Fear

9 34
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

July 3, 2021

 F – False

E – Evidence

A – Appearing

R – Real

This is how our HR manager describes fear.

What does fear mean to you?

Mr. Google says fear is an unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain, or a threat.

Have you experienced fear?

What are you fearful of?

Before getting the vaccine shot I was having some fear of the side effects as I have heard and read in the news about people dying due to the vaccine. It really took me a while to conquer my fear and took the shot. I had to go thru a lot of stress thinking about the after effects that I might have.

I had my vaccination last June 30 and as of this writing except for the numb pain surrounding where the vaccine was shot, I have not felt any side effects that we were being warned of.

Fake news? - false evidence that appears real.

Having fear can be helpful sometimes because it makes one conscious and cautious.

I have a fear of the deep sea because I don’t know how to swim. So every time we go swimming I always stay near the shore or up to chest deep only, somewhere where my feet can still touch the bottom.

When I travel by boat, I make sure to look where the swimming vest is located before I can rest easy.

You take extra precautions because you know your fear.

Fear can be overcome.

I am afraid of public speaking. It is not really my forte as I am an introvert. I prefer to be at the background rather than at the foreground.

But the time comes when I have to present to the board of directors of our company our financial standing and budget for the coming year. In my whole 20+ years in the company it was the first time that we did this presentation. As much as I want to avoid public speaking, I have nowhere to hide this time. I have to stand in front of my colleagues and the board and do the presentation. At first I have been shaking from head to toe but eventually I got the hang of it.

I overcame my fear by giving myself a chance to try and do it. At the back of my mind, while I was presenting, my other self keeps on chanting “You can do this, you can do this…”.

 PHOBIA

Phobia as Mr. Google described it is a type of anxiety disorder that causes an excessive or irrational fear of something.

What are your phobias? I think we all have a phobia or two hidden inside.

Want to know mine? Here goes…

I am afraid of anything with feathers. Yes... birds, chicken, ducks… you name anything with feathers and I am afraid of them.

I really can’t recall when in my childhood years why I am afraid of them. My hairs will just stand up when I am near them. Even if they are just printed in the papers, I am still afraid. I usually skip the page or ask somebody to turn over the page, just so I cannot touch them.

Funny thing is, my parents' business was all about eggs. We have around four poultry houses full of chickens that lays eggs, around 200 of them. I really can’t help them much in the feeding and gathering of the eggs. But I helped in weighing the eggs as this was housed farther from the poultry houses.

One time, a strong typhoon hit our place. One of the poultry house fell down. As the other poultry houses were full, the chickens on the damaged house were transferred to our living room. My father insisted that I helped or we will lose a lot chickens. I was able to carry one chicken but I kept on crying. My father took pity on me and sent me to my room.

Not all my officemates know about my phobia of animals with feathers. One time a bird flew inside the office as the windows were being opened due to power outage. When I noticed the bird flying inside the office I ran fast to the comfort room and lock myself there. My co-employees who saw me wondered what happened to me until one of my staff informed them that I was afraid of the bird. They were all laughing as the bird was so small but they all helped in shooing away the bird out of the office.

Now that you know mine, may I know yours? What would that be. Care to share in the comments section below.

Thanks for dropping by.

🧡🧡🧡

Lead image by Unsplash

 

 

 

 

 

 

6
$ 8.14
$ 7.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
+ 3
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

Comments

I enjoyed reading about your fears and phobias. I love that you had to face at least some of them, which helped you overcome them.

I used to be very scared of spiders and many insects, but the big, hairy ones that scare me most don’t live here in England and the others I mainly got used to, as I see so many of them in my garden every day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like feathered creatures either. But I don't necessarily hide. I just get out of the way when some stray bird is around me. I'm just not comfortable around them. If a bird gets in the house and is flying around trying to get out, I just duck each time it flies above me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If a bird gets inside the house I ran out of the house. 😁🤣 I am glad that I am not the only one afraid of feathered creatures. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am afraid of death, I am terrified that someone I love might die.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah that too... 🤗🧡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anything that crawls, ate. Snake is on my top list. Basta ayoko sa ahas. Kahit picture, ayoko. They hiss. They slither on the ground without notice. Basta yun. Yikes haha.

And another one is "rejection". This is why I am keeping my circle verrrryyy small. I have trust issues and I rarely trust anyone.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Though I am afraid of snakes too but not as much as feathered animals. You see, snake crawls, I can ran faster than them but birds flies, oh my... 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

bigay mo sakin lahat ng lumilipad , ate hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha, sureness. 😁🧡

$ 0.00
2 years ago