Not all cry should be answered with YES

Avatar for JenThoughts
1 year ago
Date: May 16, 2022

Are you a parent or a guardian? Are you with a child most of the time? If yes, you know how a cry of a child means. They might be needing or wanting something right? But do you know that not all the time that they will cry, we will say yes to them. We will talk about it now.


Hello my dear read.cash family. How are you this time? I really hope so that everyone is in good health. We all need a good health right? So, keep hydrated by drinking lots of water specially this summer season. Water plays a vital role in one's health.


A child cry over a toy

Unsplash. Image for sample purpose only

Yesterday, we had our Bayanihan in the church but men is the most needed in the work. So, women is in charge to prepare and cook food for our lunch and merienda. Some of our churchmate went here in our new small house to cook for food. One of our churchmate brought her son with her. So, her son is playing silently enjoying my son's toy car. It is okay with my son because he also wants to play with the child.

When we are about to leave to bring the food, the child doesnt want to go out without a toy car. He play with different toys but he likes the most that yellow toy car and wanted to bring it with him.

The child cry loudly and I felt pity on him. I told her mom at first just to bring it and then return it when his son done playing with it. Her mom agreed with me but after a seconds I remember our experience with my son regarding with the same situation. I told her that before I never let my son bring anything from a friend, a neighbor, a churchmate or anyone because I am worried that he may grow thinking that he could get anything through crying. I just let him cry. Then, she decided to get the toy car and leave it while his son is crying even more.

Is it right that I told her about it? It seems that I don't want her son to borrow my son's toy. But for me, I just share how I handle my son regarding that matters.

Our own experience

Unsplash. Image for sample purpose only

One day, we visited our God parents (Ninong and ninang sa kasal). They have a grandson who has a lot of toys. We can see toys everywhere. His father is a police man and for sure he could afford to buy a lot of toys for his son. My son who is 2 or 3 years old that time is enjoying his toys with him. To make the long story short, we decided to go home and as expected, a child wants a toy. My son wanted a particular toy and he cried over it. The grandpa said to his grandson to give that toy to my son and never minds about it because he has a lot of toys. His grandson is kind enough and agreed with his grandpa to give that toy to our son. But, I told our God father (ninong) this:

Ninong, we are glad to know that your grandson is willing to give it to Sam-sam (our son), thank you so much but we cannot accept it. Please don't be mad or please don't think negative about it ayaw lang namin na masanay sya na everytime we will visit a home and he find something interesting to him, iiyak lang sya para makuha nya ang gusto nya. It is not good, right? We will just let him cry, dont worry he will stop crying very soon.

Our Ninong agreed and understand our side. That is not the only experience we have about it but it happened many times from different houses and we did the same thing.

The result of saying No

As our son grows, he learned to understand that when visiting someone's house he could play freely but make sure to return and leave toys there. He didn't own it, he just borrowed it, so never bring it home.

We are happy that he understands about it now. One day he went to his friend's house and play there. I don't know what is their conversation there but he runs home and told me, Mama kuya Chaz want to give me a toy, he said that it is damaged (Remote control car but didn't function well now) but it is still good to play. Will I accept it?

I never thought that he will ask permission from me to accept it or not. I told him that if he will give it to him and he likes it then why not? I asked him what to say if kuya Chaz will give it to him. He said "Thank you" and ran back to his friend's house.

He went home with an additional toy car. Accepting it is far different if we allow to accept a toy when he is still young and cry over it. This time, he never cry over it, but a friend freely give it to him and he is hesitant to accept it and ask my permission.

Closing thoughts

Not all cry should be given. Not all cry should be answered with yes. We can say No if we know that saying No is the right thing to do.

How we train or how we react in the early years of a child will have a big impact when they grow. So, as parents let us help our child become a good child, a good student, a good citizen someday.

Disclaimer:

I am not a perfect mother, we are not a perfect parents nor our son is perfect but I am just sharing this experience hoping to help a parent or a mother like me.

Thank you for reading. I hope you
learn something.

9
$ 2.77
$ 2.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Unity
$ 0.03 from @Eunoia
+ 3
Sponsors of JenThoughts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JenThoughts
1 year ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Some people are so polite that they avoid saying "no." But, "no" is sometimes an answer we may have to say. Knowledge helps to make judgments.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes saying no is a must sometimes

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I got another lesson from a parent today, need din po talaga natin ipaintindi sa mga kids na lahat nang gusto nila may limitations yung mga bagay na gusto nila and need natin silang disiplinahin habang bata pa

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Im happy that you learn something. It's a plus when you become a parent soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Beautiful Jen. I agree with this. The best time is to start early and teach the child how to be disciplined.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Halos tanan man sis guro na inahan naka agi sa stage nga "not all cry should be answered with yes" labi na ug walay kwarta or para sa atoa Dili Sya maayo. Dili nato e spoiled atoang anak kay para di magfeneling pagdako ug Dili pud bayag tamang panahon naa ta perme para makahatag nila. Wag jud niy dulaan akoang anak sis nga pinalit namo tanan hatag mas gi prioritize nako ang pagkaun sa iyaha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Bitaw sis oi.. bisan ako mas mupalit ko damit nya or gamit kaysa sa dulaan kay maguba lang ehheeh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Akoang anak sis ing ana jud kadtong mga 2-3 years old pa siya pero karon kay 5 naman siya makasabot na kung e explain nako sa iyaha .Grabe sauna oy every sweldo ni bana naa jud siyay duwaan kay di man sad nako mabili maong dalhon nako mao lage mangayog duwaan niya mohilak ,moligid jud.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Si sam2 kaluy an wa nakaagi ug ligid sa mall or mga stall. Ako lang ingnon sauna nga touch lang din say bye mutuo man oud hehehe.. Karon ako ingnon nga mahal man mag ipon sa ta heheeh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala pa ako anak pero tinapos ko and may natutunan nanaman ako of course. Disiplina din talaga ang pinakadapat na maituro sa mga bata para hindi spoil brat

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Im happy sis na you learn something. You can apply it in the future. Peru mahirap din gawin nyan kasi darating sa point na maawa or magalit ka sa anak mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oww, I learned something today from birth parents, hehe. I will adopt the same if I am a father of my own. Toys of others should be for them. When I was young, life was hard, and often, everything was a NO, and yeah, I'm angry with that. Then now comes the realisation, hehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am happy that you learn something. It is very hard to deal with it because you will feel pity on your child soon but when you said yes, later on parents na ang kawawa kasi mapahiya na sa gagawin ng anak.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love the way you trained your child. You e trained him with some morals that he can portray anywhere and people will speak well of him.if we keep saying yes to babies cry,we will spoil them with a lot of things and it will be hard to change them when they grow. You're a great mother As a matter of fact, this is how African mothers train their children. Nice to meet you my friend.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am happy that you're here. Nice to meet you too. As parents, we are trying our best to discipline our child as early as possible.

$ 0.00
1 year ago