I Missed the bus: Episode 2

30 63
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Experiences, Writing, Story, Blog, ...

Epilogue: T’was a really bumpy ride from waking up late to missing the Staff Bus. If only I had met @FarmGirl on the way, she’d have given me a ride in her Convertible Lamborghini.

I’m pretty sure you all pretty enjoyed the first part of the story. If you haven’t read it, here’s the link to how it all started: https://read.cash/@Kristofferquincy/i-missed-the-bus-2aebca19

@Princessbusayo didn't wake me up with the required kiss, now I'm trouble.

Picking up right from where I stopped in the last episode, the staff bus had left without me and I was basically losing my mind, paid a double bike fare and had no way of getting to work but by spending the money intended for my lunch break. Here we go; the story continues.

The story continues

Since the Staff Bus had left me and I’ve got to be in the office before 8am, waiting for the BRT wasn’t an option (BRT is a government owned public transport system- cheaper and more convenient) because there were over a million persons waiting to compete for the limited number of available buses. Ignore my exaggeration, there were about 300 people, and I was definitely going to be the 300th person on the queue. I had no choice but to board a danfo (common name for public 18-seater buses in Lagos) from Ikorodu to Ojota. The only available danfo was an almost empty Bus with only two passengers with me making the third. I waited in the bus while the conductor had to look for more passengers to complete the 15 vacant seats; I was beginning to lose my mind at this point. Another bus passed me with @Gaftekloriginal at the front seat but it was already filled. I tried saying hi to him but his eyes were fixed to his phone, probably monitoring the BCH price fluctuation- we all know how that can be.

I looked at my wristwatch and “damn” I really was in trouble, it was few minutes past 6 am and I was nowhere near the beginning of the journey.  I just had to give myself the classical conditioning of “remain calm, remain calm” if you know what I mean, I was basically trying to hypnotize myself but it wasn’t working. The driver didn’t move until the vehicle was full; at this point we had already spent an extra twenty minutes.  At this point I thought to myself; where is @cool08 when I need him?

Finally, we move

The vehicle finally moved but the traffic was so terrible that I already gave up getting to work early, I didn’t care anymore. I was like “I’d get there whenever I get there, I can’t kill myself”. I gave the conductor 500 Naira cos’ the transport fare was 300 naira, my balance should be 200 naira but I didn’t collect it without a little drama from the bus conductor.

We didn’t get to Ojota until 7.45am, the plan was to move from Ikorodu to Ojota, and Ojota to Maryland, which is where my work is located, take note it’s not Maryland in the United States but Maryland in Lagos, Nigeria. “Conductor where is my change” were the words that came out of my mouth when I got to my Bustop, “Abi you think I will forget ni” (in pidgin- a local Nigerian dialect). Meanwhile I was already putting on my blazers, and having an official look, then the conduct was like “I don’t have change o”. Unfortunately for me, someone else was getting down at the same junction, someone whom the conductor owed 300 naira. Since the conductor owed me 200 Naira and owed the second person 300 naira, he simply tied us together with a 500 Naira note.

Only Lagosians will understand the “tied us together” concept.

At that moment I wished @CoquiCoin was there to see what I was going through.

Supply and Demand

Permit me to quickly explain the “tied us together concept”, it goes like this; since the Bus conductor owed me 200 Naira and owed the second person a 300 Naira change, He simply gave us both a 500 Naira note and asked us to sort ourselves out- that’s the tied together concept. Lagos conductors do that a lot, “tie” you to an unknown person and leave you to your fate, those conductors are damn wicked, and I’d punch one in the face one of these days. If only @clixmoney was closeby, change wouldn’t have been a problem.

The man to which I was “tied” looked at me and uttered the most disgusting words ever “I don’t have 200 Naira change o”. “Let’s go look for change naw or what are you doing over there staring at me?” was my response. We began going from shop to shop seeking for change just like the devil seeking whom to devour hahahaha...(evil laughter), I had to follow him before He shows me Lagos (Lagos is a dangerous place, you have to be smart or they will “show you Lagos”).

After minutes of not getting change, He looked at me in a funny way and said “Mr. Man you’re bigger than 200 Naira”, I gave him an instant response of “because I’m putting on a suit? Bring the money let me look for change.” I pulled my suit, hung it on my shoulder and collected the money in search of change (I’m putting on a quality blazer and looking good doesn’t mean I’ve got money to spare @OfficialGamboaLikeUs taught me how to dress to look rich but I’m struggling just as you are, every amount matters). He gave me a weird look once again but it didn’t matter to me.

Bank of Beggars

I already gave up getting to work early so I didn’t care anymore. I met a beggar on the street and the weirdest thing happened.

Since beggars usually had different currency denominations, I decided to ask a random beggar by the road side to help me with change from his “surplus currency bank”. Well, it would seem the beggar was “a beggar” after all, he said he was going to give us only 400 Naira and keep 100 Naira to himself; I guess that was our contribution to him for helping us out (He lived up to his name, Beggars will always be Beggars)... Real life o, that was my first time of asking a beggar for change, a mistake I’d never make in this life and the next. Random thought- if a next life actually exists I’d rather eat pizza in heaven than come to this world of suffering. I got the change from the Beggar and was ready to be on my way, the rest of the story is history…..

