My Home Remedy Kit! What's on your List?

33 33
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Topics: Randomarticle

Are you also a fan of Home Remedies?

Yes I do!.

Before we go through my list of home remedies, let us first check what does the word "home remedy" means.

According to Merriam-Webster dictionary, home remedy means "a medicine made with ingredients available at home".

Another definition from the same site is "a simply prepared medication or tonic often of unproven effectiveness administered without prescription or professional supervision".

It's been my habit every time my kids or my husband complaints of any discomfort, I do a research and apply different home remedies before finally going to the doctor if there are no improvements at all.

Let me just list some Home Remedies I have, or I've been applying.

Lemon Grass

My lemon grass in my little garden

Since my husband has history of high blood pressure, I always make sure that I have this plant available in our backyard.

Whenever he felt headache (which is one symptom of having high blood pressure), he will immediately get the digital device we used to check his blood pressure and as soon as the result is greater than or equal 140/100, he will immediately go to the backyard and pick some lemon grass. He boils it with 2 glasses of water and make it as his tea.

Lemon grass has been effective to my husband. It is well tested and proven to be working to high blood pressure.

Garlic

Own Photo : I took this a while ago from our kitchen

This Another first aid for high blood pressure. I usually prepare my husband 5 raw garlic cloves and dip it to little vinegar and give it to him as his extra viand whenever he felt the symptoms of having high blood pressure.

Another use of garlic to us is for toothache. I used to place it inside the whole of aching tooth to lessen the inflammation and pain.

Warm water with rock salt

Own Photo

This is my another home remedy I used for toothache. Whenever I am suffering with tooth ache, I just gargle warm water with a pinch of rock salt.

It helps lessen the pain, and you can also feel a bit of numbness in your gums.

Baby Oil / Eficascent Oil

I always make sure this is always available at home.

When my youngest is still a baby, and he is becoming colicky, I used to massage his tummy with baby oil. I am not a fan of aciete manzanilla as I've read some article previously that it can harm baby's internal organs.

I always perform the "I Love You" massage which is effective to him and help him to pass some gas.

For those who are curious what and how this I Love You massage is being done, here's a video tutorial from YouTube.

Now that he is already a toddler, I still do this "I love you" massage to him whenever he complained about achy tummy, but I am already using eficascent oil because he can bear the menthol effect of he said oil already.

Ginger

Photo took from our kitchen

Since I have GERD (Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease), ginger has always been my first aid whenever this sickness attacks me.

I just chop medium size ginger and boil it into a cup of water, and then drink it as a tea. It helps sooth the stomach pain caused by the acid. It also helps me pass some gas afterwards.

Calamansi

Own photo took from the kitchen

This is helpful every time one of my family member has cold. I usually squeeze 5 to 10 pcs of calamansi fruit (depending on the size of the fruit) in a glass of lukewarm water. Then add 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of sugar for it to taste like a juice.

I used to prepare my kids a glass of calamansi juice whenever I have stock calamansi in the kitchen cause sometimes, it's also out of stock.

Oregano

Oregano - from my little garden

I always have this in my little garden.

This is my partner every time my kids has cold. I will just put 3 pcs of oregano leaves in a hot water and then squeeze it in a spoon, add it with a little bit of sugar to fight the bitter taste and then give it to my kids who have cold.

Serpentina

Serpentina - I took this photo from my little garden

My husband also drink this as his tea for his high blood pressure aside from the lemon grass. He just put in 5 pcs leaves in a glass of hot water. Wait for about 5 to 10 minutes before drinking it. He said, it has a very bitter taste.

My father who is also a diabetic use to drink serpentina as his morning and afternoon tea because he believed this has some good effect on his blood sugar.

How about you? What's your home remedy list and to what ailment do you normally use them?

Many thanks for spending some time and effort reading my article.

Lead Image Source: Own Photo

12
$ 3.56
$ 3.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @HattyHats
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 2
Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Topics: Randomarticle

Comments

Freshly squeezed calamansi if my throat starts to get itchy. Then calamansi juice for colds. I didn't know about the lemongrass. Maybe my parents should also try drinking that as they have hypertension and are taking maintenance medicines for more than a decade I think.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah lemon grass is effective in regulating blood pressure. It's effective so far in my husband

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have oregano din saka efficascent. Kakamassage ko nga lang Kay anak kanina

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Apir mommy.. Hehe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Puro ganyann po ang meron kami hahaha. Dati po nainom kami tawa-tawa po, ngayonn serpentina namann ang pait po sobra ehhh. Pero effective po lahatt ng yan. Mas gusto ko natural treatment than medicine capsule

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganun din kami dito sa bahay brod.. Fan kami ng herbal plants.. Bago kami pupunta sa doctor pag di umepekto ang herbal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ano symptoms ng GERD sis?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yung saken sis stomach cramps.. Sa may sikmira banda, sa may tiyan sa ibaba mismo ng center ng ribs.. Parang naninigas sya na pinipilipit.. Akala ko nung una kabag lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku parang ang sakit nga nyan..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobra sis.. Halos di ako makahinga sa sakit pag sumusumpong

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! My mom has all of them! She also has sambong, blue tea, and malunggay planted in our frontyard.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have malunggay in our frontyard as well but i mostly cook it.. Oh by the way when my sister experienced tooth ache, she use malunggay roots.. I just don't know how to do it..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have serpentina sis, wala kaming space for planting kaya sa paso lang, maganda rin sya for colds and cough, mas mabisa pa nga sa antibiotic pero sobrang pait lang. Pero at least itโ€™s much cheaper than buying antibiotic.๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Marami pala talagang benefits ang serpentina? Ang alam ko lang na gamot sa sipon eh oregano kasi..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, mabisa din sya para sa may mga asthma, proven effected yan. Si father in law 74 na pero strong pa rin dahil sa serpentina lang iniinom nya pag msama pakiramdam nya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Si father ko din sis.. Yan ang pinaka kape nya sa umaga saka sa hapon..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

effective naman talaga ang mga herbal, nauso kasi ang synthetic na gamot kaya nadivert ang tao doon, pero dati naman mahahaba buhay ng tao kahit puro dahon dahon lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama ka jan sis.. Mas mahahaba nga ang life span ng mga tao dati

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lemon, ginger, lemon grass and oregano for cough. I mix lemon and ginger in a cup of warm water.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Uy wow.. I'll take note of this..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a great article. I am always looking for home remedies. I appreciate the share. I can not think of any personal ones off the top of my head but I will have to start writing these down and one day is able to share them as you have. Appreciate the share and great read.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thanks for the compliment. It's based on my own experiences hence thought of sharing it here :)..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung serpentina diko pa natatry, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naku sis, sobrang pa-it daw sabi ng asawa ko ...at ayaw kong itry din..Pero madami akong tanim nyan kasi nga gamot sa HighBlood saka Diabetes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

onga daw, sis! baka diko kayanin hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahaha....sa lemon grass nalang tayo...para lang humigigop ng sabaw ng manok :)..mabango pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true, sis. ginger at calamansi ok din sakin, sis hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

same sis..gustong gusto ko yung guhit na init ng ginger pag umiinom ako nyan...effective sa GERD ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahaha....sa lemon grass nalang tayo...para lang humigigop ng sabaw ng manok :)..mabango pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was wondering if you know any home remedy for pimples by the way!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ahaha..during my teenage days, this is one of my MAJOR problem. Very very major problem. I used to apply egg white, toothpaste, and I even used ice (to lessen the inflammation).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much!! I will try that now I mean for a friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see...I thought to you :)..I've got a lot of acne during my teenage days as well. And I can relate how painful and annoying they are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago