So Stupid, It's Good

Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

4 September 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

Written on 1 September 2021

Let's start the month off by writing something light. As much as we (but I'm excluded) love horror movies, we love a good comedy more (I'm 110% on this side of the fence).

Needle in the Haystack

A really good comedy is very hard to come by nowadays. It seems that people in general and writers, in particular, have lost their sense of humor. The sad fact is that there is nothing new under the sun. If this is the case, then pessimistically speaking, things only can go downhill from here or maybe it has since the dawn of mankind. Oh, it has! Blame it on the snake and the apple.

I said all that to say this - it is getting harder and harder to find comedies that make me laugh. It could be that there are no longer funny or that I've grown more cynical with age. Or it could be both. Deeply inside, I long to laugh like crazy. The kind of laughter that after you stopped, others may have mistaken you for being sad. Yes, the tears wiping type of laughter. The ROFL, LMAO & ROFLMAO kinds.

The last such movie that had a scene that did that to me was a 2004 Chinese action-comedy movie called Kung Fu Hussle. Trust me, you don't need to understand the dialect to ROFLMAO. That's comedy in its truest form. It transforms language. It is funny without needing any explanations. It is universal.

Incidentally, the Hatchet Gang in the move was a referral to a historical gang that was birthed out of Manhattan's Chinatown many years back in an alley called the Bloody Angle or Murder Alley (supposedly the deadliest street in American history). I was fortunate enough to own a couple of virtual properties at that spot in the Upland Metaverse.

If you have never watched this movie, I highly recommend that you do.

One scene from this movie had left a deep impression on my mind. It was a scene where the main actor was chased by the landlady. That scene had gotten me laughing until tears couldn't stop flowing. If you have a few others watching with you and laughing, the effect is compounded! If you watch it and you love the Looney Tunes (@tvlachak - we had just chatted about this!), you'll know why it's so funny.

If you could understand the language or have subtitles, then you are in for a really enjoyable treat. Funny action sequences and witty dialogues - the perfect comedy, in my book.

Not a Needle but still good

Yesterday I came across a movie by accident while doing some research on the internet. The search was somewhere along the line of "Blockbusters that bombed in the box office".

One of the results that came out was a 1999 movie called Mystery Men. The moment I saw that it starred Ben Stiller, I put a mental note to my movie to watch list. I'd noised about it here - https://noise.cash/post/x9mjw62aq367.

I catch up on the news daily but watching the news daily is like watching horror clips on a daily basis. I've had enough and wanted something to keep my mind on the ridiculous. In a strange way...

Watching the insane keeps me sane

It was because of this that the intent to watch the Mystery Men had stuck on my mind and naturally came nighttime, it was the movie to watch.

The storyline was something that you'd see in a comic book. That wasn't a surprise seeing that the movie was based loosely on the Flaming Carrot comics.

This wasn't a slapstick kind of movie. It's very different from the Kung Fu Hustle. It's the cheesy dialogue that did the trick for me. The ridiculous dialogues made me laugh. Yeah, it's that ridiculous. So bad, it's actually good.

If you have not watched this movie, you may want to skip the following segment because the following segment contains...

Spoilers

<Beginning of Spoiler Alert segment>

For one, the city (named Champion City) has an amazing superhero called - Captain Amazing. He's so amazing that there were no villains for him to bust! And due to this lack of 'appearance' he'd lost his Pepsi Cola endorsement!

What I found funny were the dialogues as I'd mentioned earlier. Here are some samples of dialogues from a few of the superheroes you'll encounter:

Invisible Boy: I can only become invisible when no one's watching.

Spleen: Pull my finger

The Sphinx, the supposedly elected team leader of the gang has the most cheesy lines:

  • To learn my teachings..I must first teach you how to learn.

  • Learn to hide your strikes from your opponent...and you'll more easily strike his hide.

  • He who questions training only trains himself at asking questions.

I mean, he has tons of such dialogues.

<End of Spoiler Alert segment>

The movie wasn't great. It was a box-office disaster making only around $33.5 million out of a budget of $68 million (source: Wikipedia). Beggars can't be choosers. Nevertheless, I did somewhat enjoyed that and it did get a few chuckles out of me.

The search continues

I'm constantly looking for ROFLMA type of comedy movies. If you know of some, do share with me in the comment section below. Language is not an issue. I've found that some of the funniest movies I've watched were foreign movies.

After writing this article, I'd proceeded to start a channel in noise.cash to collect recommendations of ROFLMA type of comedy movies from readers. I hope to get some good recommendations there. In fact, I'm looking forward to foreign movie recommendations or little know funny movies. Hope to get a few to watch over the weekend.

If you know of any such movies, please do recommend them on the Comedy Movies Channel. Thank you.

Let it be a #BetterSeptember and a laughter filled one too.

Sources:

Photo by Michal Matlon on Unsplash

All other images linked directly to respective source

All Rights Reserved ©2021 UplandDood | #ClubBrokeBCH

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

13
$ 6.01
$ 5.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 8
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Blame it on the snake and the apple.

ahaha my brain was on auto complete.. when you said "snake".. my brain goes.. "..and ladders" .. i had a moment of confusion when I read "and the apple" ... I was thinking .. what's that board game? gosh!!!

True it is hard find movies that can make us laugh hard. Ice age made me laugh though.. I think people have been very too engrossed with drama and love stories lately I seem to see them more than comedy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nah, no ladders. hahahaha...yeah, very hard to come across new truly funny materials nowadays. It's a lost art. People are getting too serious.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gosh, you are SO right when you say a good comedy that makes you laugh is hard to come by. That's partly because Hollywood is in a slump right now. They are lacking creativity. They really don't know WHAT is funny anymore. They are too interested in quick jabs and one liners to take the time to understand that silliness and situations are what make people laugh the most.

Some of the funniest movies in my lifetime that I can recall, and some are so stupid they are funny, include the following for me.

AIRPLANE, THE NAKED GUN (all of them), THE PINK PANTHER series with Peter Sellers, THE MONEY PIT, THE NUTTY PROFESSOR with Jerry Lewis, YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN, BLAZING SADDLES.

There are others, but they are few and far between. Needless to say as well, none of these are new. And I will only add a few very funny television sitcoms that were VERY funny.

THE CAROL BURNETT SHOW, THE THREE STOOGES MONTY PYTHON, ALL IN THE FAMILY, THE JEFFERSONS, SEINFELD, NIGHT COURT, CHEERS.

Comedy and true "funny" is sort of a lost art these days in my opinion.

As for horror, I am a huge fan of that too. And I can only say even in this area, the number of new horror flicks or shows I could mention is VERY few and far between. I just think people in Hollywood have lost a sense of rawness which made both horror and comedy good.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

All those movies you have listed above are pure classics. that reminds me, I'll need to dig some up to watch.

I've enjoyed the Monty Python movies. I'll check out the Three Stooges one you mentioned above. Never heard of it.

You are right, Hollywood has lost the 'funny' art. We make do by going back to old funny movies for now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I only rely on short vids in soc med for laughs right now. Friends series and the outtakes used to be my go-to when I wanted to have some laugh. I think I am dead inside for only a few movies make me laugh.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Have you watched Kung Fu Hussle? If not, go watch it. Someone had mentioned that it's available in dubbed version on Neflix.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Comedies nowadays don't make you laugh like they used to. The humor is no longer so fine. I haven't seen the ones you mention and I write them down.

One comedy, of the type ROFLMA, is a Spanish movie called 8 Apellidos vascos, Spanish Affaire 1 is the name in English. However, I warn you that it has some regional jokes that could go unnoticed by those who don't know Spanish culture.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

If you haven't seen Kung Fu Hussle, you have to. I believe it's available on Neflix in dubbed version. You are in for a great treat. Be prepared to ROFLMA!

I will check the one you have recommended. Thanks.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you! I'll be sure to see Kung Fu Hussle :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Do share what you thought aftetr watching it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's been a long time since I watched funny and hilarious movies.. Haha.. Watching insane movies will really turn you insane as well. Even the thriller and mind-gazing movies...they will make you think about the twist and plots..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

When we laugh out loud, there must be chemical reactions in our bodies. We feel much better after that. Almost similar to after a good cry. I always seeking that next-level crazy movie to watch. Kung Fu Hussle was one of the best so far. Hard to beat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I skipped the spoiler part but my eyes cant resist those cheesy lines LOL.

Anyway, there's an English dubbed version of Kung Fu Hustle in Netflix. The chasing scene was also our favorite. Dang, it was really hilarious. There's also a movie titled Shaolin Soccer. It has the same level of comedy with Kung Fu Hustle.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, I've also watched Shalin Soccer. Almost as funny but Kung Fu Hussle still beats it hands down. Language shouldn't be a deterrent to enjoying a good comedy. Having dubbed versions or with subtitles obviously would be much better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Hatchet Gang! Hahahahah, that funny scene you mentioned above just flashback in my mind haha, I can't imagine how hard I laughed those times. There are no subtitles needed, their actions and expressions say it all. 🤣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, the first time I saw that, I'd laughed so hard, I couldn't stop the tears! LOL. It's simply the best comedic scene I've ever watched.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that is true haha, it's the best comedic scene.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember the Kung Fu hustle and I can say that this movie is actually a good yet a funny one haha. But it seems that I've never heard about the other movies ,maybe I'll gonna check that later.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The other was okay. It's a so-so movie. Good enough to pass time. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have seen Kungfu hustle and I must say it's still one of the most funny movies seen till date. I think I'm gonna have to download again. Recently movies are just towards the action sides but no comedy to the standard.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Kung Fu Hussle is in my top 10 funny movies. It's at the top. Haven't found one funnier than it to date. I should rewatch it again. Need to wind up my laughter-o-meter! Bwahahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have you watched This Is The End? It's an apocalyptic movie with comedy actors playing as themselves. Despite the problematic issues that came out about James Franco, this remains as one of my favorite comedy movies.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh, I have not! Awesome. I'm gonna note this down for a possible weekend watch. Thank you! I do encourage you to share in the Comedy Movies Channel (just clicked on the link to take you there) mentioned above so that we have a record and others can find it. Thanks. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True enough, when we watch insane movies we pat our back and say, im still in my right mind hahaha😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm glad we're all still in our right minds! LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess you're way older than me, I haven't watched those movies during their release. I feel like comedic films are better expressed in acting rather than the dialogues.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are right. It is not easy to act in such a way that one can draw uncontrollable laughter from the audience. Few have succeeded. If you haven't watched Kung Fu Hussle, you have to. I can assure you a laugh-a-minute movie.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will try that for tomorrow, sounds perfect for free time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago