My Axie Alternative: Let's Go!

36 81
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

10 September 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

Written on 9 September 2021

The blockchain game world is filled with many games but not many are good enough to be under my radar for a few reasons.

Why I don't play certain games

I'll list a few of my reasons:

  1. It's not a game I'd play

    If it's not a game that I'd play, it means two things.

    • One is that I'm the odd one out. I'm the only one that doesn't think it's worth my time playing. In which case, it may still be a successful game that many others find it fun to play.

    • The other is that it is indeed a badly designed game and would not survive in the long term. If it's not an engaging and fun game, who would want to play it? It will die a natural death.

  2. It's too complicated to figure out.

    • If it needs a rocket science degree to figure out how to play it, then it's not for me. I don't need another degree. I just want to play a game.

  3. It's not a Play-to-Earn

    • This is the buzzword nowadays. I mean, the pandemics have made us to be more resilient. Many are looking towards the cyberspace to eek out a living or at least to help cover some expenses. Though it's nice to spend lots of time playing a game, if it isn't giving some returns, then what's the point?

  4. High barriers to entry

    • It costs too much to start the game. This is subjective. Each of us has a different threshold as to what is too expensive to get into a game. Some may only want to get in if it's free. While others may think that a few hundred bucks may be acceptable. Case in point - getting into Axie Infinity when it was at that rate or cheaper. Now it costs at least $1000 to start.

The above are just a few points. There are many more such as is the game too new? Too few players are playing now, it may not take off, etc, etc. However, it is exactly these reasons that opportunities await. These are the risks one evaluates and takes.

Take for example the total current players. If it's low, obviously there is the risk that the game does not have the volume to make it feasible to continue developing. Although we must not forget that if the game was designed well and fun enough to keep the current volume of players engaged, its popularity will spread by word of mouth.

More players joining causing more word-of-mouth advertising for the game and pretty soon it goes viral. All of a sudden, an explosive growth for the game. By that time, the cost for entry may be higher than before it went viral.

Why do I play certain games?

Without going into details, it's pretty much the opposite of the above.

  • It's a game I enjoy playing

  • Simple to figure out even reading thick manuals

  • I get to earn cryptocurrency (or something of monetary value) in the game

  • Affordable to start playing

My Choice

A reason that has me started looking for a new game was my self-reminder that game-based NFTs can shoot up in value very fast as mentioned in my "2700% profit in 6 months! Only possible in the Blockchain World." article. This is not surprising seeing that an Axie costs between $5-$10 not that long ago. It now costs between $300 - $400 each and three Axies are needed to start playing!

In my "The Blockchain Roller Coaster Ride" article published on 9 September, I'd mentioned two games that I'd started recently. I will share with you one of them in this article.

This new game that I'd started playing on 5 September 2021 is MyDefiPet. Aside from all the reasons mentioned above why I play certain games, the one thing that had gotten my attention was that it's regarded as the Axie Infinity alternative.

I did a little research on the hype and found out that according to the game's Tweet on 14 July 2021, it has sold more than 1 million eggs with over 100,000 holders.

In my opinion, those are impressive figures considering that the game was launched only a few months back in May 2021. The game token, $DPET had hit an ATH of $9.92 on 26 July 2021 according to the coingecko site record. It has retracted and as at the time of this article, the price hovers around the $4.45 mark.

Unlike Axie Infinity, you only need 1 DefiPet to start playing. I've been playing this game since 5 September. It does take some grinding to grow your pet. I'm going through the motion in the hope that sometime in the future, this pet will be worth something.

You will need 3 $DPET to buy an egg to get started. If this interests you, I suggest you google and find out what else is needed to get started.

I have done some screenshots of my starting journey and do plan on sharing that journey with you in another post.

Parting Thoughts

Is this a game that's right for you? I can't answer that for you. You will need to Do Your Own Research and do note that this is Not Financial Advice. I'm sharing with you my rationale for starting this game. Thus far, I am enjoying the game though I need to do the daily grind. I'm hoping that the time spent to grow these pets will be of value in the future.

I've always wanted to start playing Axie Infinity but the cost to start is prohibitive so I'm happy that I've found an alternative. And I'm banking on it being the next Axie Infinity in terms of its growth. If not, I'm happy with a game that I enjoy playing.

Thank you for reading. Let's continue to have a #BetterSeptember

Sources:

Header Image from MyDefiPet.com site.

All Rights Reserved ©2021 UplandDood | #ClubBrokeBCH

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

16
$ 9.00
$ 8.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

I wish I was more into games, especially keeping in mind some of the play to earn ones. But it is just not my thing.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Games wouldn't be games if forced. :-) If you're into collecting, maybe NFTs would be something to research more on. And some of these are related to games though you do not necessarily have to play.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Collecting has never been my thing either. lol. Well, except for collecting money. I do like collecting that. Maybe NFTs would SORT of be like collecting money? lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I make money NFTs would you collect them? LOL. I once saw a collection of NFT money commemorating Weed! LOL. I think I may have a couple. Not sure if the project is still alive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting, since Axie is out of my possibilities. I'll check it out ;)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I've been playing this on a daily basis. Mostly grinding until the time where the game opens up more functions. hahaha...maybe the value would be in the grinding part for now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I've been hearing about axie but like you say, the entry is not easy. It requires huge capital which I don't have yet.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes. And that's why I'm playing this new game.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Before, I play any games that is famous and hot. I played it with my friends classmates and even with strangers, but now I don't feel like playing games anymore. I think I'm retired on it lol. But when money is involve maybe I'll change mind

$ 0.03
2 years ago

If you have a group of friends to play with, that's great. Not all games can earn money but some can. If you're still interested to play games, then I suggest you do some research before starting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

looks like I'm gonna check this out :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, do it! something to get your mind off. Let me know if you need help. I'll forward you links that had been helpful for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yep... will disturb you in twitter if ever

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am still learning on the online games , basically I am not fond of playing mobile games but maybe I'll venture on this..gonna need some studying and research first

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, it is advisable to do some research first. That's what I had done before I decided on playing this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i opted to do so..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am excited for when Splinterlands releases their new card sets this month or next month, it will give new players opportunity to build their decks. It's crazy how one of the legendary cards cost $50 then went up to $1200 haha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is crazy. Just another ordinary day in the blockchain world! hahahah...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also invested on this game. If you have saw their presentation, they are planning to include some augmented reality on the game, like on the Pokemon Go. This is a great game and I am looking forward in it :))

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I thought I saw that AR write-up somewhere. I need to check back their roadmap again. I think if they are able to fulfill their vision, this will be big.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wanna try this axie but I am still thinking about it tho.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'd not played Axie but I think this should come close. That's why I've decided to play it for the long term. Axie is too expensive and this is a cheaper alternative. I hope that it will attract those looking into playing Axie but decided on this due to cost factor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im considering this one too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you do ... Good luck :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good luck with the game! I have yet to try a game that will work for me too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I prefer slower games. Don't need to heart-attack associated with fast ones. LOL. Any idea what types you prefer?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol! Me too and I like games that I can keep up :D :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, then you may like MyDefiPet. It's a slow game. I'm grinding on a daily basis now. LOL.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good for you :D :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What about splinterlands? You should try too

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Almost did a while back but I don't like the spells and the demons so decided not to. I do have a couple of lands though. Just keeping.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have also NFT game called Dragonary, it has also lots of potential and as of now they are giving free 3 dragons for newbies, I'm happy to have uncommon account, their tokens are CYT dragonary token with the value of $0.20 as the market dips, the game released a month ago and they are developing other features of it, I'm excited on PVP and other games that they have.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This sounds interesting. Have you written an article about it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah I've already made an article about it, titled Welcome to Dragonary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! Great. I'll go check that out!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks. I'll check that out too. LOL. As if I have lots of time. Hahahah...but can't help it. I heading there now. Do you have the link where they are giving away free dragons for newbies?

$ 0.00
2 years ago