Money: A gift, a help or a vote buying?

21 48
Avatar for JenThoughts
1 year ago
Date: May 06, 2022

My eyes is aching right now, I think they are saying to let me sleep for a while. I want to but for now, I will write an article first because tomorrow is my restday, a Sabbath rest and I won't be here tonight until tomorrow. I can be back possibly at night and I'm not sure if I can still write another article. So, I won't miss the chance I have now. I will just relax for a while and continue to write.

How are you in there? I hope everyone is doing well.


I have seen a lot of post in noise.cash about ayuda or help and some called this as vote buying. Other considered it as a mere gift from those people who are running for 2022 election.

How about you? What can you say about those packs of rice, noodles, canned goods and money?

  • Is it a gift?

  • Is it a help?

  • Is it a vote buying?

Cash with 2kg rice and 2 sardines from a partylist

Gift

Money, rice, canned goods and noodles can be someone's gift to someone or group of people. Who wouldn't be happy recieving gifts like that? It's a practical gift isn't it?

My ninong or god father called me yesterday if I am available at 2pm to attend a meeting with the group of running officials. I told him that Sam-sam (my son) is still asleep that time and I will be pity unto him if I will wake him up just to go there. He told me that the running councilor told him that every attendees will receive 400.00 or $4 as a gift. Oh it's quite big, because last day I think I just received 100.00 or $1 from a running Governor. So I told him that I will just update him if I can go.

Around 2:30pm he called again and said come here now. I told him that if it is okay with him, I will just let my husband go there after his work. Fortunately, he said yes and I told my husband about it.

When my husband is home I asked him about the meeting, and they really received that amount.

Is it a gift? As what they said so.

Cash with these from running councilor

Help or ayuda

I can always hear, let's go and attend a meeting because there is some ayuda there. I opened google and try to translate the word ayuda to English and found out that the word ayuda is a Spanish word and its translation is help. So, this is the reason why I used the word help.

Our neighbor who is a leader told me that she will add my name in the list who can avail the ayuda from the running officials. I told her if it is okay though I will not be voting unto him. She said that we will just received their help because we weren't able to receive some from them during the pandemic.

Today's ayuda or help is for what? Help for pandemic? It is too late. Why they are giving some help nowadays and not when the pandemic strikes where people needed it the most. Most people during lackdowns lost their job and lost their daily source of income. How I wish they are giving these during those days.

But I'm not saying we wouldn't be thankful for that ayuda or help, still we are.

Cash from running Governor

Vote buying

Can a vote be bought? Can they buy your vote? When your vote is considered bought?

Ever since, this is my first time to attend different meetings with what so called gift or help. Might be because I don't have work now and just stay at home. Employees seldom joined this activity because it is obvious that they are in their workplace most of the time.

Personally, I received gift packs with rice, noodles and canned goods. I also received t-shirt with a cash in it, a canned goods with some cash and an envelope with cash.

Recieving such kind (goods or cash) wouldn't be considered vote buying if you won't let your decision or your choices influenced by those things.

It becomes vote buying when you already have choices and changed it just because someone gave you a big amount.

On the otherhand, if you already choose them and they gave you some cash then it's a gift.

Gift packs? Ayuda? help? Cash? or anything? Just received it if you want. If you don't want, then no problem. They will just give it to others who are willing to receive.

Let's vote wisely on May 09, 2022 my dear Filipino friends.

Disclaimer: This is merely my own opinion about this matter. How about yours? I would love to hear your opinion too.

Sponsors of JenThoughts
empty
empty
empty

Thank you my dear sponsors. Thank you also to you, I know you will fill my block someday. Thanks in advance. Thank you also @Tomi-Ajax for sponsorship renewal.

Thank you for reading. See you
again in my next article.

If you want to read my previous articles, just click HERE.

Lead Image: Cash from running mayor

12
$ 4.47
$ 4.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Shohana
+ 8
Sponsors of JenThoughts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JenThoughts
1 year ago

Comments

I think vote buying will always be present in every election. What we should do is to still be wise on the selection and never get swayed by the money given.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Korek! that's a right thinking sis.. Let's still vote wisely

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your people are even trying, they gave out cash, in here, it's so far from it... And yes, money shouldn't change your vote, it shouldn't be able to buy your vote, though I thought that after they've given one the cash or gifts, they'll have some people to stay around and ensure that the person that received the gifts eventually votes in their favor.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes they have some people in the voting area but they are not allowed to look at your ballots..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

pag may ayuda recieve lang ng receive di naman nila makikita balota mo eh hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Korek moooniac, powerful na talaga sila kapag makikita nila sino binoto mo hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Money is almost everything!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That was a very good ayuda my friend, such kinds of gifts wouldn't be considered vote buying, if we don't let our choices or decisions influence by them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes thats true sis... Are you going to vote too on Monday?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yong iba, tatanggapin talaga nila yan kasi mahigpit ang pangangailangan. Gaya Mama ko naka receive 500 kahapon. Ee paubos na agad ung 600 na bigay ko sa kanya. Sayang din daw kaya ni grab na. Pero for sure naman bobotohin pa rin nya yong sa tingin nya ee nararapat dun sa position na un so ehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Korek sis! Kahit ako tatanggapin ko hehehe pinamigay eh...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tanggapin na lang natin kung may ibibigay sila sis. Pero wag lang tayong magpaapekto sa kanilang ginagawa o wag lang maapektuhan ang ating boto sa kanilang binibigay. Dapat kung sino talaga ang ating napupusuan na kandidato, dapat yun ang ating iboto.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Tam sis.. hwag hayaang mabili ang ating mga boto.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dapat wais talaga ee sa pagpili.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Tama sis kaya hwag magpapadala sa mga binibigay na gift hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Vote wisely na lang sis. Tanggapin ang ayuda then vote for someone who deserves the spot. Actually dito sa ncr walang ganyan, kaya ung iba umuuwi sa probinsya to cast their votes and at the same time para makakuha ng ayuda. Matagal ng kalakaran satin yan eh, kaya dapat sa mga nagbibigay ng ganyan eh kunin lang tapos wag iboto, kasi pag nanalo yan babawiin nila ung ginastos nila.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Talaga sis wala dyan? siguro dahil sa sobrang dami ng tao unlike dito na siguro kaya lang nila

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True sis, mauubos ang pondo nila. Siguro sa ibang lugar meron din ung may mga kapit pero sa sobrang tagal ko na dito bihira ako makarinig ng bayaran

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di siguro kaya i accommodate lahat..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naa nay nangamang diha sis?Hehe joke ra ,dere so far wala man sad puy ing ana ,murag normal naman jud nas mga pinoy sis oy kay lage nangayo silag boto nato maong naay itunol ,pero depende ra gud pud nato kung sila ba ato botaran basta ang importante wa ta mangayo nila.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mao sis botohon ang nauyunan di kay butuhon na lang kay natagaan

$ 0.00
1 year ago