was seeking for advice (yeah, online πŸ˜†).

A lot of people told her that the husband is sensible and on the right track, coz why will you bring children into the world when you don't have the money to cater for them? But the woman isn't seeing that! All she sees is that the husband doesn't want to have children and thinks there's something else going on behind the scene.

I have seen so many stories of unexpected pregnancies and most of the time, it doesn't turn out well for the couple because they aren't prepared for it. You can barely take care of yourself, how then will you do it when you have a mother and child with you?

There are so many things that need to be put in place before bringing a child into this world, and the most important on that list is money. But if I have lots of money now, will I still be ok with having a child? Definitely not πŸ˜† I like to enjoy my 20s without having to worry about a child.

Let me also throw this question to the unmarried guys here, are you ready to have a child now? I will definitely continue this topic with my friend later, I still have a couple of questions I will like to ask her.

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

Sunday February 6th, 2022

16
$ 7.08
$ 6.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 12
Sponsors of Kushyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kushyzee
2 years ago
Topics: Humans, Baby, Friends

Comments

Lol, your friend is ready to have a child, just like that?? The story of the married lady, didn't they discuss these things before marriage?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I tire for the woman o, these are important things they are supposed to talk about before getting married, I then wonder what they talked about

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As in eh, she's probably the type that married because her friends were

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being a man you have so many responsibilities to take care of, I'll suggest a man needs to be fit before bringing a child to this world.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My point exactly, I see no reason for a struggling young man to be having a child

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok. Young men ( Am talking about the responsible ones) shouldn't be afraid to start up a family even if they are still struggling. If a young man heart' start longing to see a younger version of himself. He should just forget about buhari and naija and go ahead and do it. Do you think naija will ever get better? Things are getting worse day by day. Any thing can happen, What if man come die tomorrow, na who go represent you for the world and bare your name. Who people go take remember you... I am even going too far sef. As a young responsible father, when ever you see the beautiful smile on your son's face, you'd be motivated to never give up and continue to try to make things better for your little one as he grows so that he doesn't pass through what you have been through on live. You'd double your hustle and the results wouldn't be thesame like when you were still single. Everyday when you look at your little boy playing or sleeping, you would always have a strong reason WHY you must make it in life and you wouldn't be afraid to go take risks neither would you have to hesitate to do what you got to do for the future of your innocent child.definitely things will gradually take shape as your child grows...... Women have a deeper understanding in this issue than men but you guys would think that we are always short sighted. Don't you know that children bring and attract blessings to the family? I have heard that a bachelor was denied a job opportunity but a married father of thesame age and qualification was employed because the employer considered his young family and wouldn't want them to be hungryπŸ€—

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Na you dey talk this one or somebody took your phone to type it? πŸ˜‚ Omo! But I think we are both saying the same thing, coz at least you said "the responsible ones", and you can't take responsibility without money, abi wetin your pikin go dey chop?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah! Believe me kush, I never knew I wrote this long, maybe because i have been hearing good men giving such flimsy excuses in order to avoid starting up a family. ......See better article idea wey I just waste, especially now that writer's block is gradually beginning to catch me 😭.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for me, I'd rather not do something I'm not prepared for. I'm not ready fir a child child id not do something that will make a child come through.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's just it, we should just avoid it when we know we can't handle the responsibility

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel it is of the utmost importance to prepare well especially financial wise before bringing a child into this world

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here, it will be very difficult to take care of a child when there's no money

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I think we're the same, I couldn't take care of my self then I will just add another responsibility, I mean it's not that I don't want to have a child, child is a blessing but it doesn't meant that we should have it unless we are ready and we can do it, we can take care of the baby and give all it's needs. As for now we should be focusing on pursuing our career and goals so that we can be ready to the future ahead of us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's exactly my point, we shouldn't have a child when we know we aren't ready for it, we should just focus on making money for now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm, will she's right on the part where even if you didn't plan it but if something unexpected happened or someone put a sleeping pills in your drinks without your knowledge and thrn after 9 months someone will come at you claiming you get her pregnant. And after getting a test done you found out it's really your kids. Maybe she's pertaining to that scenario lol. But is it's me, I will definitely not let anyone get me pregnant. There's no way that I will ever be ready, nah uh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I bet you will make a great mom in the future Ruffa 😊 you might not want a baby now, but maybe later in the future you will

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, she might have thought it was easy or perhaps she just wanted to know your thoughts about it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And I have clearly told her my stance πŸ˜† babies aren't my priority right now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lmao. I suppose she thinks it's just a wall in the park, and she can handle all that comes with childbearing. Even with money, it isn't easy at all, especially on the mother. Although, I would agree with her that until you're faced with certain challenges, you won't know you can face them head on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I agree with her too, but I still prefer to be ready for such challenges. I don't like surprises, especially the ones that cry all the time and wear diapers πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The girl was really Fanny mate. Nowadays kids are actually a lot smarter. I like their thoughts. This is why I am ready to listen to your conversation.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks Mazekin πŸ€— she really is a funny girl

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aside from money, being ready to take a bunch and heavier responsibilities is a good start if you want a child. I like the way you think. Am sure you'll be a pretty cool, responsible dad in the future.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awww πŸ₯° thanks so much for the compliment, I do hope to be a great dad in the future

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The way girls reason is really funny. I think most of them are of the notion that life really begins when you are in a man's house with kids. For me, Life begins now!!! Less I forget; Congratulations to your friend

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's the major difference between male and female, some of them are only worried about childbearing while us are worried about money πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like this is so trueπŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bearing a child in a womb is tough..raising one is tougher.. How she easily says that haha... you don't know how it truly feels until you experienced being a guardian or a mother.. Anyway, I laugh when you said you can barely take care of yourself 🀣🀣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I bet she thinks she's easy because she's just thinking it in her head, let it happen now for real and she will feel like running from the stress πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Youre still a student right? So I guess you are not yet older that 21? Oh I like your point of view, indeed having a baby is not that easyπŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am actually 24 😁 and yes I am still a student, so right now my priority is finishing my education, not a baby πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right! It much better to be financially independent first before having the baby. Aside from that, enjoy your life as a bachelorπŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I definitely will 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago