What some tv series and movies have taught me about life.

27 97
Avatar for Jumper-01
2 years ago

09 April 2022

You know for someone who has seen a lot of movies and series I have sure learnt a lot from watching these stories about people, life experiences , adventures, cultures, the future and relating these stories to my real life experiences. I remember when I was younger my dad would often stop me from watching too much cartoon because he would ask me what I learnt from them and being young and African😂 I wouldn’t be able to tell him what I think I have learnt or that cartoons are for fun and one doesn’t necessarily need to learn anything.

But now that I am older,I ..of course I enjoy my privacy but even if I didn’t I would be able to tell him what and what I have learnt from certain movies assuming he asked me. For example I would be able to tell him that I learnt from watching..

1.Power( The series)

“That anyone can turn on you at anytime and that your only loyalty is to yourself and your family”

You see if you have watched a lot of shows like I have, you would notice that you begin to develops something like a super power which helps you predict certain things that are bound to happens in the future of the series. I saw team ghost and tommy vs kanan, team ghost vs tommy different people teaming up to destroy another person as soon as it suits them and when they are done they use the same energy to try and destroy each other. It’s like they turn on each other at every slight chance they get and that meant that anybody could die at anytime in the series. Of course I learnt other things but this was one of the first things I picked up watching power.

2. suit ( the tv series)

“Everybody has dirt you just have to find it and use it against them”

If you have seen the series suit then you would understand it when I say everyone has got something that they don’t want you to see and once you find it you can use it against them. You would notice that every character in suits have one dirty secrete or the other from havier, mike , Jessica and even Louis. It’s just the journey of life and when you go through it you are bound to have one Secrete or the other.

3.The joker

“Most times society is the greatest villain”

Before seeing the most recent joker movie I use to think the joker was just some mindless idiotic villain who was looking for attention but now my perception about him has changed( I still think he is a villain though don’t get me wrong) only now I think a percentage of his anger is justified. Sometimes people would push you to your limit and even beyond and if you have had a life of suffering and strive there comes a point when you might loose your mind because of things you have had to endure and if care is not taking you end up taking it out on any and everyone. So apart from the fact that the most recent joker movie was a little too poetic for me it taught me a lot.

4. Game of thrones

“Becoming a ruler is way harder than becoming a follower”

I learnt that sometimes great adversity came with being a great ruler. The hard decisions one has to make, the lifestyle one has to live, the ways in which one has to decide to lead. I mean you watch people fight and kill over leadership only to fall at the hands of another person who is stronger than they are. This particular series also taught me that

“the vengeance of a woman is nothing go joke about” because I can remember from where the khalessi started from. After being sold as a wife slave to a king by her brother( well “supposed” brother) she fought her way up to the top of the food chain which was rightfully hers as a dragon queen and don’t even get me started on when she got angry and order her last dragon to burn down a whole city both guilty and innocent died from that moment I just knew that I have to respect women.

5.Hancock

“good and bad is relative and love is not always enough”

We could see from Hancock that he was good to some people and bad to so many others. He captured some thieves who stole I am sure the person they stole from would be grateful to him but in doing so he destroyed the city and for that so many people hate him. He saved the life of a man who was going to be crushed by a train and in doing so the man was Greatful to him whereas the train he stopped using his body force destroyed a lot of things and for that so many people hate him. So good and bad ? They are very relative depending on which end we find ourself.

Also the part of love not being enough. Well you would see towards the end that he had to leave his “destined wife” who he loved but was the reason why he was weak and vulnerable. It turns out that whenever he was around her he is physically weak and as such he is no longer super human. So he left even though they have loved each other for centuries 
 or so it seem.

Anyways a lot of movies and tv shows have taught me a lot of things and I intend to keep learning and growing
 so apart from the fun of watching a movie or something it is also not a bad thing to pick up one or two lessons as you go. Right ? Right.

Thank you for reading and I just love to add I learnt from watching “ Henry danger” that no matter what happens just blow bubbles and fight crime .. feels good!!!đŸ€©đŸ€©

Thank you and stay safe ✍❀

Copyrights©2022

17
$ 4.57
$ 4.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @foryoubtc09
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 7
Sponsors of Jumper-01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jumper-01
2 years ago

Comments

You have no idea how scary reading this article was! I've noticed worrying trends before and in many ways been able to rationalize through them to de-scarify them but this... Stating with seriousness and sincerity that you learned a lot, and grew as a person, from watching series an movies, is shocking to me. There is so much about movies, and even more about series, that should be so obvious that the only thing you should "learn" is that movies and especially series are that they can teach you nothing about real life and real people. AT BEST!! they show you the extreme outliers of people, situations, and events. But basically, the only purpose a movie or series has is to keep you watching them. If studies were to show that showing a bunny hopping off a cliff 2000 times would keep you watching non-stop more than anything they could possibly show you, they would. And you would learn.... what? That you should go hopping to the nearest cliff and hop off? of course not. In fact, I've been very careful in teaching my son that only news, documentaries and talk shows can, not always but sometimes, yield information and/or knowledge that is applicable in the real world. But I also emphasized that he should check everything coming from a screen himself for accuracy before accepting it as probable truth. Please tell me this article was a parody, spoof, or a joke? Sarcasm maybe? Please tell me you do not actually consider movies and series a source of knowledge and wisdom to use in your life!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nahh it is just creative writing sir. Of course we all know that the movie industry do not accurately describe the real situations in life like the example you just gave. For it I don’t learn from what the movie is saying per say I pick things that I can relate in my life and see what is true and what is not from there.

For example Hollywood films will Lie and tell you that love and relationships are easy well it is lie.. infact you have giving me an idea of what to write about on my next topic but just so you know sir it is just creative writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just like the movie "the flash " where Joe has to take Barry in after the death of his mother, and joe never treated Barry like an outsider even to the point he gave his daughter to him for marriage, I doubt that would even happen in our country, this is the power of love

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah you are right .I stopped watching flash after season 5 I got tired 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a wonderful write up. I learnt a lot.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I haven't seen all, but two. Joker and game of thrones. And damn, from what you wrote, these series really teaches a whole lot. From the first series you wrote about to the very last, I learnt even without having to see them. Especially the first: power (series)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah after watching power I started to question peoples love for me 😂😂😂 I just took time for it to wear off from my mind

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That quote under Hancock just reminded of Adekunle Gold song (high); "love is not enough baby, come to me molowo" 😂. I have always told people that movies have taught me a lot of things that school didn't, it's only fools that watch movies and don't learn a thing or two about life from them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah movies do actually teach a lot of things that school doesn’t

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow nice Good and bad is then more like a perspective something because people can have their own opinion of you. .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly good and bad is relative depending on which one you are to someone

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That khaleesi's own shocked me, I remember the girl and how subservient she was with her husband.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah she became the queen mother of dragons and so she was unstoppable

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omoooo game of thrones like this one friend, I haven't watched all of the series yet but i really like this one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah game of thrones was the goat of all series

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe. The movie industry have the potential to change society. I wish they would continue making good content rather than all these nudity we see on a daily.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah especially the recent ones they seem to have included nudity and sex as a normal part of movies

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's very sad indeedm

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love that Game of thrones but didn't watch the last series. Someone told me Kalessi died!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah she did .. actually she was killed by her lover .. she killed a lot of people before she died

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah, sad ending for her

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Only Joker and Game of thrones are the show I watched. Then the former two are not. I am an avid viewer of tv series particularly western.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You need to see suits ..it is very interesting and educational I have learnt a lot in law by just watching it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have learnt quite a lot from watching movies as they are a pastime for me. I also learn English more from movies than school lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I remember watching bridgerton and learning how to speak sophisticated English for a week or two 😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ooh seems like you're a movie lover and definitely you have seen very thrilling and very high value movies which indeed taught me a lot from your article. Well decided to gonna watch Hancock after my mid term examination. Seems interesting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah it is a very interesting movie I wonder why will smith is yet to make a part 2 of that movie .. don’t worry you will love it

$ 0.00
2 years ago