That's It! I Quit!

48 99
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

I've been in a toxic relationship for years and years. I've ended it before but gone back. It is time to end it for good.

This toxic party has gone by a few names. Phillip Morris and R.J.Reynolds are the two I'm most familiar with. It's all the same, regardless of name.

This has been the most toxic relationship of my entire life! Three times I've walked out for 9 or 10 or 11 months. Another time I left for 7 months. The longest I've been able to stay away has been 3 years.

My recent bout of illness has taught me that this thief, this grifter has got to go! I've been robbed of my money and my health.

It is so difficult to walk away, though. I'm addicted.

The times I've walked out before, I felt so horrible I had to replace this toxic relationship with another just as toxic. And yet, I'm committed.

Or maybe I need to be committed.

Either way, I'm done. I'm out. I'm kicking Phillip and R.J. to the curb. Goodbye, boys. I'm tossing your butts in the trash. I'm disgusted with myself for having kept you around for so long. You're too expensive. You're too abusive. And even though you're too addictive, I'm going to do my damndest to put you and keep you, where you belong. In the ashcan.

Really.

I mean it this time.

For REAL.

I'm quitting.

Right after this last one.

^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^

I'm obviously not talking about my husband or any human being. I'm talking about cigarettes. It is high time I end my relationship with these toxic sons-a-bitches.

I've already started the process at which I was the most successful quitting. It may take a few weeks, but I'll get there. I've already chewed so much gum my teeth squeak.

I'll have to have some sort of nicotine replacement while I taper off of the cigarettes. It will be worth it to buy some nicotine gum, regardless of the high cost because I'll save much more money than I'll spend.

I remember when the price of cigarettes went from 75 cents to 95 cents. I swore I would quit smoking when they cost more than 1 dollar.

I didn't.

Cigarettes in Texas, at the time of this writing, cost $6.69 for my brand. With a tax of $1.41, I'm shelling out over $8.00 every time I buy a pack. It is simply too much.

Symptoms of my recent illness included a cough and pretty severe chest pains. If my wallet can't convince me to quit, surely my health will. It will, right? RIGHT??

For even more motivation to quit, I looked up how much cigarettes cost in New York. We are moving to New York within the next year or so. There, at the time of this writing, cigarettes cost $12.85 per pack with a tax of $4.35. I would have to pay $17.20 for each pack. Damn! I think heroin is cheaper. At the New York price and based on how many cigarettes I smoke per day right now, I would be spending over $3,000.00 per year. That's more than property taxes!!!

And my husband smokes more than I do.

So, it is time. For all the reasons. And I'm starting today.

*unwraps another piece of gum

*wishes it had nicotine

Last time I quit, I allowed myself to gain as much weight as I needed in order to kick the addiction. I gained 50 pounds (22.6 kg). That's a lot of weight to gain. I also gained diabetes and too high cholesterol.

I can't allow myself to gain that much this time. Also, I apologize in advance for getting extremely short tempered. I'll do my best to keep my snarky comments and opinions in my brain.

For accountability purposes, this is my taper program:

  • 1st week 10 cigarettes per day

  • 2nd week 9

  • 3rd week 8

  • 4th week 7

  • 5th week 6

  • 6th week 5

  • 7th week 3

  • 8th week 0

I may actually completely stop sooner than 8 weeks out, but a do want to give myself a little bit of cushion. My official quit date will be February 14. Valentine's day. Because quitting is good for my heart.

And my wallet.

So.

Here goes. . .

🚫🚫🚫❌❌❌🚬🚬🚬

24
$ 14.13
$ 13.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
+ 13
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

I have never tried a cigarette in my life, and the truth is that my father is what has made me not even curious. He smoked, and a lot, it destroyed his health.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah. Don't start!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good luck on your quitting journey Jonica. I've been a smoker since I was 13 years old. Like you I quit many times, the longest for years and yet I keep coming back. I guess the problem is that I really like smoking 😅 If I was to buy cigarettes in the shops here in UK, the prices are £12+

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I started a bit younger while I still lived in Germany. But, yes. Over 40 years of smoking. I really need to quit. My mind is playing tricks on me today. It's how addiction works. My mind is trying to trick me by telling me my body is in pain and a cigarette will fix the pain. Head ache or tooth ache or neck, back, shoulder pain. It's throwing everything at me. I'm ahead of schedule, only smoking 7 cigarettes yesterday. But today is tough!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, I know all those trick too well. My body’s favourite when I try to quit is bloating.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I get bloated from everything I put in my mouth that isn't a cigarette. Cheese, chocolate, crackers, everything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hhmm, first I want to commend your boldness and sincerity here, it's the first step towards quitting. It shows that you know addiction is bad and you're willing to quit. But the next problem you might encounter is your husband, why don't you convince him so you both can work it out together, or else he might drag you back to smoking if you succeed. Good luck to you.

By the way, I'm new here, just a day old on the platform and I love your article and your pattern of writing, you are a creative writer and I hope to learn from you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Welcome to read.cash. He won't pull me back in. It wouldn't be wise for both of us to quit at the same time. Nicotine withdrawal cause extreme irritability. I'm very cranky! Both of us quitting at the same time is a recipe for disaster and hurt feelings.

He'll quit, too, if he wants. I know though about addiction to know if you don't want to quit whatever, you won't.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay dear, I've learned one more from this, about nicotine withdrawal difficulty. I'm not addicted to it so I may never understand , I wish you all the best, and do well to share your success story so other people can learn from you. You are a good soul and I appreciate that a lot about you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

they are addictive pf course. I had been in your way once. But I quit for good when I got pregnant with my firstborn. and luckily, I stopped right away. I'm not that addicted that much at that time yet, I cannit finish one pack a day and the level of nicotine that I had is still low.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I quit through each of my pregnancies but started shortly after each daughter was born. But I have never smoked inside the house, so they haven't been too affected. I hope. They are all adults now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Best of luck to you. The only way it ever worked for me was cold turkey. But of course everyone is different. I smoked for about 13 years, then quit for about 10 only to take it up again for about another 5 before resorting to vaping, which I have been doing for about 7.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Do you vape nicotine cartridges? I really don't want to be dependent on anything. Especially nicotine.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I use a mod and tank combo, and yes. There is nicotine in the juice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

See, for me, I want to break the addiction. I feel like a slave.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think you have the right idea. I would never recommend to anyone to trade one bad habit for another.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good to read you again. And I wish you success in your venture. I was a smoker for many years and quit quite some time ago. And now I pay the consequences with lungs always with increased reactivity. It is not pleasant. Especially when I feel cold or get wet in the rain.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I understand that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oooh, do they ever throw like that? You don't need any plan!!!!! You will never quit that way! If you're going to quit, quit right here, right this second. Start in the morning. If you have the willpower, you can do it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I've been unsuccessful in quitting that way in the past but have been very successful with my tapering plan. I'm already ahead of the game! I gave myself 10 cigarettes each day for this week (starting Thursday) but have only smoked 8 each day. So, I think I will beat my quit date.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish you well friend... I care about you.... And your wallet... (:

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me and my wallet are going to get pretty fat in the next few months.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As there is no love lost between me and the Marlboro guy (he's the reason Dad needed a triple heart bypass and why he developed COPD) I am cheering you on in this journey! You can do it!!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks!! I'm eating a lot of popcorn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Decision not too bad to make... it was a good one

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad you are putting an end to smoking,just stay by your words and you would be fine sis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am. I am so stubborn about this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad you are quitting especially because of your health and to save up the amount you spend for cigarettes which could go for something else.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can buy a lot of crypto for that amount of money. Or mushrooms. I could buy a lot of mushrooms.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's very good to make that decision, am so happy for you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm happy for me, too, but terrified at the same time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is good to quit that. I am not a judge to people who smoke but when it comes to expenses, I totally agree that having cigarette is very expensive, especially in my country.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It just isn't worth it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good decision to quit smoking mate!. You reminded me of my former colleague. He struggled to quit at first but he pushed himself and now, he is smoke free already!. I mean he do not smoke even single stick at all!.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is really hard to quit. Especially when it has been such a big part of my life for 40+ years.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I agree..it requires a lot of effort..I know you can do it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can do it! It is good both for your health and your wallet. If you have some cravings, eat some of your delicious mushrooms :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Planning on making some beef, onion, and mushrooms today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great that you came to realize how they are affecting negatively in your life. I wish you all the best in quitting smoking.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks. I'll need it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is good step to break a toxic relationship especially about smoking. At old age your lungs become weak so it is not affordable to exchange gases when you smoke. Good to see you after couple of months dude.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Howdy, Zeshan! Good to see you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believed you are talking about a man at first 😅 I also want to stop smoking but I think I am not strong enough, I always have problems and I feel I "must" smoke a cigarette. .. I hope you can do it and you will never go back to "him".

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope so, too. I think I will be able to. I'm worried I'm going to get really fat!! Again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm so glad you took the decision to quit smoking and I really do hope you stand on your word... can't wait to see you healthy :) Blessings

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I will. I'm stubborn like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I respect that.. a lotttttt

$ 0.00
2 years ago