My Least Productive Work from Home

16 33
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Topics: Randomarticle
Today, September 8, 2021 is considered to be my least productive day at work

Image source: https://www.insidesources.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/bigstock-d-red-arrow-down-in-business-34083212.jpg then edited via https://giphy.com/

I'm almost 2 hours late at work

First epic that happened today is, I failed to wake up before 06:00 AM in the morning. I woke up at exactly 7:39 AM already (based on my phone's clock) earlier which means I am nearly 2 hours late in my shift cause it supposedly start at 06:00 AM. Luckily, there were no issues that arise during my offline hours.

I am alone in my shift in APAC hours by the way cause the rest of my colleagues are in EMEA shift since most of our applications and users are based in UK. And since I am alone in my shift, no one will know how late I am today unlessni'll tell them. But please do not judge me. Don't think that I am taking advantage of my shift cause honestly, this is the first time it happened. I normally wake up before 6:00AM and log-in right away.

Upon logging in, I immediately started with my start of day check. It is to make sure that our applications are "Ready for Business" before the APAC users came in. They normally comes in at 09:00 AM Singapore time.

Boiled Banana (saba) for Breakfast

After ensuring that all our applications are running as expected, I went down to prepare our breakfast. I'm glad when I saw the ripe banana on the table cause last night before we sleep, I asked my husband to buy ripe SABA when he goes into the market. He usually leave at 3:00AM in the morning. It needs to be that early cause what he buy in the market will be sold in our little store. Usually he buys pork, chicken, fish, veggies and some fruits. I'm glad that he did not forgotten my Banana. I boiled 10 pcs of banana which will serve as our breakfast. I left about 8 pcs raw of it for our afternoon snacks.

While waiting the boiled banana to be evenly cooked, I went back to my desk and do some of the stuffs related to my current project (at work). I just occasionally check my banana and as soon as it was cooked, I ate 2 pcs right away cause it's already 9:00AM by that time and I can feel my rumbling stomach already due to hunger. I partnered it with a hot coffee as well.

The repeated reboot

I went back to my desk right after my breakfast but then after an hour, a power interruption happened. But after about 3 seconds, power came back immediately.

I've got disconnected from my remote desktop connection and our router has rebooted as well. But it's been 15 minutes already after the router reboot, it's still not able to establish internet connection. So I rebooted it again - manually. I waited for another 5 minutes but still no internet connection, so I did another reboot. This time, I did it remotely thru the web. I just logged in as admin. I waited another 5 minutes again but nothing happens. Still no internet connection. I went down the stairs and turned off the router and unplugged it as well. I waited for about 30 seconds before I turn it on. I waited a bit to make sure it will turn on successfully and checked if the Wifi and LAN led lights are both on before going back to my desk. Luckily, this time it works.

I managed to log-in back but power gone again few minutes after I logging in back. And same with the first instance, power restored after 2 to 3 seconds. It's just like a blink and a finger snap interval. I asked my husband to unplug our refrigerator cause it might get damaged by the current surge.

Same thing happened with our router. It was having a hard time to establish internet connection. This time, I've sent notification to my colleagues and my Boss via whatsapp while doing a repeated reboot of our router till it successfully established internet connection. I've informed them again as soon as I have managed to login back.

But then after few minutes, another power interruption occurred. Power immediately restored after few seconds again. That's almost 12 noon already. So I decided to grab lunch first while waiting for our router to work by itself. Right after my lunch, I tried the repeated reboot once again till it works.

However, in just less than 10 minutes after our router was fixed, another power interruption happened. This time, the interval before the power restoration is longer, it took about 10 minutes. So while waiting for the power to come back, I sent message again to my colleagues and my Boss informing them of the power interruptions I am experiencing at that moment. My Boss replied which serves as his acknowledgement of my situation. I have a very considerate Boss and he's one of the reason why I see my current job as my "for good job".

As soon as the power has been restored, I manually unplugged the router and waited for about a minute before plugging it back. This time, the unplug trick dis not worked. So I tried the repeated reboot until the router was able to establish internet connection.

However, while I am in the process or rebooting our router, another power interruption happened. That was around 01:20'ish PM already (7th power blink as per my counting) and my shift is till 3:00PM only. But this time, it was not restored back immediately unlike the previous instances. So I am not able to login back for work.

In summary, the only work related thing that I am able to accomplish is the Ready for Business checks which normally take 10 to 15 minutes to complete. That means my productivity today is just 15 minutes of my supposedly 8 hours on shift.

Finally, power is back at around 8:40 PM earlier. Just in time cause I am almost done and about to publish this one but my mobile data is so unstable that I cannot upload a photo even in noise.cash.

That concludes my article for today.


Many thanks guys for patiently reading my today's struggles. I wanted to take this opportunity to send gratitude to my sponsors. Thank you for trusting me.

Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty

INDEX:

This article has been scanned via grammarly.com

8
$ 2.56
$ 2.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.03 from @Pachuchay
+ 2
Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Topics: Randomarticle

Comments

Nakakastress po yung ganyan lalo na pag may trabaho ka tapos bigla nalang nawawala.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naku sinabi mo pa sis. Stress na stress ako kahapon kakareboot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakainis yung ganyan lalo na pag nagmamadali ka dahil kailangan sa work

$ 0.00
2 years ago

buti na nga lang sis wala akong urgent kahapon :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa lahat ng interruptions, ito ang isa talaga sa mga nakakainis lalong-lalo na sa panahong kailangan mo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

true sis!..kung may pera lang ako bibili ako ng generator eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

pera na lang talaga ang kulang. anyways God bless you po especially sa work 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahaha...korek..thank you sis. God Bless you too po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang power interruption ay isa din sa kinaiinisan ko minsan, lalo na kapag kailangang kailangan. Maraming trabaho minsan ang naaapektuhan nito.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

kaya nga po..at hindi lang once yung power interruption kahapon. Ang dami sis, Kaya nga parang wala na akong ginawa buong shift ko kundi magreboot nalang ng magreboot ng router.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hayyys hirap po talaga pag may power interruption non... Pahamak Yan e... Hirap din ako magpost kahapon

$ 0.01
2 years ago

korek po, hindi makapag upload ng pics

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku nakakabweset yun ganyan, saka nakakasira ng gamit yun on and off. Mas mabuti pa na di na lang muna nila i on kapag masama ang panahon..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ayun nga sabi ko sa husband ko sis. mas mabuti pa na yung dire diretsong walang power kesa ganun na multiple power blinks...Kawawa ang Ref at iba pang appliances.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pati bills nyo nyan tataas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isa pa yun sis. hayyss...pasaway tong meralco eh. Sana pinatay nalang agad kesa patay sindi..parang christmas light. Seconds lang pa naman ang pagitan..as in parang isang kurap lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago