Checkpoint; have I been kidnapped?

14 44
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: Stress, Journey, Sleep, Travel, Fun

I'm being lazy to do anything today; I'm being lazy to think, lazy to write an article here on read.cash, lazy to write a short post on noise.cash and lazy to even sit upright in the vehicle as I slept through most of the journey. You're probably wondering "what journey is he talking about?" We'd get to that part shortly.

I guess part of the laziness is due to the fact that I slept really late; slept about few minutes past 2 am and had to wake up as early as 6 am because I had plans of following my roommate to Auchi in Edo state, his uncle's driver would be coming to pick us up by 7am.

My room mate's uncle is a bishop for the Anglican church of Akoko region North or west or so.. of Ondo state-Nigeria, a really popular person but had a special letter coming for him from Auchi in Edo state hence sent his driver to pick it up while doing other things along the way which I know nothing about but I decided to go with them since I'm doing basically nothing over here; and staying alone in our apartment is gonna be total boredom for me.

It was a really long journey which was initially enjoyable because I got to gaze upon mountains so tall that they were basically touching the cloud from mount of view; I touched my room mate and told him "this is the point where the earth touches the heavens"..haha.. a not funny joke. I saw really high mountains with clouds all over them, saw bushes both left and right, and saw really large land masses with nothing but carpet grass; it was looking really beautiful but couldn't take pictures because my phone was battery dead, had been dead since 6 am because the electricity supply here is a mess which I'd rather not talk about.

VIPs on the road

We came across various police and military check points, it was weird seeing those guys in their uniforms with their guns and super masculine figure as commonly seen in american war movies; almost like they were prepared for a smaller version of war. Those soldiers were looking really scary, I had to become a gentle boy and stopped running my mouth each time we passed by them (don't ask me why). Surprisingly while other vehicles were stopped at each checkpoint for inspection, ours wasn't stopped because the vehicle of the Bishop was easily recognised as he was a well known person hence we felt like VIPs throughout the journey. The journey was initially enjoyable until I began to lose my mind becaisse there was nothing but bushes left and right almost like we were in a casual loop of passing the same place over and over.. one hour into the journey and my brain had to shut down via sleep plus hunger was beginning to bite my stomach; I had no choice but to let the sleep take over.

We finally got to the location after a two and a half hour drive by this time it was few minutes to 10 am. I couldn't take the hunger anymore. We had to stop at the nearest restaurant where I intended to eat rice, spaghetti and egg which is my favourite rice combination but he restaurant was out of spaghetti hence I had to go with rice, beans and friend fish which I didn't enjoy so much considering it wasn't my first choice; it was a no choice..haha..

We did what we had to do; the letter was received, necessary processing took place which took about one hour or so after which we were ready to begin the return trip.

The return trip; have I been kidnapped?

The return trip began at about few minutes past 12 pm and we got back to Ondo state by 3:30 pm or thereabout. During the return trip I slept off about three times in the back seat of the vehicle. The sitting arrangement was; driver in the driving position, colleague beside the driver while I was at the back seat. I began toblisenmy mind once more from seeing too many bushes left and right and eventually fell asleep just as I did sitting the initial journey.

I slept while sitting upright after which I didn't feel comfortable anymore and had to stretch myself out completely on the chair and slept for about one hour straight.

Was sleeping and the next thing I know is I heard a soldier's voice at a checkpoint asking if the person sleeping at the back seat was kidnapped; I opened my eyes at that moment and smiled at the soldier after which he asked us to go.

I went back to sleep and we got to another checkpoint few minutes later; a police checkpoint the police man asked the same question

Policeman: what's wrong with him, did you kidnap him (while pointing at me)

Driver: ......... (short of words)

Policeman: (facing me this time) what's wrong with you?

Me: nothing, I'm sleeping....(with a smile on my face)

Policeman: did they kidnap you?

Me: No ooo, I'm only sleeping..hahaha.. (couldn't stop myself from laughing at this point).

The conversation ended and we were asked to go. I actually found it funny because they thought a person sleeping at the back seat of a car was equivalent to kidnap..hahaha.. I guess it's part of their job.

Anyway, today's journey was a really tiring one, sleeping was my own way of shutting myself out of the boring and extrenely long journey. I'm finally home and all I need is some good food and a lot of rest.

Had to force myself to write this after going through enough stress for the day; not writing this would defeat my "yes to writing everyday".

Did a quick summary on noise.cash as well, feel free to check it out;

https://noise.cash/post/1q042z42

Toodles!

Lead image from unsplash

13
$ 6.90
$ 6.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 6
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: Stress, Journey, Sleep, Travel, Fun

Comments

This was funny :D but I understand that they had to make sure you are alright. Such a long road just for a letter... I´m amazed. It must be really, really important :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol.. Might have said.. I feel like I'm kidnap, and see the next course of action

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You wanna joke with soldiers? I don't think so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, its not even a smart think to joke with them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lmao, I don't know what the driver would react if you'll tell them you were kidnapped lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Glad that you said something though you were sleepy, should I say you brought him out of trouble? I mean the driver

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good that you're not really kidnapped haha but also wow they're so serious about kidnapping. The factthat you were able to smile at them for disturbing your sleep is amazing because if it were me, I would have been rolling my eyes at them HAHAHA jk

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh laziness, I have that in me all the time aigooi. But I laugh so hard at the last part ahahaha. What if you didn't woke up the time that the police is asking 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The officers seem so serious about kidnapping haha, thank God you're not kidnapped. I laughed so hard early in the morning because of this hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! The situation of the nation is highly alarming on this issues of kidnapping. That means those soldiers are really doing their work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you're doing okay my friend. Me, I was not able to follow my goal for this month. To write an article per day 😢.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I know how you feel. Don't let it weigh you down, just go at your own pace and don't push yourself.

Pls tell me what's the problem? Is something taking your personal time away from you?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They must have encounter issues like that or maybe they thought you were given sleeping pills, lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha, this was so funny...but I am glad at least the police was active there to see the crimes. So, are you kidnapped....hehehehehheh. Next time avoid to sleep while travelling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago