Good Old Days

27 45
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago

Wish we could turn back time, to the good old days.

When our mama sang us to sleep but now we're stressed out.

- Stressed out (Twenty øne Pilots)

I was mentioned by @Corpsekunno in her recent article, which is "Nostalgic Memories From The Past: When I was Younger" and she wanted me to participate too. And she's also right. I don't have any new ideas about what to write about my new article. My mind is completely blank or what they call writer's block. Thanks to her, I finally have a new topic to write about. And it's an interesting topic too. 

Enough with the chit chats and here's my entry of "When I was a Kid"


Now playing: "I'm Just A Kid" by Simple Plan

When you're spending everyday on your own

And here it goes....

I'm just a kid and life is a nightmare

As I grew older, I found myself reminiscing about the happy and adventurous days of my childhood. When I watch children playing games that we used to play when we were their age, it makes me nostalgic. Knowing that, because they grew up in a generation where everything revolved around technology, it's becoming increasingly rare to see children playing and running around outside.

When I was a kid....

I used to steal Lola's ice candy.

© Google Images

Lola's ice candy was something I used to steal.

I always sneak in when I see Lola preparing ice candy to sell, and I occasionally assist her in creating ice candy. Because of the weariness from playing outside, I remember having some water every time I go home. Even if it's still half frozen, I always take one ice candy from the freezer. I'll smuggle the ice candy into my hips, between the garters of my shorts, regardless of how chilly it is, and then smuggle the ice candy out the window. For easy access, I always put the ice candy in the window. When I need to get back to my friends, I can easily grab it. I always use the backdoor because no one will notice if I slip an ice candy in there. Lmao

I always had a fight with my cousins.

© Google Images

I guess I don't have a cousin that I haven't had a fight with. All of my cousins had a fight with me already lol. I admit, I really am a super duper maldita little girl before (until know) hahha kidding. I always had a fight with my cousins and mostly we fight over small things, uhm, you know, kids arguing over small things. This cousin of mine wore my slippers, I have no idea that she's wearing it because I've been looking for it for couple of minutes already. Then my other cousin told me that this cousin of mine wore my slippers, so I immediately went to her to get my slippers because I badly wanna play with my other cousins too and they're playing "Takyan". I told her that I want my slippers back because I wanna play "Takyan" and she said that I should get her a slipper first in exchange for my slippers. I said "go get it by yourself and give me back my slippers" she didn't listen to me and I was so pissed because I wanna play Takyan already but I don't have slippers. Out of frustration I forcedly grab my slippers in her feet but I couldn't take it off because she locked it with her toes. Me, a hot headed little girl is so mad already and without hesitation I punched her in her face. I didn't feel sorry though and I didn't even regret punching her, I was surprised when she fights back and grab my hair. And that's the time I already in a berserk mode. I grab my slippers and slap it in her face. And yes, that's how maldita I was before.

I wasted my 10Pesos in exchange for guava leaves.

I was so dumb before. I was fooled by my older cousin. We were playing "Luto-Lutoan" and he's the one who owns a barbeque stand. He was selling barbeque and the money was guava leaves. I want to buy a barbeque too, but I don't have the money. I'm too lazy to get guava leaves from our neighbor's tree, and I'm also scared because they will get mad at me if they see me climbing on their guava tree. So, my cousin told me that if I really want some money (leaves), then I should buy the money that he has. I told him that I only had 10 pesos and he said it was okay and he gave me 20 guava leaves for 10 pesos. Ugh. Dumbass me.

I was an undefeated "Dampa" master in our place. 

If you ask me how competitive I was before, I will tell you. I'm more competitive than you think. I owned thousands of rubber bands and defeated everyone. Most of them were boys. I am one of the boys too. Like, most of my playmates were all boys. I also play "Pogs" and other games that played by boys.

I almost died, literally.

Me, my Lolo and my two cousins. The slide was located on the other side of the bridge

It was my aunt's wedding and I was one of the flower girls. It was held at a resort because it was a beach wedding. It was my first time swimming in a pool and I was so very ignorant. I saw lots of kids trying the slides, and I asked the random kid that I met at the pool if it was deep, and he said it was not. So, out of curiosity and also, my first time in a pool. I climbed the stairs and went to the slide. At the top, I saw my cousin sitting at the edge of the pool. I thought of impressing her and bragging that I tried the slide. So I sat and slipped. When I finally hit the water, I was shocked because it was so freaking deep. The first thing I thought was that the random boy had just lied to me. I don't know how to swim. I tried to reach the edge where my cousin was sitting, but she didn't notice me. I really thought I was gonna die at that time. I thought to myself, "So, I guess it's the end". Then I saw a man running towards me. He lent his feet to me so that I could grab them. When I finally grabbed his feet, he pulled me closer to the edge. I was so thankful to that man. He owes my life. Sadly, I don't remember him. I didn't even see his face clearly and I didn't have any idea who he was. I consider him my guardian angel, my life saver. 


Unfortunately, not all childhood memories are cheerful and fun. There are some aspects of my childhood that I'd like to forget about. A dark memories that keeps on bugging me until now.

I was told when I get older

All my fears would shrink

But now I'm insecure

And I care what people think

- Twenty øne Pilots


Author's Note:

I do enjoy reminiscing my stupid doings before lmao. I still have a lot to tell but I don't want to make this long, so I only chose these five.

I hope you enjoyed reading my childhood memories.

Thank you for passing by and spending some time reading my article. You can always hit the Subscribe button if you want to.

Arigathankyougozaimuch ❣️

12
$ 0.52
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.08 from @LucyStephanie
+ 7
Sponsors of Jinifer
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jinifer
2 years ago

Comments

Wow good thing the guy saved you. I know he will be blessed because of what he did.

Oh I remember we used to sell ice candy too. And of course we would eat some as well. Hahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yung bayabas nagdala, sis :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganon po ako kadaling mauto dati haahhahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dahon lang din pambili naman sa guava leaves! Sana naging kalaro kita 😆😆 anyways, nalunod din ako nung bata ako akala ko katapusan ko na. Sa river naman ako. Inagos. Katanga ko naman yon, hinabol ko tsinelas ko hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahha Ganon ako kadaling ma uto dati 😂 Pero katakot naman yung sa sapa, Buti nalang may naka ligtas sayo, pero ako never pa akong nakaligo sa sapa eh 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha ngayon hindi na ba? 😂

Hinabol ako ng mga kuya ko at pinsan. Lakas pa agos non e haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bat naman nagbayad ka ng 10 pesos para sa dahon ng bayabas HAHAHHAHAH. Anyways bata ka naman kaya understandable 😂. Gagawa na nga rin ako nento hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang dali ko talagang mauto dati 😭😭 HAHAHAH Gawa kana rin nang version mo HAHAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really don't understand the language but the article was so good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am guessing you learnt to swim after that escapade!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha yes, but I'm really not that good in swimming. I can only swim in a not so deep area, or like a shallow water

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe well at least you can swim, that is the main thing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That guava leaves experience is a funny one :D Thank goodness you were saved from the pool. That must have been traumatizing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup, I was fooled by my cousin, I was so dumb that time, I guess until now HAHAHA

And yes, to the guy who saved me, I consider him my life saver and my guardian angel ❣️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's not your fault. It's your cousin who is fooling himself. For he knows it's wrong but he did it anyway.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa Rubber Bond magaling ako dyan Sis 🥰 halos lahat ng kalaro ko natatalo ko haha ang dami ko din ganyan, ginagawa ko binibenta ko tapos tatalunin ko sila ullit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahahah same, binebenta ko sa kanila tas kakalabanin din ulit 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa dampa lang ako naka relate, tho di ako ganon kagaling jan pero sa Jack stone saka sa chinese garter sama mo na rin ang luksong tinik ahaha. Favorite namin laruin yan nong elementary. Napakasayang balikan ng nakaraan kung saam bata lamg tayo ang wala pang problema na iniisip sa mundo no.

Pero grabi naman ung dahon ng bayabas para sa real money ahahaha. Bat naman ganon 🤧😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True po, na budol ako non ng pinsan ko 🤧😭 HAHAHA

Pero same din sa Chinese garter pero hanggang leeg lang kaya ko, kapag sa ulo hindi ko na kere 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahirap talaga yan, kaya dapat malambot na short ang double mo sa palda mo ee at baka makita ang naka smile na si nene. Bwahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naka smile na si Nene 😭😭😭😭 omg ateeee ruffaaa muntik ko na mabuga yung tubig na ininom ko 😭😭🤣 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bwahahahaha, bat muntik lang saduuu naman. Bwahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

relate much lalo na dun sa dampa HAHAHAH sakit sa kamay nun. minsan binibilognamin yung papel tas naglalaban kami ng pinsan ko. yung hangin kasi yung nagpapatilapon dun. And daya nga eh my technique sya, dahil di ko makita kung natatamaan ba nung mabilis nakamay nya yung papel kaya nagkakaroon ng force dun sa papel , kaya ayun mas malakas sakanya samantala naman yung sakin dugo na yung kamay bago pa tumilapon yung bolang papel HAHAHAAH.... miss the old days with my cousinss. thanks for the content naalala ko ang mga iyon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awee, I'm glad you appreciate my article 😍💕

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nabudol ka ng cousin mo sis.😅 Haruuyy jusko..yang curiosity na yan, nakakasama talaga yan eh. Buti na lang at nasagip ka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh, alam mo na isip ng bata kung ano ano nalang iniisip. Pinagalitan pa ako ni mama non eh, pero thankful talaga ako don sa taong tumulong sa'kin non, kung di dahil sa kanya siguro Wala na ako 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He served as your guardian angel sis. Hindi ka talaga pinabayaan ni Lord.

$ 0.00
2 years ago