Office At last!

After my withdrawal from “the bank of beggars”, I boarded the final vehicle from Ojota, and finally got to work by 8.37am. While I was in the vehicle, I passed by @Olasquare chilling in the back seat of the newly bought Aston-Martin, but I couldn’t say hi cos’ my mind was really disturbed.I was busy thinking about the fact that; If only @meitanteikudo was the CEO of the company, He would have Instructed the Staff Bus to wait until I arrived at the junction, I wouldn’t have missed it in the first place………

I got to the office while sweating like a Christmas Goat (Do Goats sweat? I don’t think so). As I entered the office building, the AC in the hall-way blew me up and immediately evaporated the sweat on me, I felt a bit relaxed. I felt like myself again. The adventure ended as quickly as it began but I’m glad to be alive to tell the story, this kind of stress is a killer. My Boss didn’t ask why I came late cos’ he's @Idksamad7869, he's very understanding , plus I had the good reputation of getting to work super early. He offered me a bottle of cold water to cool the tension in me (told you he's a nice boss). Phew! I’m alive.

That’s the whole story- how I missed the Bus and went through a hall of stress to get to work.

I do hope you enjoy this story. It didn’t happen to me but a close friend of mine. I’m glad he told me this story, and I’m happy to write it in my own way. What do you think? @Jinifer

Shout out to @Eylz2021 and @ARTicLEE, you guys are awesome. I'm considering writing a third part, something about the return trip after work, I hope the required inspiration comes early.

Thanks for reading.....

If you enjoyed this, checkout this amazing story: https://read.cash/@Kristofferquincy/gone-too-soon-7a9fdb96

Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty

11
$ 0.78
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.10 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
+ 9
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Experiences, Writing, Story, Blog, ...

Comments

Good to know your boss is kind and understanding. He even offered you a bottle of water. It was a tiring day for you i guess. The tied us together concept happened also here in different situations but not in the vehicle or bus since the conductor has lot of coins.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was trying to connect from Nigeria to Maryland hahaha it was a funny yet tiring day you had there, your patience was tested and you managed to stay calm this is what makes us grow man. I enjoyed reading your story the way you delivered it was so smooth and continues. Great job :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you liked the story. What was your favourite part? Btw there's an initial story before this. Have you read it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A good story! ;) An interesting concept is that of "ty us together". Here, the change in public transport can also be a problem, and I hope drivers don't read this. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It can be frustrating at times. Often leads to quarrels between conductors and passengers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can imagine. But in the end, I guess the driver always ends up getting away with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats the truth. amd it's annoying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bruh you nailed it

Wasn't expected I'll be boss but you said right I'll be a nice boss in future though my nature is understanding it feels like you know me since too long

That's why I'm inspired with your skills the way you create and represent story is impressive. Keep up the good work boss!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much man. Asking me to put you in the story was a special way of encouraging me and I really appreviate it. I'm glad you liked the story. Do you have any suggestion for me?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome bruh! I knew it you'll make this amazing that's why i told you to add me and you proved it I'm literally surprised.

You're already doing best bruh I'll just say continue it I'm also trying to be creative in this way coz I'm writing things i can relate with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright. You're the boss. Just keep on doing what you know how to do best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have summarized about everyone so well, showing how much you know them. Love the way you express your thoughts amazing writeup

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much, I'm still learning, I can't even write as much as you do. I just did a random selection lol. 🤪🤪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

same here, still in the learning phase and much more to learn. You did very well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂😂😂 so you mean I am was carried away with checking the price of BCH, how do you know I love to do that ? Nice guess,I really like fun you had composing this,keep it up bro, is nice

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't we all do that? Checking the chart every now and then. 😁😁😁 I'm glad I guessed right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah,that's what we all do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Man, I should have been the CEO. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dont worry I'd make you CEO next time. 🤪 I'm glad you liked the story..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really have worked on the details on this one. You have written it well to even have it in parts. That just shows how good you are. Keep it up!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me Good? Nah. I just write what comes to my kind and that's all. I'm ot a hood writer unlike you, you're the boss. I just had to explain some terninologies that are country specific. For instance "danfo", "BRT", they're all words used in lagos, Nigeria. Not used in any other part of nigeria. Lagos is weird 🤪🤪

I'm glad you liked it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! Convertible Lamborghini, I love that! You made a dream come true for me, lol! But honestly, I'd rather have a monster truck than a Lambo :) You have such a way of writing that makes the story even more interesting! I could sense you are having a lot of fun too while doing it. Amazing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks @farmgirl. You're my first love on this platform, don't worry I'd give you a monster truck in one of my stories soon. Kiss kiss 😘😘

I enjoyed myself while writing, I'm glad you enjoyed reading it too. What was your favourite part of the story?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha thank you in advance! Would love to see that monster truck soon!

My favorite part? Haha somewhere I had lots of giggles, the beggar making business out of you and that Christmas Goat sweating, lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can be sometimes weird. Giving each part of the story a weird title. For instance- bank of Beggars, supply and Demand...🤣🤣 I find it funny.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it is you being 'creative' with your writing, not weird at all!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks..😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just spend, stop thinking about if how much it is xd

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not as easy as you say. Money is tough to get 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago