Childhood dreams….

32 46
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: Childhood, Career

I remember that there are so many things I wanted to be while growing up; from wanting to be an astronaut to being a mechanical engineer and whatchamacallit. I realized that my dreams changed as time passed by; sometimes due to the fact that I began to see things differently as I grew, and mostly due to environmental and family factors. Sometimes the circumstances around you influence your decision as time passes and you’d have to settle for what’s available unless you were raised with a silver spoon. Sometimes a silver spoon can turn to a wooden spoon; that’s my definition of life…..I’d rather not go into this.

This article is basically me talking about what I wanted to become from childhood and how my career choice changed as I grew till I got to this point. It’s nothing special actually; I’m simply doing this as a means to curb myself from ranting on and on about the cruelty of life. I remember that at some point I wanted to be a zoologist out of my childish persona and laziness.; I wasn’t willing to put myself into studying and simply wanted to go for courses that didn’t require stress, well until I finally discovered myself. I do not intend to talk about my journey towards discovery and how I became better than my mates, I could write about this some other time; I simply want to talk about how my career choice brought me to this point. Let’s get into it before I drift out of my purpose for writing.

I wanted to be an astronaut

I think this decision was influenced by the fact that I constantly watched discovery family and NATGEO with my Dad every day, plus I had lots of space books and encyclopedia on interplanetary exploration. Space exploration has always interested me as a kid and I thought this was something I’d like to do; the idea of going to space, flying in those cool jets, walking on the moon in the space suit and floating while in space was something I wanted to explore.  I considered it really fun and as a kid I didn’t consider the danger; I simply wanted to follow my heart irrespective of the danger behind it. All this was while I was in elementary school; children and their imagination haha….

With time this decision changed mostly because I began to see documentaries on rocket crashes, accidents in space, I also got to understand that going to space can be extremely dangerous and Man cannot survive there without special suits and oxygen. You see; I was a kid with a wild imagination but I wasn’t ready to die in space. I changed my mind with time and decided I wanted to be something else.

A Mechanical Engineer

After changing my decision from an astronaut wannabe, I got to junior-high and decided I was gonna be a mechanical engineer without having any idea of the intellectual requirement, but I knew I was gonna be in the science department and the typical physics, chemistry, mathematics were gonna be my best friends with time. This decision was mostly because my Dad was an Engineer and I appreciated his lifestyle; our parents have been very close to us since childhood, we were free to interact with them and they didn’t impose a career choice on us; it was completely our decision. Apart from the fact that I wanted to be a better version of my dad, I wanted to be a Mechanical Engineer because I liked the idea of working with machines, building bridges and bla bla. I followed my Dad to work on many occasions and completely loved the work environment and the activities I was allowed to see as a kid; I knew this was something I wanted to do. Being an Engineer means I had to be well skilled in mathematics and Physics; I got to know this with time but I unmoved because I knew I had the required mental capacity; I’ve been a very bright kid since elementary school.

I had only one problem while in high school; I got sick constantly as mentioned in “the pain behind the fame”. I spent most of my school days in the hospital and was known as a regular customer by the nurses at some point. This constant sickness affected my results and I was constantly behind the class. At a point I thought I wasn’t so intelligent and the science department wasn’t meant for me. It got so bad that I began to score 45% overall percentage each term and my mom couldn’t take it anymore. My dad suggested I changed my career choice, he said I’d definitely perform better if I were for the Arts or Commercials; he was right, even if I got sick I would have still had better results in other departments as compared to science department that required full commitment. The decision was made; I and parents had a discussion with the vice principal of my school and it was done, everything changed from that moment…….

To be continued………

 

 

This is a story I can’t finish at once or you’d probably get bored somewhere between because it would be too long and you’d be eager to get back to whatever it is you were doing before the notification came in. Will finish this story next time; I do hope you find this enjoyable.

I’m simply reminiscing my past; how I went from childhood till I got to this point. I’m glad to be where I am today and I know I can be better.

 

10. am, 22nd of September 2021.

 

Till next time.

Toodles!

13
$ 6.54
$ 6.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
+ 7
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: Childhood, Career

Comments

I have a lot of dreams also when I was young, until now it's only a dream. But good thing was although all my dreams can't come true but I have 3 kids now who fulfilled my dreams someday when they all grown up 🥰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's really nice. I'm happy your dreams will be fulfilled by your children.

Let's be friends, I look forward to hearing from you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much, god will always guide and protect you...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen, and you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh childhood dreams, I also have that but my dream was to be a Policewoman, an Agent or whatever that involves guns and cuff, and still today. Sadly I didn't become one. But I'm still happy though. Maybe in my next life I will do anything in my power to achieve that. I

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🤣🤣 maybe you accuse too many movies while growing up in loving guns and police. What do you do at the moment?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is true that we dream a lot in childhood but the situation helps many and again many move away from their dreams. But we have to struggle to survive and that survival must be to survive as a real human being.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I completely agree.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At different stage of my life I had different dreams and career but now I'm happy I'm pursuing one

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Which career are you into at the moment?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Quantity surveying what about you?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a Theoretical Physicist.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! That's great

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember I want to become an architect on the future, I'm good at drawing buildings and houses, unfortunately I didn't pursue it when I knew that there's a math involved, I'm not bought at mathematics and I have trouble when it comes to equations and solving, I'm more on business related topics, im good at it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If you can take time to train yourself, you will realise that mathematics isn't so hard. I used to have difficulties at a point too... but not anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My son, currently 11 yrs old is also dreaming to become an astronaut someday. He loves to watch youtube videos about outer space..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

His dream will soon change, just give him time. He will begin to see things clearly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah.. He is still young.. It will surely change

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This write up is so true, our ambitions and dreams are most times controlled by the space/situation we find ourselves. I wanted to be....🤐🤐 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Go ahead. Say it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My brother, I had in mind to be a pilot🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

astronaut will always and forver be my dream job. I always imagine myself floating in the outer space everytime I look up the sky and stare at the moon HAHA

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Why did this dream change?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, I wantded to be an astrounaut too but when I noticed that Nigerian universities dont even have the necessary tech I dropped it!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What did you study afterwards?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am studying accounting now!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow...that's a far cry from your initial dream.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to be an astronaut too and go to space when i was a kid haha ​​And have a super powers lol. I wana know what happened so i read the continuous of this story of yours tommorrow. :) .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What did you end up studying?

$ 0.00
2 years ago