Reminisce : When I Was A Kid

27 44
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

 July 26, 2021

For today’s article, I would like to write an entry for @bmjc98’s challenge of getting to know us thru her prompt WHEN I WAS A KID.

Her rules are simple. Just write 10 facts about yourself when you were a kid and tag her and invite someone else to join the challenge by tagging her too.

Here is the link should you want to know more about it.

https://read.cash/@bmjc98/getting-to-know-you-more-challenge-when-i-was-a-kid-6c5daa12

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

The Sleepy Head One.

I was always sleepy in school especially when the subject is Pilipino. Who would think that Pilipino is a boring subject when it is our national language? Me. As young as grade 1, I already find the subject boring and always fell asleep.

My teacher always noticed that because every time I fall asleep she will come to me and pinch my ears, just slightly. I have no problem with this teacher as she is a distant relative. She just wants to wake me up every time I fall asleep.

The Crafty One.

As early as in grade 2, I know that I love crafts. I always excel in this. It is in grade 2 that I started learning different kinds of stitches. Running stitch, backstitch, cross stitch, slip stitch and zigzag stitch are to be sewn in a piece of basket weave cloth. Mine are always neater than others. 😊

The No Talent One.

Aside from loving crafts, I have no other talents to boast for. I know how to sing but I am always out of tune. I know how to dance but I have both left foot. So I just admire my classmates who are talented.

I tried ballet dance school but it lasts only for a day.

I don’t know how to act. I joined an acting workshop for our school play when I was in grade 6, after the workshop, they chose who will take the lead role and all other roles. I was assigned to wardrobe only.

The Business Minded One.

I was already into selling as early in my elementary days. I made yema and sampaloc candies and sell them in school.

In my high school days, I ventured into AVON cosmetics selling. And in my college days, me and a friend ventured into making of hair accessories and selling them to classmates.

The Fearful of Feathers One.

I have made an article about FEAR and my fear of feathers was detailed there. Here is the link for that.

https://read.cash/@Judith1969/fear-1c0fec5f

My grandmother is so strict with us. She always calls us for a nap in the afternoon during vacations. She always brought stick with her to hit us if we don’t follow. She also loves sleeping outside the house, particularly at the back of our old house. She has a bed made of bamboo there.

My grandmother is long legged and she loves to fold her knees up when she sleeps as her toes will be hanging if she don't fold them. One time, I woke up ahead of her and found chickens on top of her knees, one in each knee. I was so afraid to move just in case the chicken will transfer to me. I slowly pull up the blanket to cover me so that I cannot see the chickens. I waited until they flew away before I slowly slip out of the bed.

The Make – Believe One.

When I was a kid, I always play make believe with my cousins. We are so hurry to grow up that we dress up like ladies.  We also want to be princesses, using our blankets as our capes.

We also play house. We cook using discarded cans and pick up some flowers and grass for something to cook.

The Monkey One.

I am so fond of climbing short trees when I was a kid. My favorite tree to climb was my aunt’s kalachuchi. It was so old already that the trunk and branches are thick and easy to climb on. I picked up kalachuchi flowers for crown-making to be used as props for our make believe games.

One of the Boys One.

Not really. I just played with boys, mostly my cousins and neighbors. We play “jolen”- marbles, “lastiko”- rubber band, taksi – a game played using softdrink bottle caps.

During those years, we have a very big playground, which is now converted into a warehouse. We played “dakop-dakop” – wherein the IT will catch a player, once he touches any body part of another player, then he / she becomes the new IT. And then there is "shatong" - a stick game. The game needs a short and a long stick.

Nurse One.

I want to be a nurse when I was a kid. We have a neighbour, actually a distant relative, who has a very big house. Her daughter is a nurse working in the United States of America (USA). During those days the dream was to set foot in the USA. So I want to be like her so that I can work as a nurse abroad.

But then I learned that nursing students dissects animals and possibly ducks too so I back out from being a nurse.

Fun with Numbers One.

I learned early on that I like to analyse numbers. I love number problems. I am not that good in math but there are just some problem solving that I love. They are puzzles to me.

When I was in grade 5 we were taught how to compute income tax returns and how to fill up the form. I did that with a flying grade.

Sometimes when we don’t have classes in the afternoon, my mom would fetch me from school and bring me to her office. I have to stay under her table until their manager left. Her manager usually left early to go to another of their business office. When the manager leaves the premises, I can go out of the hiding place and my mom would let me help her in her job, accounting job that is.

This is how I decided that I will take up Accountancy in college.

 >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Reading other’s childhood days makes me reminisce mine so I decided to join the bandwagon.

Why don’t you join too @fantagira ? 🧡😊

That's all folks!

Thanks for dropping by!

🧡🧡🧡

Lead image by Unsplash.

 

 

 

 

9
$ 10.20
$ 9.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @bmjc98
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
+ 7
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

Comments

You were crafty from a young age and you still are. Thank you or tagging me, I finally finished mine.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for joining. I was able to read it before I saw your comment here. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Filipino was also my weakness. I'd be pinching my face just to stay alive. lol. Thanks for your entry. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, bakit kaya ang hirap ng Filipino subject.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe nice to read about your childhood characteristics :) You are definitely the crafty one and that itself is a talent. Not everyone can be crafty. So, you are not without talent dear :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. You too is a crafty one. 🧡👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I played shato (that's what it's called here), too. And agawan-base. I liked games where you need to run because I did run fast, sometimes toe-to-toe or even better than boys. hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I cannot run that fast as I am on the heavy side, so marble rubber bands are my thing. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, I wasn't exactly on the thin side either, but still I did know how to run like the boys. Never played marbles, but I loved playing text. hihihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang dami 🤣 Mahilig dn ako nun umakyat sa puni ng mantsanitas.. Tapus nahulog 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha, sana walang nabali? Ingats.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really enjoyed your story. I want to make one too. I will join this bandwagon and share my childhood too!! Thanks sis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, please do. She needs 30 entries to have a bigger price at stake.

Share your link here to be counted.

https://read.cash/@bmjc98/16-days-before-my-1st-year-anniversary-on-my-first-bch-platform-ever-52fd13ce

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We're both monkeys then 😂 i also love to climb trees.. We have a guava tree and as a child i climb to get guavas..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha.... yes, the guava trees too. 👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow talagang bata ka pa talaga, ngcrocrochet ka na, ate. Gusto ko din yan matutunan kaso waley. Indeed a blessing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks Jerryl. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You may not be blessed with talent in other arts but you are good with numbers. In fairness to you, you were not given that much chance to perfect other talents. Ballet in a day? That's not enough :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's me who back out in Ballet. Not my type. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I played also a Jolen ma'am Judith🥰 I'm glad to know with this article from yours ma'am...❤️

God bless you ma'am Judith...❤️🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have you joined this challenge? Join now for a chance to win BCH.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to join this ma'am....🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

when you're done, share the link of your article here so that your entry can be counted.

https://read.cash/@bmjc98/16-days-before-my-1st-year-anniversary-on-my-first-bch-platform-ever-52fd13ce

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much ma'am Judith...❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🥰❤️🥰❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago