Who cares for Christmas trees after Christmas?

2 15
Avatar for Junva31996
2 years ago

It was nearly dawn and I craved for burgers with egg and cheese which weren’t available in our barrio. It was a rare craving. However, the 24/7 burgershop was situated at about 15.5 kilometers away from my house. It was far, yet my id was very hard to tame. So, I hurriedly stopped reading the novel my friend recommended me to read for I had no other choice but to drive my motorbike to buy for some burgers. Eager as I was that time, I reached the said shop safely and slaked the craving I had.

After eating, I didn’t return home immediately. I walked a few steps, sat on a bleacher and got the novel inside my satchel to continue reading. The sky was clear and I could actually count the stars that night. It was silent aside from the occasional howl of dogs and the sound of distant motorists. Everything around me presented a perfect picture of serenity. I was about to read when my eyes were glued to a big christmas tree standing in front of the municipal hall. It was all alone in that area with lonely lights in it. The lights it glared were very much different from the time when people rushed under it to take selfies or group pictures and from the time I had a picture of it during the christmas eve. I stared on that big christmas tree and I really felt its unheard voice—it was lugubrious. I felt pity for it.

“ WHO CARES FOR CHRISTMAS TREES AFTER CHRISTMAS?” It was weird. I got too emotional. I was affected and why did I even care for that christmas tree? To divert my attention, I went back to the flipped page of the novel. I read few lines but the question still bothered me. It flooded my mind. And I thought, I got too emotional since the christmas tree was so me that dawn. Alas. I sighed. I took a deep breath.

Somehow, the tortured nerves of my mind asked, “WHO HAVE EVER REALLY CARED FOR ME AFTER THAT HISTORICAL BREAK UP?” I couldn’t even answer that simple question. I realized that I hadn’t moved on. There was a wave of a familiar sadness that tinged me. I thought that I had tucked it away in an unknown corner of my heart, from where, it would never emerge again. But that christmas tree rose the desolation again into my consciousness, filling my mind with a flurry of emotions.

With moist eyes, I looked at the flipped page of the novel I read. I felt a twitching pain. I struggled to hold my tears as Colleen Mccullough said in that novel, “FOR THE BEST IS ONLY BOUGHT AT THE COST OF GREAT PAIN.”

________________________

Thank you for reading dear friends❤❤❤ There would come a time when we were reminded by the things in the past... No matter how we try to bury them in forgetfulness, still, there would be that scenario that would refresh all the memories we tend to forget... But then again, we love to be reminded and to be tortured by the past since they made our present... However, no matter how sickening life would be, always remember to choose and love yourself first... because if you don't, how could you love somebody else...

Until next time, dear friends... this is Junva31996.. If you have suggestions, please feel free to comment or message me... Feel free to interact with me through commenting in the comment box... It would be much appreciated for my improvement as a writer...

All the best of life!!!

  • By the way, here are the links of my previous articles posted in this portal. If you have spare time to read, feel free.

  1. First article https://read.cash/@Junva31996/when-was-the-last-time-you-laughed-the-hardest-2793e577

  2. Second Article

    https://read.cash/@Junva31996/i-am-an-empowered-bayot-1b7a9f48

  3. Third article

    https://read.cash/@Junva31996/its-okay-4fa31a1b

  4. Fourth Article

    https://read.cash/@Junva31996/love-leads-us-back-34cc5e2a

  5. Fifth Article

    https://read.cash/@Junva31996/looking-directly-at-the-mirror-d174ee56

  6. Sixth Article

    https://read.cash/@Junva31996/because-we-both-found-ourselves-in-sad-songs-4de9e59a

  7. Seventh Article

    https://read.cash/@Junva31996/because-life-is-but-unexplained-figures-of-speech-70850717

Sponsors of Junva31996
empty
empty
empty

See you next time!!!

2
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @ThisisGrace21
Avatar for Junva31996
2 years ago

Comments

We all have those sadness within that we think we already forgetten pero matriger sahay 🥺 who cares for Christmas tree after Christmas? I think the tree itself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

... If only christmas trees could tell who...

$ 0.00
2 years ago