Five ways to deal with depression!

12 63
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
1 year ago
Topics: Depression, Solution

1st of May 2022

Lead Image

1. Replace social media with books

The first thing that you need to do is you need to replace social media with books. Studies have shown that the more you scroll through Facebook, Instagram and blah blah, the more you look at what your friends are doing, their great life their luxury beautiful perfect lifestyle and take a look at yourself and you’d begin to feel like “I'm here working a nine-to-five job and I’m stuck in a traffic jam”. Unless your whole entire timeline is just all motivational quotes, then that’s an exception.

2. Listening to rain drops

Some scientists have found that listening to ASMR (autonomous sensory meridian response) improves concentration, helps ease depression symptoms. Also, swim for at least 30 minutes a day because that's just something therapeutic about being in the water. You just can hear anything, it's like an escape. But remember to swim outdoors because when you're exposed to sunlight it can help ease the symptoms of depression.

3. Stop eating fried food

Studies have shown that the more French fries, chicken, chips and so on that you eat, the worse your depression would become. The worse your anxiety will become. I know that when you're depressed you just want to eat something. But let me tell you that you only feel good for the thirty minutes that you spend eating it, and you spend the rest of the three days feeling like shit.

4. Create an exciting goal to work towards

I hear a lot of people say “I hate waking up to my job every single day”. Well then, you can wake up to working on your side hustle. That's gonna eventually have you create a job when you come home from work at night.

Now I know that for people with depression it's very hard for you to get back to work again even to work on anything. It's very hard because all you want to do is just lock yourself in a room, watch videos the whole day, watch anime the whole day and blah blah.  Eventually you've got to get off it, and the first step to getting out of that is to set a very exciting goal.

If you feel like there’s too much work today, then just write down that one exciting goal onto a piece of paper and that's it. The rest of the day just gonna do whatever you want. Just write that one exciting goal and take small steps, one at a time.

5. Don't be afraid to seek therapy

Go for counselling, go join a community support group, and don't ever feel embarrassed to seek therapy and counselling. There are a lot of free counselling services regardless of your region.  

I know a lot people tell you things like just snap out of it, just be positive, just be grateful because everybody has problems. I've been told a lot of those crap many times and it wasn’t helping.

Just understand that you're not weak. The pressure is just like having high blood pressure, you’re your blood pressure is high, something internally is not balanced, an imbalance of chemicals in your brain which you can't control, which you can't snap off.

To those people who like to tell the depressed to just snap out of it, it's like you're going to a person with high blood pressure and then telling them to just snap out of their high blood pressure. They say these things because they haven’t been depressed.

To the depressed, be willing to join the community support group so that you won't feel that you're alone. The most important thing is talk to somebody. It's gonna help you a lot.

Disclaimer: This article and all material used in this content is used for entertainment and educational purposes only.

Follow me on: Readcash  Noisecash

19
$ 6.37
$ 5.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 12
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
1 year ago
Topics: Depression, Solution

Comments

I can relate to that swimming, it is a very good way to ease stress, you feel happy, better and refreshed, it lowers your depression level

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To really be cured from that, they have to be willing first to heal. Because if not, no matter how we tried to support them or to help them to be out from that depression, they won't really heal from it. So yep. Hope they try to these things that u listed here 💪🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really interested to know how fried foods worsen depression, perhaps i read on tat.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Didn't know about rain drops. I should try that sometime. This is quite helpful

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much for this Kristoff. This is really informative. This is really helpful. I know now when it comes to food, the fried food is not good especially when we are depressed. Now I know kristoff. Thank you again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is so very valuable because I struggle with crippling anxiety. I've tried the first two and they work really well, i.e., taking a mental break from social media and simply reading books which I love or also listening to raindrops. I have a bamboo waterfall and the trickling sound from that is also so calming. I've never thought of the fried food though, so that's one I have to look into, my diet. Thanks for sharing. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People always feel therapy is not necessary because it won't work and it won't help them but mean while sometimes therapy is what need

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very strange therapies if you ask me. Listening drops, that's kinda weird or magical to reduce depression.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Depression are serious medical issues that must be handled professionally. You mentioned ways can relief one off stress but not much can be achieved with depression.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some of these methods are strange, books would be the last thing on my mind so I would do something I love more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me I think the most important one is,reduction of fry food and listening to rain drop.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think therapy is the best, I'm depressed, I don't like reading books and rain isn't falling in my state, it's so dry, Agba kris, though they are all great point, I would like to follow your goal for this month of May.. Let me be your steward😏😏

$ 0.00
1 year ago