Of Mural and Art

17 34
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

July 17, 2021

I have read @Bloghound’s article about murals in their place and it reminds me of the painting my daughter, Danie, made on our driveway.

Here is the link to @Bloghound’s article if you haven’t read it yet.

https://read.cash/@Bloghound/behind-the-colorful-walls-of-murals-and-graffitis-b39ee5e3

We have a long driveway as the property is a compound of our family. The adjacent lot to our property was owned by a hardware company and they built a very large warehouse for their inventory.

We have an ugly wall of concrete as neighbor. But Danie saw it as a wall of canvass. She asked if it is okay to paint the walls and it was super fine for me but I told her to include positive words or words that motivates or inspiring words.

She then looked for designs and ideas to paint. Once she knew what to paint, she made a list of paint colors to buy.

We went to the hardware store to get her supplies, paints, rollers, and brushes.

She first painted a portion of the wall with white paint. This serves as the skim-coat to prevent the colored paints being absorb into the concrete wall and will have different color as required.

The first mural she made was of LOVE.

Can you clearly see the design? It is a person without a head. She first draw the design in pencil and trace it with the paint. We helped in painting the bigger areas.

The second portion was a sort of a snow globe. I painted the words in this mural. I got the inspiration in one of our road trips and visited a park in the mountains. Their steps were painted with inspiring words. I made an article about that trip. Here is the link.

https://read.cash/@Judith1969/neris-ville-8a076607

It was quite therapeutic doing this painting job. It is a stress reliever. How did I do with my painting? 😁

She painted Moana adjacent to the snow globe.

Do you know how far you'll go?

As she paints nearer to the gate, kids from neighboring area came to watch her paint and asked her if they could try painting too.  Since she has plenty of brushes, she let them try too. She first draw on what things she wants the kids to paint.

The kids were having fun.

The next mural is of Danie’s favorite K-pop group, the Red Velvet trolls showing Your True Colors are Beautiful. Ain’t it cute.

The last she painted was another favorite K-pop group character. The BTS cartoon characters.

This is the last painting she made as work gets in the way. She was still a student when she started painting the arts on the wall.

She said that she will finish the murals but until now she still have to pick up the paint and brush. 😁

We extended our garden up to the end of the driveway to make it more lively.

There is still a big wall canvass left to work on. I hope she'll get the much needed motivation to continue painting.

Any suggestions to fill up the blank wall? I was thinking of cherry blossoms. 😁

Thanks for dropping by.

🧡🧡🧡

9
$ 3.31
$ 2.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
+ 6
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

Comments

Very talented both mother and daughter even the kids. Ang cute ng drawing nila na mga stars and a planet. Not really good in drawing. I remember that I would trace some characters from the Funny Komiks that we used to read when were young. LOL. My cousin can draw but he did not push through with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your daughter Danie is doing a great job! Round of applause for her! Those kids would surely paitn more walls when they grow up. I am also thinking of a way my kids can do a painting in our walls.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks. Write an article soon of your kids painting, would love to see them. 🧡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From plain to instagrammable wall!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, that's true. It's more lively this way. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it is wonderful what your daughter is doing and how that motivated other children to join. The murals are beautiful. And they give a lively touch to the street. And I agree with @fantagira, I would paint some flowers in the missing space.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you sis! Flower it is then 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Soon, when she feels like picking up her brushes and paints.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang galing ate. Gagaling ng kids.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Such a creative girl. These murals are beautiful. It's hard to believe that a young girl could do this. Smart choice of colours and all.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. I am hoping for her to finish all the way to the gate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You’re asking me? Flowers of course!

This is so beautiful Judith. I love the creative collaboration of you, your daughter and local kids too. You created a work of love 💙

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Monika. I'll keep that in mind : flowers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those murals are pretty! I like the choice of colors, not too bold and bright.

If I have the means, I would make that a wall garden :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

A wall garden would be great too. I started one but my hubby attached the screen without telling me and it is not the right area for planting as it is under the mango tree. The sun cannot penetrate to the plants. It is also quite expensive. So for other parts, I crocheted pot holders. You might want to visit my article here for inspiration. 😁

https://read.cash/@Judith1969/diy-pot-holders-0cdf2198

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah well. He has the best intention at heart :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes he did. I did plant some herbs there now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago