Don't let too much of a good thing prevent you from making it better!

3 71
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

30 September 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

I'd started writing this quite a while back. I don't remember when. It was that long. For unknown reasons, I'd stopped, and today, as I was looking through my list of unfinished articles, and with all that's been happening recently, I thought this would be a good time to pick it back up and gave it a proper finishing. Let's go...

The enemy of what's best is what's good. Even if it's very good, it's still not the best. I may be close. Until it is the uncontested best, then it's still just good or very good.

To be Best, via To be Better

What does this mean?

It all depends on how you handle the good. Put another way, if handled incorrectly, too much of a good thing can be detrimental to your journey in achieving the best. You get stuck at being good. Satisfied and comfortable. Forget about being the best, even being better was not in the picture.

You may be wondering what has gotten into me, right? Why am I even thinking about this?

Don't just ask Why. Ask What If?

It's how my brain works. Sometimes, I reflect and think about current events in my life. Ask "why" but I think it's also important to ask "what if?"

This was what triggered this thought.

I have been spending a lot of time on both the Read.Cash and Noise.Cash platform. It has been very good to me and my August result is proof of that.

In my opinion, that was really good. But is there all there is to it?

The clear answer is a resounding - NO.

#BetterSeptember

Earlier this month, I'd posted my goals and a self-challenge. With the goals and self-challenge set, I ventured into September without an inkling what she would present me with. Today's the last day of September. I do see a clearer direction and am ready to make the changes. I can feel the wind blowing. If I don't adjust my sail, my ship may end up in the wrong place. In short, my ship may never come in.

The Wind

This wind had started blowing earlier than August. But it was in September that I have felt that it has gotten stronger and I believe with all my heart that it will only get stronger in the months to come. What wind is this? It's the smartBCH sidechain.

I am very excited about the opportunities presented here. BCH is like the wheel with many already using it to go places. But without an engine to drive it, it can only go so far and at reduced speed. smartBCH is the engine and it comes with better wheels. It is the engine that sits on top of these wheels that has the potential to drive it to more places at a faster pace.

I want to be a part of this revolution. It is not often that such opportunity presents itself.

The Sail

The wind is blowing. It is up to me to decide how to make the best use of it. Now is the time to re-adjust the sail to ride this wind. September has been that kind of a month for me. I have started observing and picking up more details and information relating to smartBCH.

A big portion of this month was spent on learning, and also on prospecting. Prospecting was part of the learning process for me. That was why I had written the Prospector article two days ago. Prospecting takes time. Learning takes time. Getting ready to set sail takes time. And setting sail is not an easy task. Until that sail has been hoisted and set correctly, the ship is not going in the intended direction. This is a critical step.

To set the sail, it's all hands on deck. I have to get involved to get a feel of the wind direction, velocity, and hazards in its path. I need to know my ship's limitations. I need to know my skill set. I need to know who I need to get on board to make this a trip of a lifetime. Trust is of the essence here. Trust in smartBCH. Trust in the ship, and trust in shipmates. That's a lot on the plate.

The Scale

Life is about balance. Tilt too much in one direction and we may go off the deep end.

To understand what I mean, we get back to the title of this article - Don't let too much of a good thing prevent you from making it better!

What does that mean? Since getting restarted in Read.Cash and Noise.Cash in late June, it has been a heck of a ride. It has been a good ride. A very good ride. I want to make it into a better ride. I can't achieve that if I kept on doing what I have been doing, and that is to keep up with my writing schedule.

I know for a fact that if I kept it up, I would do a mediocre job at both. I won't do great at Read.Cash/Noise.Cash and I won't do great at my smartBCH plans.

As it is, for the last two months, I have published an article a day, except on Sundays. It has been consistent and not a single day was missed. Today would be the seal to that commitment. Starting next month, i.e. from tomorrow onwards, I will reduce the frequency of my writing and publication. I will likely end up writing more about my smartBCH experience and journey and hopefully, that will help others set their sails on their journeys too.

To be Better, and on the way to be Best

I believe by scaling back on my writing, I would be able to write better and have articles that can be more helpful to others. That does not mean that occasionally I'll publish something goofy and off the top of my head. It is still one of my avenues to have some fun and to release steam at the same time.

This will also allow me to be better at pursuing my smartBCH direction and goals.

I have a rough idea of what the balance would look like and I will write them down to share after my September report.

Thus far, it has been a #BetterSeptember. Today is the last day. Let's make it count! Thank you for reading, and do stay safe.

Sources:

Header Image by Niklas Ohlrogge on Unsplash

In article image by cocoparisienne from Pixabay 

All other sources are attributed in the article after the respective quote and image.

All Rights Reserved ©2021 UplandDood | #ClubBrokeBCH

Thank you again for dropping by. Let's have fun learning together. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

4
$ 3.41
$ 3.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
$ 0.02 from @Ayane-chan
+ 1
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

I never consider 'goals' much when it comes to my online activities that pay. Often times I tell myself I should. But then I also focus a lot of my attention on other goals, but still goals that are money related. That is, what I invest in the stock market and crypto and what I intend my desired and achievable ROI to be. Money makes money, so the more I can put to that the more I make ultimately.

That's my ship. The goals around that are my sails. To my mind places like noise and read are simply outlets to add a bit extra to all of it. Perhaps the only thing I do do is ramp up my 'productivity' a bit on both sites when BCH is a bit in the dumper, because I know that every penny I earn when BCH is down will potentially be worth far more when it goes back up.

No matter what my direction, there are days when I think I spend far more time that I probably should doing these things. But hey, there's a payoff I suspect, and I want to be able to contribute to that payoff to the best of my ability to do so.

I SHOULD be looking more into smartBCH, but it continues to elude me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't let too much of a good thing prevent you from making it better? I totally agree! There is always room for improvement. Besides, it's not a good thing to become complacent and reach a point where you think that it's going to smooth sailing the rest of the way. Life is just not that way. I'm not sure but I kind of like life's unpredictability and the fact that I am not perfect. It keeps me going!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You're right. Change keeps us on our toes and our minds sharp. I'm looking forward to this October. Gonna be a great one! :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago