Check Mate!

20 121
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Payback

21st of April 2022

Lead Image

Disclaimer: this article shows a glimpse of how messed up my mind is. I implore you to not take it too seriously!

It was a Sunday evening, in the month of August, year 2015. A pre-marriage testimony evening was being held. More like a stylish exposé/interview for the 'soon to be' couple. This exposé occurs on the weekend before the wedding and the youths would have the opportunity to ask the 'soon to be' couples relevant questions including sensitive questions questions that needs to be answered. Plus fun. Unfortunately, fun took over ninety percent of the event and the rest was history.

The time for questions and answers came. You'd have to write on paper and signal to the officials to come for your question, after which it will be read out loud and the couples will answer appropriately. It was full of yada yada and blah blah of irrelevant questions.. "how did you meet", "what was the catch phrase", "punch line", "pick up line", "how many times did she say no" and blah blah…

These questions were read out loud by the organisers while the couple did the needful. Now I wrote on paper "if your spouse was caught in a compromising position or your spouse does what you wouldn't do.. whatever the case may be.. I'd rather not mention it, what would be your reaction?", and sent this question across.

The organiser- female, looked at the question and shook her head like it was too much for her to comprehend. She folded the sheet of paper and kaboom.. it was ignored.

"Hell no".. I was pissed. I concluded it was a gathering of children and felt like I had wasted my time, or perhaps the organisers had a negative IQ and weren't ready for realistic questions as such.

The organisers' name- I wouldn't mention but will caller her Malorie for the purpose of this illustration. My check mate came soon enough.

Fast forward to 2017!

Malorie's wedding was at hand, and her testimony evening came up. I attended coincidentally.. as I was simply there while it happened.

Long story short she got married 2017 and come 2019, she got divorced- Checkmate!

That's what you get for ignoring necessary questions before marriage.

I laughed so hard when I heard the news and told myself checkmate! I don't care whatever may have happened.. Divorce is Divorce. Checkmate is Checkmate!

Case 2

I imitated his mom's dance move during her birthday without any intent to mock. We were friends (observe the past tense for we are no longer friends), but he went ahead to disrespect me. Gosh! I felt insulted and went straight to the restroom for some alone-time. I sat on the toilet seat and memories of my mom flashed before my eyes.. she had died 2017, while Dad.. 2011. He was doing the "mommy thing" on someone that didn't have a "mommy". This was January 2021. Sorry, yours is coming.

Fast forward to August of the same year. He called me and told me his dad was dead..  "Checkmate!", I thought.

One and a half months later- he almost died of an asthma attack.. He ran out of inhaler and passed out by 4am. He woke up at the hospital by 8am with hospital fluids and pipes all over him. He got lucky someone was there to rescue him.

I'm still waiting for the announcement of his mom's.... you know what!

Don't blame me for my messed up mindset- life has taught me a lot- @Olasquare can testify!

17
$ 3.34
$ 2.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @FashTioluwa
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 5
Sponsors of Kristofferquincy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kristofferquincy
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Payback

Comments

we can't blame for that life has taught you a lot, Life is not always good but being good is to have a life..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sigh! Kris, life will always throw you down...but it's a choice to come back up. Everyone is dealing with what they can't even say. Life isn't always kind to everyone. We are to be a better person regardless. I've had my fair share but I wouldn't wish that on anyone too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a good person.. but... we all have our dark side. Once you hit me hard, I always let it go, but in due time, nature revenges on my behalf. And when it happens, I'd always remember.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being a good person is not a matter of words but with actions. Everyone has a dark side but your ability to take it determines who you are. An eye for an eye...the world would go blind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't do pay back, I don't even put things in mind... nature just has its way of doing things on my behalf. And when it happens I simply hear about it and laugh.

In fact, I'm the most forgiving person you'd ever know.. Trust me.

How is our wife?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guyyy, well like you said in the beginning of the article,that it is coming from a messed up mind and we shouldn't take anything too serious, if you read at @bilqees latest article that talk on letting go and learning to say sorry and forgive, if you allow this kind of negative emotion to remain in your mind, it will keep the mind messed up for sure. I'm sure you don't want anything to happen to your friend mom cause you won't want anyone to go through what you want through. I'm sure there are people that love you the way you are, well this life is you give and you take, you didn't control what happened to any of the people you explained, is just karma. But on your side, you need to let go of some things and Allow positive vibes in you always. You can start from audio therapy or read good books, I'm sure it will help

$ 0.45
2 years ago

Honestly, I don't know what to say. I hope someday, you will be totally healed and okay for everything you been through, sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I cannot say I completely understand you, Kris. I do not know what you've been through, and you must've had it rough. However, I feel when a person goes through a certain emotion - especially during a very difficult phase, it changes them, sometimes it causes them to loose something and in the long run they may come out the other side a shadow of who they once were. In the end, it all goes to show how such a person decides to deal with his/her emotions. Be safe man. :-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Divorce isn't legal yet here in the Philippines. As you know, most of the population are Christians and they don't want to have divorce.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, man! This is just dark, and just as you have rightly said "messed up", I guess every writer is entitled to open the red doors once in a while, as a writer, I respect that but man, this is really dark.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah... I'm simply writing what my mind says all based on my observation. My initial.disclamwe was a dark one.. but I chose to change it at the last moment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very dark

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't care how you see it man, but that's not cool.. Life might have been rough to you, but it doesn't make any of these cool or acceptable.. Take responsibility for your way of thinking bro and fix it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its diesnt have to be cool. Life generally isnt cool. Were all struggling to maintain our sanity. I on the other hand, I'm simply writing my observation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't even know what to say... Should I be happy for you or sad for them?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can be both... init?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All I can say is Omoh. Your mind is really messed up man.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is it? I dont think so..

$ 0.00
2 years ago