I missed the Bus

24 101
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

I'd normally begin this kind of story with "long ago" but it hasn't been so long after all, it's just two years back .

Story time

It was the year 2019, during my SIWES (students industrial work experience scheme), what other schools refer to as IT (Indistrial training), it's basically an internship program that lasts for six months. Yes, six months of stress. I worked at a very far organization in the capital of Lagos- Ikeja. And had to go all the way from Ikorodu every single day. Those that live in Lagos, Nigeria will know how far a distance it is and the amount of stress involved in travelling such distance every day. I don't think anyone would survive going through this amount of stress everyday for a year, it's a "life shortener".

It was a lovely Tuesday morning, one of those special mornings where you over-sleep because "a body at rest needs to remain at rest", and I think I had a really interesting dream which I didn't want to let go of. I think I was being tipped 1 BCH by a random rewarder or perhaps by @Pichi28 , twas one of those "too good to be true" kind of dreams.

I needed more sleep

My alarm did the usual beep beep by 3am but I told myself another 15 minutes of sleep wouldn't hurt, unknown to me the "god of time" wasn't by my side. I completely deactivated the alarm and gave myself another Fifteen minutes. Well, this fifteen minutes became hour before I could even pronounce the word "Quiditch". It's just as I said; "a body at rest wants to remain at rest".

@Princessbusayo should have been there to wake me up with her kisses.

My usual schedule was- wake up by 3am, dress up till 3:30am, and move out latest by 3:45am to meet up with the staff bus which leaves Ikorodu by 5am. Finally woke up, looked at the time and "damn" it's already 4am, I had slept a whole one hour extra. My house to the bustop wasn't the problem, the problem was from my bustop to Ikorodu bustop where I'd normally join the staff Bus.

I teleported into the bathroom faster than the speed of light, as a theoretical physicist I know the speed of light is 3 multiplied by 10 raised to the power of 8, but I think I moved faster than that speed (it's a joke, no one can move at such speed unless you intend to be dust, I believe you all know that). I poured two bowls of water on my head, completely ignoring the early morning cold that was.

I dressed up as fast as I could, by 4.10am I was already completely dressed. Decided to look official just as I was taught by @OfficialGamboaLikeUs to always look near and tidy, hence I took a fairly black blazer along.

At the bustop

My brain was already working on lightning mode because to miss the staff bus will be disastrous for me. In lieu of this, I didn't bother to wait for a public bus to take me to the bustop where the staff bus would normally pick me up. Without hesitation, I jumped on a bike and shouted "Ikorodu garage". You should note that I got to this bustop by 4.20am, time was really passing me.

Vamoose! I said to the bike man, then I heard the most disappointing words in the universe come out of the rider's mouth; "I'm not going to Ikorodu".

I was instantly covered with sweat, almost like it rained. I felt like the universe was against me that day and, once the universe is against you, there's nothing you or anyone can do about it. I felt like I was in big trouble because I was already running late, missing the bus would lead to great consequences. Oh boy, where's @George_Dee 's car when you need it!

Double the fare

I waited another twenty minutes and was beginning to lose my patience when another bike approached. A bike man came around I was like "pls tell me you're going to Ikorodu", His response was straight to the price- "250". I instantly jumped onto the bike then he said he needed to find one more passenger. At this moment I wished I had the power to teleport to my destination. I was like, "oga let's go, I will pay for two people (Oga is a Nigerian dialect, a special way of showing respect when referring to someone older or superior).

I told him I was gonna pay double which means I was gonna be paying the sum of 500 Naira after the journey. @clixmoney could have paid the fare if he was available but he was on a tour out of the country. The bike man was smiling already and was riding so fast. I was happy and sad at the same time because I was late already. I looked at my wristwatch, it was already 4.48am and I haven't gotten half way. The bike man was riding like it was his last day on earth, I was praying to God that he makes it not be my last day in the land of the living, because speed kills. I had earlier told the bike man to move with super-speed but didn't mention that I was ready to die. "Speed racer slow down"

Disappointment

We got to Ikorodu bustop around 5.20am, unfortunately what I had feared had just happened. The staff bus had left already. The bike man was waiting for money, while I was about to magically develop the powers to turn back time. Where's @HappyBoy when I need him?

I gave him the money with disappointment in my heart and had to plan how I was gonna get to work since the staff bus option had been eliminated. This means that I'd have to use my money to get to Ikeja. The distance wasn't the pain, but I already planned a perfect lunch break with my money. Those perfect lunch breaks where you'd buy according to your heart desires without holding back and the ladies at work will be attracted to your level of awesomeness.

My plan was about to become nothing but a fantasy, as I'd have to use the money to transport myself to work. We all know how costly transportation in Lagos can be. I accepted my fate and did the needful, after all there is no going back at this point. The plan B was; I may be lucky to meet @CoquiCoin at the staff canteen, she will pay for my lunch.

Unknown to me, the journey was only beginning and there are more troubles ahead.

To be continued....

I do hope you enjoy this story.

To be continued?

Yes, there is a second part and I hope you enjoyed this story.

It's more of a friends experience, I wouldn't go through this amount of stress and still be alive to tell the story. I'm not as strong as you think.

@FarmGirl I wrote this story with you in mind, I'm beginning to write with confidence, what do you think?

@Eylz2021 what do you think about this? I trust your decision.

@Jinifer I do hope you find this fun to read.

Care to know how I lost the love of my life forever? Check it out here.: https://read.cash/@Kristofferquincy/gone-too-soon-7a9fdb96

Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty

11
$ 0.59
$ 0.10 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
+ 6
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago

Comments

This is a nice one but you should hΓ vΓ© cΓ lled instead of waiting for @HappyBoy. Though you didn't inform him earlier.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here i am. Where are we headed?πŸ˜‚ next time give me a call. I will be there with my car in mins. Let me read the next part

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright dear, I do hope you enjoy it as much as this one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah why I missed to read this one, It's a good story. So sad you left by the bus

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's an episode 2 already already. You should check it out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can't stop laugh she will wake up with by kissing waiting for next part as i said you're next level thing in storytelling!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Next level? You think so? Thank youuuuuu...πŸ‘πŸ‘. I really need that kiss before I can wake up early ...hahaha I'd publish the next part soon. Thanks for encouraging me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure... I hope in next part I'll see my name as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright, I will. Watch out πŸ€ͺ lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! This was really fun to read. And absolutely yes, I will pay for your lunch, LOL. So I'm looking forward to what comes next in this story ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hhehe, This usually happens with all of us, we want enough sleep and after that , more 15 minutes sleep I really enjoyed while reading your story, waiting for the next part

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, you want Princess to give you a morning kiss whereas I was still sleeping. How on Earth do you want me to still wake up at 3am? 😳😳 No be you find space go Ikorodu? πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

Beautiful story and I am waiting for the next part.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Those kisses can be a life saver at the right time, I'm glad you liked the story. You know the usual lagos hustle naw, wake up by 3am so you can beat traffic. Especially for those working on the Island. Ikorodu is fun btw, do you live in Lagos?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You deserve more than something. Be early akways because I hate late 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd try to wake up early next time. πŸ€ͺ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

whoaaaa that article deserve a sponsorship!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whattaaaatttt πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘ I'm so happy. Thank you dear friend. You're encouraging me to write more. I appreciate you sincerely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is fun! Interesting to see how this would go on. You do take us on a ride with your writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd continue to do that if that's what you enjoy. I'm so glad you like the story. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Get outta here! Lol! You're so damn good! So never have any second thought about pushing the publish button again, ever!!! Amazing! You captured the imagination!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😍😍😍 thank you so much friend. Your encouragement brought me this far. I love you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aw! Don't mention it Kris. Your persistence and confidence in yourself will bring you farther :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ma'am. I'd keep writing and continue to have fun while doing so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheers to that :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago