Writing Prompt #2: Motivation

53 152
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

I once read somewhere that people are not unmotivated. We are really just motivated to do something else.

This struck a chord with me. I have complained most of my life of having a lack of motivation to do the serious, responsible things.

  • I didn't finish high school

  • I didn't finish college

  • I start many projects and don't finish them

  • I rarely finish cleaning the house or the dishes or the laundry

I complain about or justify my lack of follow-through as a result of a lack of motivation.

But let's take a look at each of the bullet points above to see what was really going on.

I didn't finish high school

I didn't finish high school because I was more motivated to be clean and sober.

I've written before about my early childhood trauma and some bad decisions I made as a result. These decisions, though it might not seem like it on the face of things, were about survival.

I was so damaged and broken and hurt inside I couldn't cope. I couldn't face life.

I turned, at a very young age (13) to drugs and alcohol. I had already been smoking cigarettes since age 10, so it was almost a natural progression to start drinking and smoking pot. In order to escape the pain of the ongoing trauma, I tuned to harder and harder drugs. First the hallucinogenics and then, finally, heroin.

But when I was in my last year of high school, I confessed to my dad what I had been doing. I was placed in a drug treatment center and got off the drugs. The difficult part was going back to school.

My high school was in Hollywood, California. At the time it was famous as a place to pick up drugs and young women. They had drug dogs on campus sniffing all the lockers and student bags. Even some of the teachers were addicted to drugs.

This was obviously not a good surrounding for someone who was newly clean and sober.

So, I dropped out of high school and took the equivalency exam which I passed with high marks. The truth wasn't that I was not motivated to finish school, but that I was motivated to stay off drugs.

I haven't used heroin since, so maybe it was a good call.

I didn't finish college

I didn't finish college because I was more motivated to be a mommy.

I got married and had babies pretty early in my life. My wedding was 4 days after my 20th birthday and my first daughter was already 4 months old. We had our second daughter soon after. And then 6 years later I had my youngest daughter.

When she was a year old, I started college. I took art, psychology, and literature.

Even though I want attending school full time, it took a toll on my home and family. I withdrew from classes the third year, fully intending to return later.

I never did.

It isn't because I was not motivated to get an education. I was just more motivated to keep my family. My son, the baby, just turned 18 and moved out, so I suppose I could finish now, but I don't really see the point. I won't be staying a new career this late in life and the things I need to learn to be successful in my chosen careers (writing, painting, ranching) I can learn online without the need to stain a degree.

I start many projects and don't finish them

Yet. I haven't finished them, yet. I may still finish someday, but I doubt I will ever do one single project from stay to finish all at once.

This braided rag rug is one of my many projects. The other scraps of material are in the big basket. But you also see my laptop and notebook right there. It's easy to get distracted when there are so many projects to choose from.

I have been working on the tag rug since 2018 (!). I used to braid and stitch and braid and stitch while the family watched TV after dinner.

The older I get, the worse I see. I've always been nearsighted, but for the last 10 years, I've needed to wear bifocals. It's a natural part of aging.

The last time I went to the eye doctor was in 2019. I was due to go in March of 2020 but, you guessed it, the pandemic. I didn't want to travel an hour away to get my eyes checked in a city that was a Covid 19 "hot spot." (I am now fully vaccinated so I no longer have an excuse).

It's not that I was unmotivated to finish that particular project, I was just motivated to do something I could see better.

Other projects I start but then might get distracted by something else. It sounds like bragging, and maybe it is, but I have quite a few talents. Writing, art, cooking, baking, candy making, gardening, crafting, etc. It sounds like a good thing, to have many skills, but it is super easy to get distracted by the next shiny idea that pops into my head.

It's not that I am unmotivated to finish that article, poem, painting but that I am motivated to make some caramels or preserve some grape leaves or make some goat cheese.

My homemade caramels

I rarely finish cleaning the house or the dishes or the laundry

I have actually met quite a few people who really enjoy housework. I, unfortunately, am not one of them.

I do like to have a tidy house with each object having its place. I like to be able to walk barefoot in the house without stepping in grit and dust. I enjoy having clean clothes and a room that doesn't smell like dirty socks. I enjoy the ability to take a clean dish out of the cupboard and use it without first having to wash it.

So I will start these chores, but again, I will get distracted. I might be standing washing dishes and start craving cookies. So instead of finishing the dishes in the sink, I will make more dirty dishes by making cookies.

Homemade oatmeal raisin cookies. Yummmm.

It's not that I'm unmotivated to do the housework . . . well, maybe it is. PROBABLY it is. But let's continue with the topic.

I'm just more motivated to make messes than I am to clean them up.

Writing prompt #2: Motivation

This brings me to the second writing prompt. Motivation.

Some people strike me as incredibly driven people with the motivation to get things done. I can't help but wonder, what gets left undone because they lack the motivation to do it.

Or is it simply being motivated in a different direction?

Some people are motivated by external forces. They are motivated to work hard to provide for their children.

They are motivated to earn a lot of money so they can buy Lamborghinis and get pretty girls like @MarcDeMesel.

Some people think they are motivated to do one thing, but when they are unable to accomplish it realize they were actually motivated to do something else.

I hope you feel motivated to take up this challenge and follow the wiring prompt.

Here are the rules:

  1. Write about motivation

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. Tag me @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun

Let's see what you've got! I'd like to tag a bunch of other writers than last time.

@ShyLavender

@Ellehcim

@Eunoia

@fantagira

@Princessbusayo

Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty

As always I am searching for new people to sponsor as well as new people to sponsor me.

Lead image:Photo by Milan Csizmadia on Unsplash

Image 1: Photo by Chichi Onyekanne on Unsplash

Image 2: Photo by Matthew Osborn on Unsplash

All other images courtesy of the author

Feel free to comment and tag people in the comments section or in your own article. I look forward to reading everybody's views on motivation.

23
$ 17.33
$ 16.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
+ 8
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

I just read your writing message, because I decided a few days ago to do your challenge. Coincidentally I lacked motivation to do it and I looked for it for several days.

My reasons for the lack of motivation are practically the same as yours, I get easily distracted doing other things and it's hard for me to finish what I have started.

I am having an existential crisis right now because of that situation. Thank you I will follow your posts and do my part, I am motivated to do it.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fascinating , drugs can be such a downfall, I am lucky never got the appeal for hard drugs, just had the odd mushroom or three. I see many similarities with you, start a gazillion things, move on etc. Some great food for thought as well, and got my mind thinking now.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Drugs can be a downfall but also a life saver. I suppose it depends on one's needs and mindset. But yeah. Hard drugs at suck a young age... I'm sure I lowered my cognitive function significantly. And I can't help but wonder how much they affected my current health.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your life experiences have been reason enough to keep going, I perceive that you have a lot to give, and always, even though you can jump from one activity to another without effort, you strive to make sure that nothing is missing in your home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woaahh. I can't imagine someone like you having those experience in your early age. Still, as I read this article, despite of choices and decisions you made before, I saw a good father to your children. I already wrote a motivation article that you prompt. Thank you for giving us the chance to look on things that motivates us in everyday lives. ☺️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm glad you saw a good father, I'm a mother. But my husband is a VERY good father and a very good man.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my God, I'm sorry. I thought you're a guy. 🤧 You are a good mother too for sure. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Well. That profile pic is really me. So...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been lacking motivation to do the things I used to like doing, like writing, crafting, baking. And you are absolutely right, it is not that we do not have motivation, we are just motivated to do something else. I too have many unfinished projects. It usually starts with much excitement and then the excitement slowly disappears.

Thank you for this, just the thing I need now to get back into writing. I got to know about your writing prompts from the ladies, heartbeat1515, gertu and Hanzell. Is it too late to join this plus the earlier prompt, freedom?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad I caught this comment before I go pass out again. (I'm sick, not drunk -I'd rather be drunk, I think)

It's is never too late to complete a prompt challenge. They are here forever, so you can write about any of them forever. Even more than once! Have fun. Going back to sleep, now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh dear.. sorry to read that you are sick I pray that you will be well soon. Rest well there and sleep the sickness away. It is never fun to be sick but it is also the body telling or forcing us to rest.

Thank you for taking the time to reply my comment. I will join in time for sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I slept all day and already feel ready to go back to sleep again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I can relate on some of the points here. Especially on starting but not finishing projects...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed we are not demotivated, just motivated in different direction, love that! That is really true. No matter how we make our own choices it boils down to motivation and I admire you for moving on always with enthusiasm.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is my first time joining the prompt, I'm kinda late for the first prompt so just focus on this one topic. I have a drafted article about my motivation tho and good thing I found this prompt.

$ 0.05
User's avatar Oz_
2 years ago

No worries! You can write the prompts any time. They are here forever, so you can write in that topic forever. I'm glad you're here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! This is a great writing prompt. I actually had my read.cash account for like a month now but, I literally just started writing 2 days ago. I don't think I am unmotivated though. I guess, it is more of some writer's block. So, I will try to write with this prompt you got and let's break this writer's block I am having. HAHA :D Anyways, thank you!!! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad to have you with us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never felt unmotivated I have an inner drive. I find the "getting pretty girls" kind of insulting. Is this what the world is about, being successful is about? Being pretty to get laid by rich men?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was in reference to Marc DeMesel's "live" video. If you have seen it, don't bother. It answers your above question with a resounding yes. I'm honestly not sure why I added that, other than to give a tongue in cheek dig at Marc and, I guess, at some of his male followers. And also, it is true. That is what some people are motivated by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, I didn't watch the video but I believe he responded somewhere with "is that how you people think of me hunting for young girls". I find it in a way insulting. To women in general, to him, to those " pretty" girls. I don't know it might not be worth discussing it I guess. Don't bother. Happy Sunday.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I think it is very important to discuss these things. And, yes, be did respond. Sort of in a way that made him seem creeper than I'd be had just said, "I love my girlfriends very much no matter where we met." He does not see himself as a predator. A lot of people do. He has some pretty unconventional thoughts on life in general and I hope that people who admire his tipping generosity and financial acumen will turn a more critical eye to the rest of his (or any celebrity's) life.

I like your thoughtfulness.

Maybe there's an article there? I'd love to read it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Are his thiughts unconventional or does he pretend to get away with certain behaviour because of wealth and is he fooling himself or just knows you can buy everything for money? To be honest I do not feel comfortable with it and it reminds me of a certain song "you're a dirty old men...". But only independant women, those with self-esteem will see it this way. The poor and lazy ones go for what they can get (which reminds me of a show I once saw where " pretty" girls had a very long wish list of all those things their future husband should have before they would marry him.

I need to think if there's an article in it and if what kind of.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Did you also watch his live?

I should write something before the week ends. Also good to read more about you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Marc's? Parts of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, thanks for this motivation topic! Will write fiction again for my entry haha:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love your fiction, so, yay!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was about to write about Freedom, but I guess I need to jump to the next topic.

Acquiring motivation is really hard. You easily get distracted especially when you are really not into it. Sometimes, we need some major push over, but sometimes, we just need to know what we really want.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why not write about both?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's still okay to write about Freedom? Okay, count me in! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the second prompt.. Not so dramatic for me 🤣 Why not create a community for your prompt series so we can submit our articles there?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Any advice on how to create a community would be greatly appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad I am on time for the second prompt. I missed the first one for reasons I don't even know 😂😁 I really feel for you. Having to be demotivated from doing some things only to be motivated for other things. I hope you have no regrets about any of the things you couldn't do

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can write about any of the prompts anytime. There is no limit. You can go to my profile and see all the prompts even months or years afterward. I really enjoyed your article on Motivation. I'd love to read what you write on Freedom (prompt #1).

I'm trying to create a community so we can all read each other's prompts but have been having some difficulty. I'll let everybody know when I've got it up and running.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh really? I thought there was a limit. I guess I will look it up one of these days. And I am glad you like my article on motivation. I would love to be a part of that community if someday you are able to create it or go about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Motivation is a good topic to write about. Thanks to @ellehcim for taging me. I wonder if @wakeupkitty @gertu13 @marblely and @erza would like to take this challenge too?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, when you write yours, ypu can tag them . :) It's up to them to accept the challenge or not. This idea is genius. Everybody say, thanks, Ms. Jonica. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree that it is a good initiative and it can be a source of motivation to write and inspiration about what to write about.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you're right!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully I’ll find motivation to do this one 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 how to get motivated to write something about motivation? 🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let me tell you, that this article was one of my motivations. Hahaha. Not gonna lie, I am thankful of these writing prompts because I always learn from it. Hopefully I can make my entry later. :) Again, thanks a lot.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I look forward to reading what you write.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, Miss @JonicaBradley :) I have posted mine yesterday. I hope you'll have a good time reading it. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really motivation for you in your story. Things you were able to achieve just because you were motivated. Stopped drugs, had more time for family, did many things all because you were motivated to do them. Thanks for the tag ma and I will surely do my best to write mine too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for tagging me and your words motivated me a lot! ❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can't wait to read your story of you decide to take part in the challenge.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Funny thing is, I was already tagged with this writing prompt even though it hasn't been published yet (well, that was earlier)

@MizLhaine tagged me for the 1st prompt, freedom but she heard you're making a new one and she says i'm free to choose if I wanna write about freedom or this new one and I guess, i'll be writing about this one.

Anyway, I have read the first prompt, also the articles from the different writers who participated in the challenge and it was great! congratulations for its success. also claiming for the success of this new prompt. :)

I enjoyed reading this, btw.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yay, the prompt No.2 is really a motivation dear. excited for the next articles!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are great motivational model you fight with situation as well as with your fate.At 10 years you was addicted to drug broke my heart but how you manage and how you restart your study after it is also motivational.At little age you were married that is an other twist in your life but you learn and learn and learn.I assure write about motivation Tomorrow.Now I am writing about monthly report cord.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I was ten when I started smoking which, I guess can be seen as an addiction. One I am not rid of even today. The drugs didn't start until 13. Still too young.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the reason I say you source of Motivation...💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago