Afraid in Public Speaking? Try ToastMasters!

8 34
Avatar for Khairro
2 years ago

I am browsing for today's topic to write when I accidentally remembered the 'Toastmasters questions' that I watched on Tiktok wherein it was answered by Ayn Bernos, an influencer on the said social media platform. For those people who don't know what Toastmasters is, this is the definition...

What is Toastmasters?

Toastmasters International (TI) is a nonprofit educational organization that operates clubs worldwide for the purpose of helping members improve their communication, public speaking, and leadership skills. Through its thousands of member clubs, Toastmasters International offers a program of communication and leadership projects designed to help people learn the arts of speaking, listening, and thinking.

ToastMasters goal is to improve peoples communication, self-esteem/confidence and leadership skills. This is a great opportunity for those people who are shy and not used to public speaking. It creates a better listeners and stronger team members and leaders who can comfortably give and receive constructive evaluations.

Here is the sample video of Ayn Bernos, who are answering question on their Toastmasters meeting for the day. It will give you an overview on how ToastMasters works.

Click this link to be redirected on TikTok

There are ToastMasters club here in the Philippines. Metro Manila Toastmasters Club (MMTMC) is a non-profit educational organization dedicated to turn your "fear" of public speaking, into the "fun" of public speaking. They have also a Facebook page and LinkedIn account so if you want to check them out feel free to do so.

Benefits of Joining ToastMasters

  • Help you lose the fear in public speaking

I, myself is not that confident when speaking publicly. I can do reports, and explanations but speaking in a massive crowd is not my thing. Through ToastMasters, it can develop your skills in speaking, listening as well as boost your self-confidence.

  • Boost self confidence and self-esteem

  • Develop you to be a good speaker and listener

  • Build your leadership skills

How Toastmasters Works?

At Toastmasters, members learn by speaking to groups and working with others in a supportive environment. A typical Toastmasters club is made up of 20 to 30 people who meet once a week for approximately an hour. Each meeting gives members several opportunities:

Conduct meetings

Members learn how to plan and conduct meetings.

Give impromptu speeches

Members present one-to two-minute, impromptu speeches about assigned topics. This will help them to think fast and critically making them prepared from time pressure.

Present prepared speeches

Members present speeches based on projects from Toastmasters’ communication and leadership program. Projects cover topics such as speech organization, vocal variety, language, gestures and persuasion.

Offer constructive evaluation

Every speaker is assigned an evaluator who points out speech strengths and offers suggestions for improvement. Once you are done with your speech, they will assess your answer to their questions. They will give you an honest feedbacks towards your answer.

You have now a basic knowledge about ToastMasters! Congratulations! This can help you to improve your skills in speaking and listening. It can also help you to make articles in this platform by answering questions and sharing your opinions by writing.


Article No.38 (October 12,2021)

Accounts

Previous Articles

9
$ 6.07
$ 5.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 6
Sponsors of Khairro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khairro
2 years ago

Comments

There are those who are born to speak and we can learn from them :) I didn't know we have this club here in our country but it's great for this will surely help others regarding their speaking skills.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eyy, Thanks for this article. Public speaking is one of my weakness and I really need to practice and develop it. Toastmasters will surely help with this problem. I'll find time to check them. I wanted to invest in myself 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ugggh one of my fears. Public speaking really is not my thing but i want to get out of my comfort zone jud. My confidence level is just too poor. Good thing i came across to this article, i was able to what's Toastmasters. ❤❤❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din di ako ganon kagaling magsalita in public kaya hanggang sulat lang ako sa mga opinions ko na gusto kong sabihin. Siguro ichecheck ko to mamaya sa fb.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, pwd sana to sakin akso di pa ako ready na humarap sa maraminh tao. Parang ang easy lang kasi if iisipin pero pag nasa harap kana. Tagaktak na ang pawis pati kili kili umiiyak na huehue. Maganda to soon sa gusto talagang maalis ang shyness nila or if ever may phobia sila no.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Take time po to ready yourself, I know na it's not that easy but I would suggest to start building your self-confidence right now. You know po? I am trying to fight my shyness towards other people and my social anxiety kasi I know na kapag naovercome ko to, ako rin naman yung magbebenefit. If I take risks and get out on my comfort zone, I know for a fact that I will improve.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Speaking in a massive or in public makes my voice chills hehe, I really can't do that though my thought is ready but I can't rely to my voice to cooperate. Seems it is not my thing to be a speaker🥴

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think all you need to do is to practice yourself, relax, and focus on what is on your mind. Well I didn't know your situation but I believe that you can improve yourself! Remember that we should take risk sometimes and get out on our comfort zones 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago