Thoughts in Response to TV: The L Word

17 87
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

I've been particularly stressed out lately. Some of you have been following along with my life for a while now. I appreciate you. I really do.

Because of certain triggers, I have felt my C-PSTD much more acutely lately.

I was raised by a narcissistic mother. I have also experienced too many instances of sexual assault, including incest. This story is not about that, though.

One of my trauma responses is to shut down and escape the stress of my reality. I used to escape by using drugs.

I no longer use drugs to escape. I use healthier techniques. My two favorites are reading and streaming.

I read a lot. I prefer books in a series.

I stream a lot. I prefer shows with many seasons.

The L Word

By Unknown author - nachgezeichnet durch Lukas0907, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=42931971

I've just finished 6 seasons of The L Word.

I have to say I loved the show. It was 6 seasons. I became invested in the characters and their stories.

The show centers around a group of friends in Los Angeles. Most of the members of this group are women and most are lesbians or bisexuals. There are main characters who are straight allies, and one main character who is transexual female to male.

The main characters in no particular order are Jenny, Marina, Bette, Tina, Alice, Shane, Kit, Helena, Max, and Dana. With more characters as special guests stars. The cast is full of Hollywood heavy hitters like Jennifer Beals (Bette), Pam Grier (Kit), Roseanna Arquette, Marlee Matlin (Jodie), Cybill Shepard (Phyllis), and Jane Lynch (Joyce).

Each season the characters date, get into committed relationships, consider having families, cheat, forgive, hook up, break up, question their sexuality, stay in the closet, or come out, sleep around, stay single, sometimes all of the above simultaneously.

In the first season, Alice makes a chart demonstrating how small and interconnected the Los Angeles lesbian community is. She goes on to have a radio show called The Chart and a website of the same name.

The Chart Image Credit: By User:TLW, CC BY 2.5, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=19987460

The key component of this show for me had nothing to do with sex (as hot as the sex scenes were - and they were very hot and very many), sexuality, or gender identity. It had to do with love. It had to do with acceptance, redemption, and self-image.

Each character loves in different ways. Each character screws up in different ways. The show at its core demonstrated to me, how appearances don't always match reality. And all of humanity is interconnected.

Of course, I had my favorite characters. And of course, the characters and my favorites changed from season to season and situation to situation.

Notably, two of the main characters are killed off at some point in the show. I won't give any spoilers.

I appreciated some other aspects of the show. Two of the main characters, Alice and Jenny, are writers. Bette is an art curator. Jodi is an artist. I felt a deep connection to the writers and artists because I am both of these things.

If you want a good show to watch with lots of seasons, you can't go wrong with The L Word. It is currently available through Amazon Prime Video with a Showtime subscription.

Go watch it. You'll fall in love.

I did.

23
$ 7.09
$ 6.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Gemstone
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 10
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

Im not fun of series because Im getting addicted if I got hook just like when I was working we watch the series of PRISON BREAK and oh no! I've been reporting to work without sleep because of the series😀but it seems very interesting and thank you for sharing it with us

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Guess what I think i should take lecture from you. Lol. Actually your writing skills is fine. Better then me.
Are you native English speaker?

And can i find this how on Netflix ?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. I'm American. The show, as far as I can tell it's not on Netflix. It is on Amazon Prime with a Showtime subscription on the U.S. But I'm not sure how that works in other countries. I know when I was in S.E. Asia I was able to see things on Netflix I couldn't in the U.S.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wawo native American is here. God bless you. Oh okay but i would try to search it. Anyway. Btw you read my article i dropped link one of your comment.

Again here https://read.cash/@Aasii/happy-dream-turned-into-insulting-dream-3ab6696e

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll try to watch since I have a lot of bisexual friends. I'll watch when I have time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really enjoyed it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not my kind of show, and way too much emphasis on alternative lifestyles on TV these days, which has sort of caused me to mainly tune out. I hardly ever watch TV anymore because it is fraught with innuendo, propaganda, brainwashing, and whatever else.

But I am not going to deny anyone their entertainment nor enjoyment despite my opinion(s) on the topic. :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

imma try watching that show, seems to be a good series :>

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Today's vacation imma give it a try watching that L wor. As you written it's good as it is so I get interested especially in it's story. Love love love different kind of love hahahaà

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Good to know you have ways to escape being stress. It seems that the L word is a good show and I find it interesting because of the differences of the characters.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Each character loves in different ways. Each character screws up in different ways. The show at its core demonstrated to me, how appearances don't always match reality. And all of humanity is interconnected.

I would really love to watch these scenes because love and relationships is one of the complicated experiences humans have.

The ability for each character in this movie to embrace sex, sexuality, and gender identity, speaks volumes

A lot of us are still struggling with this phases of life.

I am sure the lessons embedded in this movie will be worth every minute spent

I'll look it up, thanks for sharing with us

$ 0.03
2 years ago

There are a bunch of Showtime shows involving the L word. Some are reality shows and some are documentaries. The L Word was released in 2004. The L Word Generation Q is a new one. I haven't seen that one (yet).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The L Word was released in 2004. The L Word Generation Q is a new one

I'll be sure to be careful when searching so I get the right one... Or maybe I can see both 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I plan on watching Generation Q

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's painful to get to know some of those sad part of your life but I find solace in the fact that you have overcome them by engaging. The L word seem interesting from all indications. I should find time to see it. I love to see how to recover from betrayal.....

$ 0.03
2 years ago

There's plenty of betrayal and overcoming of betrayal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago