R.I.P to both parents; coincidentally it's my convocation today

17 44
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Yo peeps! So.... I'm not a prodigal son but it's been ten years already and I'm not one to dwell on the past especially regarding the death of a loved one hence I simply choose to let it slide like it's nothing because in the real sense it's actually nothing considering the time interval between then and now.

What exactly am I talking about? It's quite simple; today is the 10th of December- coincidentally today makes it ten years since my Dad got kaboomed from this plane of existence, ten years ago- the 10th of December in the year 2011.

I remember how quickly it happened, it was like "an action movie where the main character was killed off; viewers got displeased and hated the director forever for not letting things go in the direction they wanted". One moment he was with us and the next he was no more; we were all anticipating Christmas in a big way, it was meant to be the best christmas ever the following Christmas (es) was meant to be even better considering our financial status- I mean we didn't have everything like people thought but we had enough and sometimes more than enough that we were envied here and there and so many wanted to be like us.... we were the perfect family

Oh...those good old days passed by so fast, now it's all memories and nothing more.

I still remember my Dad's face but barely considering it's a face I haven't seen in ten years, I do not intend to remind myself by stating at his picture because it's basically pointless. In fact I do not think we have any of his pictures anymore for complicated reasons which I do not intend to explain.

Image source

"Death is reflective of the fact that life itself is pointless and we'd never catch the wind no matter how hard we try".

How quickly time flies; the dead is forgotten much faster than expected, he died, promises were made by his Brothers- "do not worry we're gonna stand by you and bla bla" all lies spoken from the tip of their tongue just to make themselves look special and big. Time showed us how filthy and pathetic they were; story for another day.

Filthy coincidence

It's 10 years today since Dad left coincidentally today is also the convocation ceremony of my university- my convocation; I'm officially a graduate from the department of Physics and Electronics. Weird sh*t is my school is located at Ondo state but I'm currently in lagos (Lagos sweet home) as I do not intend to attend. No amount of force in the universe can force me into attending this weird ceremony because I consider it pointless and an absolute waste of time for me. I already told my colleague @Success.1 I wouldn't be attending, he should go take some pictures and have some fun, meet a hookup babe and make out maybe....

Lead image

"It's my convocation today but will not attend, it's just a one day thing and doesn't matter"..

I only intend to point out the filthy coincidence of my convocation with the ten years yada yada of my Dad. His wife (my mom) also passed away six years after- the 17th of December 2017 hence it would be four Years since her passing in seven days time. What a sad world of filthy coincidence... one moment you're happy and the next you're trying to relax then you simply get caught in a war, an unending war of nothingness.

Rest in peace Mom and Dad; I want to forget your face, I want to forget you existed, I'm tired of seeing them in my dreams- I want to forget you ever existed because it's pointless remembering as we're never going to meet again.

Life in the end is nothing but fleeting, transient and an infinite amount of events leading to nothingness.

If @Lucifer01 was here we'd do play the PC version of cricket since he mentioned it in his article yesterday, while I'd show @Olasquare who's boss by circling the finish line twice before he even gets a chance to begin (Need for speed).

I wanna take @bmjc98 to the beach for celebration and as a special form of thank you to her (just me and you)- I hope her boyfriend wouldnt get jealous; don't worry I'm a gentle man.

Toddles!

16
$ 8.16
$ 7.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 11
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Comments

Similar stories but different characters

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry to hear that. I don't know what you've been through, so I can't just judge you right away. But I just want you to know that it's not pointless at all 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry this happened to you. I lost my father few years ago and I know how much it hurts... but I also do not understand you being so casual about it... I hope you are using humor to disguise your sadness.. Hugs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am I being casual? Perhaps because that's it.. it's nothing special, they're long gone already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

well they being gone does not change the fact that they are not your parents and you shouldn't respect them... anyway, am not sure what happened between you and them, but don't be so rude sweetie

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing happened...time simply passed. And life continues.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for this huge loss, to live without our parents is the hardest thing,which you are experiencing from past ten years. And more hurting thing is the behavior of your uncles. I wish you more power and strength.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh....those uncles from father's side don't even exist, if I met them on the way I'd pass by like they don't exist because they do not.

Thanks for your care... it's highly appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ow my prayers for you. I get emotional while reading your article, so sad when we talk about parents. Everything will be fine🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry dear. It hurts. But happy for your success too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rest in peace to both your parents, we are the same now- orphaned. And you are definitely super-smart wow. Congratulations on your convocation, you work hard for it. I hope you can attend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sorry about your loss. I don't think you can completely forget about them even if you want to. They are your parents and they brought you here. I think you should Constantly remember them in your prayers. Always pray that God accept their souls. A very respected ma of God said if you always remember and pray for your parents, God will one day fulfill all your heart desires. All the good wishes, prayers and successes that your parent had wish for you before they died would all become manifest in your life one day.... On a final note, I don't think its a good idea missing your own convocation. One day when you are 50, you would wish you hadn't . Wouldn't you like to relish the memory of that special day to your kids tomorrow? What if they ask to see the pictures you took with the Convocation day? What would you tell them. Tomorrow you might be a very big and influential man in the country, one day you would wish to share such throwback photo with your mentees or followers who would be proud of you and how far you have come

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks like someone put so much though into writing this comment; praying for the dead? I got a load of things to pray about, the dead is definitely not on this list.

I please myself by not attending my convocation because it's basically pointless; if my children would be displeased, then maybe they should go to hell.. Attending my convocation is not an achievement sorry.. it may be to you considering such things matter to ladies afterall show off is "your thing"..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My condolences dear. I know you must miss them. I'm sure they are proud of you wherever they are, I mean that young boy they left behind is slowly growing into a responsible man who is now a graduate.

I'm really happy for you, and I hope God gives you the grace to be the best you can be!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel for you brother but you should be proud of the man you have become because your parents will be happy and proud of the man you have become if they are watching you from heaven.

Attending the convocation would have been a good choice, interacting with people, having fun are the things you should do more lately.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

RIP to him... I'm sure he looks down and is proud of who you've become... He'll have been so happy about your convocation... I hope you'll celebrate it in memory of him... He'll have wanted that I'm sure.. RIP to your mum too... They'll be both proud of you...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to hear about your parents' passing ... But I AM happy for you on your convocation. Your life goes on brother and a lot of other doors are going to open up for you. Yeah some people do not bother attending their convocation and I think that is your decision to make.

However filthy things get, Kristoff you got those mentioned still up to to let you peek into the filthy and still see beauty. silent cheers for you, buddy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago