What I want for Christmas!

36 84
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Christmas is a time of celebration; a time to have fun after a whole year of work and stress in an attempt to make ends meet, an opportunity to spend time with loved ones, the celebration of the birth of our lord Jesus, sharing of gifts and yada yada.

As kids we always anticipated Christmas from November; the Christmas parties, the funfair, freedom to play all day, money received from visitors, the gifts received especially from our parents which was usually a new set of clothes which we referred to as "Christmas clothes", and so on. The Christmas chicken and rice were also special, and tasted more delicious during this period (a Jedi mind trick). My mom was like the best cook ever; it was usually a combination of fried rice, Jollof rice with fried chicken, and sometimes pepper-soup to step it down haha...a wicked combination it was. We looked forward to Christmas and didn't want it to end, unfortunately the excitement diminished as we grew; partly due to the fact that we became more mature as time passed and became busy trying to deal with the challenges life had to offer, but mostly due to the constantly diminishing economy, as mentioned in "a stressful world it is!"

Nobody cares about Christmas anymore until a week before; the usual decorations from November, Christmas spirit and excitement no longer exists. Now the Christmas spirit is only for the rich, thanks to the dysfunctional economy. I do not intend to rant all day about the “death of Christmas” and how jealous I am of the Philippines; those guys are wonderful, they basically prepare for Christmas from the first week of September, the Christmas spirit is alive as it should be and so on…. I’d rather not talk about those.

I intend to talk about “what I want for Christmas”; I do not want “my two front teeth” as mentioned in the Christmas song of the same name, neither do I want an ultrasonic vocabulator or a shrink and death ray, as I do not intend to take over the world. All I want for Christmas is a new Samsung device and a Violin.

Music and solitude

I’ve always wanted a violin for as long as I can remember, but didn’t make any attempt to work towards it cos’ I’ve been busy over the years with work and school that I haven’t had the chance to define what I want and how my life should be. That’s basically what college does to you; blindfolds you with academic work and keeps you away from the greater picture which is “life”. School expenses has always been a pain in the “you know what”, and basically cancels out your plans cos’ it literally rips you of your hard earned money all thanks to projects, assignments, and miscellaneous expenses. I guess now is the right time to work towards this goal.

As a very melancholic person, music has always been a part of me; I listen to symphonies and instrumentals all day while humming along, and occasionally get emotional depending on the frequency of the overtone (whatever that means). I’ve always enjoyed solitude from childhood, I get depressed easily especially after interacting with people; almost like I violated a part of me, and I’ve always wanted a special corner where I can recharge my “social batteries” while listening to my favorite symphonies and playing along with my Violin. In lieu of this, I decided I’m gonna be getting myself a Violin as a special Christmas present from me to me, and a private tutor as well.

Dear Samsung!

The plan is a new Samsung device and a violin; though I haven’t decided what Samsung model I’m gonna be getting, I know it’s definitely gonna be a higher spec than the one I use at the moment. Been using a Samsung galaxy A20s for about a year now; basically three cameras which I do not care about, 32GB RAM, 3GB ROM and a 4000mAH battery capacity.

I want a Samsung smartphone with three or four cameras (though I don’t take pictures but I consider it stylish), a higher memory space and a better battery capacity of about 6000 to 7000mAH, plus it must look really stylish as I can’t spend a lot of money on a device that will look like a bat out of hell…..just kidding. I don’t know about you, but this is what I’m gonna be getting myself for Christmas.

“Christmas, Christmastime is here, time for toys and time for cheers! I can hardly stand the wait please Christmas don’t be late”.

I do not care if the Christmas spirit is dead or not, music and solitude is my definition of the best Christmas ever.

Looks like I’m gonna be my own Santa-Claus this year. HO! HO! HO! Merry Christmas!

Lead Image: unsplash

14
$ 6.07
$ 5.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 4
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Comments

I'm thinking about Christmas presents since last month and I already bought some for my family because I don't like to wait for the last week before Christmas... Rush shopping is stressful. 😃 I like your gift choices - everyone needs a phone and the violin will also help you. Nice.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Should I get you something too?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's alright haha. Instead get a gift for someone close to you. It will make them happy :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahh, Christmas I can feel it already but not really as like as before. But it's okay, we will still celebrate it for sure. I'm thinking too if I will buy myself a phone or what 🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buy yourself a laptop so I can come take it from you. A gift from you to me! 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What I really wish for Christmas is that I can spent it with my famiy in our Province. There are a lot of requirements in order to follow before I can go home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I completely understand. And I know how you feel. How long have you been away from them?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For almost 3 years already. I really want to go home but there' not enough time due to my work here in the city

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hearing this makes me feel bad. I wish I could do something about it. Can we talk more privately? Telegram?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for the late reply. Yes, sure. What's your telegram account?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

@KristofferQuincy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone is waiting for Christmas to celebrate and enjoy meanwhile I'm waiting for Christmas because of film release and next day after Christmas is my birthday hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What movie are you looking forward to? And...happy birthday in advance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas is not in the air yet where I live, lol! Ahh, on second thought, it already is. The coldness of the air does remind me that Christmas is just around the corner :)

I'm sure you'll have that Samsung and violin for yourself this coming Christmas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Or...mayne you can buy the violin for yourself them I'd come get it from you. 😉🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I won't give it to you :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd snatch it out of your hands.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All I want for Christmas is a healthy and happy celebration with my family, and hopefully we are all COVID free

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You all will be fine. I wish you a happy time with your family. Do you miss them?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, Tia would love just 1 front tooth! 😁 And all the best to your Merry Christmas I wish that the Samsung and the Violin is getting ready to be wrapped by your Dearest Santa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha....turns out I'm my own Santa this year...lol. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey don't reveal that to yourself just yet! Have some sense of suspense. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Or you could be my Santa, buy those things for me and have them delivered.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want for Christmas is to celebrate it together with my family. It's been almost 2 years I didn't see them because of the pandemic kristoffer that's why I'm praying. I plan also to buy a new phone this coming Christmas kristoffer..

Advance Merry Christmas..❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas on advance my dear Ramona. I do hope you'd be able to see your family soon. I wish you success on getting a new phone too. 😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much kristoff. I'm hoping and I'm praying that I can travel home that's my biggest wish this coming Christmas. Take care kristoff..❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I miss celebrating Christmas with my family 😌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too... we're spread apart like dust lol... sister is in the UK, younger sister is in Lagos. I am....in a black hole...🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just want a peaceful life in Christmas, and a reunion for a whole family

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish you that peaceful life you require. And hope you are able to have this family reunion.

Do you miss family?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe it would be great if snow falls but sadly Nigeria is null of snow😂 at least we have harmattan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Harmattan is weird for me. Unnecessary dryness of air, the dust and sore throat that follows suit is really annoying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago