The Wrath Of Odette

25 49
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago
Topics: Typhoon, Disaster, Experience, Write, Self, ...

December 16, 2021

Thursday

9:20 PM

Your anger, your screams, we heard it all. The way you blew everything that got into you, we saw it all. Your vengeful screams keep us awake. We're freezing and crying, witnessing your wrath. 

 

This was the first time we experienced this one. Although we have experienced being hit by a typhoon many times, it's not as damaging as this. Cebu City was always safe whenever there was a calamity. Every super typhoon will only cause a little storm but it won't cause so much damage. Cebu City was always safe when it comes to disasters and calamities. But this super typhoon that hit us last night was way stronger than we expected. 

 

We live in a higher area of town than most, so when there is a major flood, we don't always get flooded.And also, our area is filled with big houses, which are mostly two-story houses. That's why the wind is not that strong when it hits us. 

 

It was Monday when the neverending rain started pouring. It was still okay because it doesn't have a strong wind yet, so we're comfortable with it. Not until Thursday, when the weather forecast center announced that supertyphoon Odette would make landfall in Bohol at 8 p.m.The problem is that it's slower than the other typhoon before. It traveled at 20 kph with a strong wind of 140 kph. That's why it caused so much damage.

 

It was 3 in the afternoon when we started to feel the very strong wind. The rain was not that heavy, but the wind was. At exactly 5 in the afternoon, while I was reading articles on my laptop, the electricity went off. The same thing with the water. The problem is that I haven't charged my phone and the battery percentage was only 67%. That's why I really need to use my phone wisely so that it won't drain my battery right away.

 

The wind began hitting us so strongly, along with the rain. That's when all of us started to panic because of how strong the wind was. It was no longer an ordinary typhoon. We even got more panicked when the roof of our room started to crack as the wind kept hitting it. The rain water was already in our bedroom because of the crack in our roof, and our bed was all wet. Everything was already wet. We then started moving all our stuff to our grandparents' house, which is just right beside our house. As we moved our stuff, the crack in our roof got bigger and bigger as the wind kept on hitting it. Our bedroom almost became a swimming pool. 

 

At 7 in the evening, the wind gets even stronger and stronger as the time passes by. We're staying on the terrace, watching how the wind broke down all the trees everywhere. It was 9 p.m. when we heard a loud bang in our house, and the first thing I thought of was that it was the roof in our room. Based on how we heard the loud bang, the roof was already open. 

 

My cousins and my uncles were just watching outside on the terrace in case there was some debris from fallen objects. My other cousins were also the ones who rescued our cousins who lived not far from our house. They need to be rescued because they have a 1-year-old baby and their house is not strong enough. My cousin, along with my other cousin's boyfriend, was the one rescuing our relatives with the use of a motorcycle. They couldn't pass on the road because it was already blocked by huge trees. They were not able to rescue my aunt, who was left all alone in their house, because even the single motorcycle couldn't pass the road because everything was blocked.

 

We switch places with my sister to look out for the kids. I sometimes peek outside to see what is happening. If you walk outside, you will surely get blown by the wind too. I couldn't sleep. I even forgot that I hadn't eaten dinner yet. I didn't even feel hungry at all because my mind was preoccupied with the typhoon. One thing that keeps us all awake is the transformer in front of the house. It's an old transformer, and we're worried that it might fall right on the house.

We're also worried about the animals and our pets, especially the love birds that were on the terrace. The fish were just left where they were, at the back of the house. Max and Slogo were staying at my aunt's house. 

Then, exactly at 11pm, the wind and rain finally stopped. But it's not finished yet as it was just the middle of it. At that time, we were already at the eye of the storm, which is why it stopped for an hour. I was able to sleep for a few minutes, then later on got awakened by the very loud sound of the wind at 1 am. I only had 3 hours of sleep at that time. I don't know why, but I didn't get tired at all. 

 

That was really a traumatizing experience to all of us here. Feels like we experienced what other places have had experience before and we don't want it to happen again.

Nature truly is amazing and powerful. It brings a beautiful disaster that everyone should keep an eye on. Never belittle nature, because once it strikes back, it is worse than you expected it to be.

Jini's Note

My apologies if all of a sudden I went missing in action for how many days. I apologize if I was not able to visit and read your articles and became inactive. After the typhoon Odette strikes, we lost our internet connection then for a few seconds there was already no network coverage, all networks. And for the last time I was able to post an update on noise cash and that was my last update and I guess it was December 17.

We traveled few kilometers and even climb to the roof just to get a signal or network coverage. And luckily I was able to get access and post an update in here. Until now we still don't have electricity and no network coverage but we're all safe and we're doing fine in here. Thanks for your concerns.

I hope you guys still know me hahaha lol

Thank you for staying ❣️

17
$ 6.92
$ 6.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 8
Sponsors of Jinifer
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago
Topics: Typhoon, Disaster, Experience, Write, Self, ...

Comments

It has been a while Jinifer 🙋 This was really terrifying to read, and I can't even imagine being caught in that typhoon but I am glad you're safe, as well as your family

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry for everything that happened to you. How scary to face all of this. God bless all of you and Happy Christmas sis.. may this festival bring miracle into the lives of everyone who lost something or the other in this typhoon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Damn, that's really scary, I hope you and your family are all safe and okay with everything that's happening around you. Stay blessed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much sponked, we're all fine in here and we're okay now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks god at safe kayo sis, sila ate marinov dikopa nakita ulit dito. Wala pa sapa ung si ate murakamii? Diko alam basta ayann. Sana save lamg silaaaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana nga okay lang sila. Nakaka trauma talaga to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is such a horror scene. We experienced that before here in Metro Manila and Pagasa said that Metro Manila is on signal nber 1 only but then in the afternoon, the super typhoon hits us already and we are on signal number 4. We are not prepared for that and it gave us a lesson that we learned the hard way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lesson learned na talaga to sa'tin ate na dapat kahit signal number 1 palang is mag hands na tayo sa kahit anong sakuna

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God safe kayo. MIA kanga for ilang days . Sila Renren din at Marinov diko nakikita

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Baka until now Wala parin. Siguro network coverage sa kanila, kasi sa'min kahapon lang nagka ron. Pero until now dito sa'min wala parin kuryente. Salamat ate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though I am not from Phillipines, I can feel you and other people who are suffering from this calamity. I'm just praying that they can get the fair and sunny weather as before. The thing which made me happy that you and your family members are safe and my condolences with those who has already suffered from this and still suffering.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel sad about those people who also experienced this calamity, those people who live in an area that got hit by the typhoon. Thank you so much for your kind words, I really appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stay safe sis,I hope this typhoon doesn't gets out of hand so things can get normal soon,try to be on the safer side.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, we're okay and we're doing fine already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My heart goes with you, sis 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maraming salamat po ate!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I’m glad you weren’t hurt by the impact but my heart weeps over those affected by the sudden attack… it was really a terrible experience we will never wish for something as dangerous as this is in the coming year..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We really hope this won't happen again because this is so traumatizing. Thank you so much King! 💕

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you God. You're all safe Langga. The typhoon Odette is really strong. It's like Yolanda Langga.😭 Indeed, it's really traumatizing. It's really scary.😭 I didn't expect that the typhoon hit a lot of damages in our country.

The typhoon make a 3rd landfall in our province Langga.😭 My family cried a lot during the typhoon. They were really scared and give them a trauma.😭 It's really painful to the people who are homeless now.😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you ate. Hadlok gyud kaayo ang bagyo ate, pirti pagka kusoga sa hangin Myra nagyud kag mapalid. Pero thank goodness Kay okay ra imo family ate .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gayud Langga mao sad ingon sa akong mga igsoon.😭 Arang hinilakay nadaw nila ngadto sa perti kakusog.😭 Thank you Langga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I missed you, Mare!! Thanks God that you are all safe. Paano pala yung tita mong naiwan sa bahay niya, kumusta siya?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay lang naman Yung tita ko don, sobrang worry namin kasi siya nalang naiwan sa bahay kasi hindi nila ma rescue kasi yung daan hindi na madaanan. Pero thanks God okay lang siya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks to God that You are safed ate, sending hugs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Daghang Salamat dong :>

$ 0.00
2 years ago