From my war diary

26 59
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

March 1999

"Here again. Six floors underground. And upstairs, outside, the night is quiet. Like yesterday. Like March 24 when it all started. It is quiet until we hear that sound again. A warning war siren and then the silence... Scary silence. Sounds of airplanes flying. Why is the sky so scary? Why are they doing this? We are afraid of the sky. The news says that an operation called "Noble Anvil" or "Merciful Angel" is being performed in the sky. They are not sure what is the correct name of the operation. But does it matter? There is certainly nothing noble or merciful in all this. The next news is that the child died in the toilet when shrapnel flew through the window. A train with passengers was hit. Maternity hospital and national television. They threw something bad off the planes. Some depleted uranium. They say we are all going to get sick.

What is this? I do not know. Maybe I will know tomorrow. Now I want to sleep. But I can't sleep. Here, 6 floors underground. People are noisy. Mom is worried. Dad is somewhere, we don't know where. Defends us. I just want to get out of here and go upstairs to my room, to play a Super Mario game. I missed two episodes of my favorite series. I want this to end. I can't listen to these noisy people. There is no air. I didn't even know that under the building we have a place like this called a shelter. I listen to what they say. They wonder what we will do if bombs fall on our building. The ruins will bury the shelter forever and we will die here. I don't want to listen to this. I want to go upstairs."

23 years ago, on this day, March 24, the bombing started in my country, which lasted for three months. As an eleven-year-old child, I was not aware of the danger to the extent that it was dangerous, but I kept a diary of everything that was happening.

Now, after many years, I feel more stressed when I think of war than I did then, especially while reading the diary. The war took a lot of victims, and because of the radioactive substances of depleted uranium, a lot of people got cancer after the war. We still feel the consequences today.

Unfortunately, despite all the negative effects of wars, people are still at war, society is stagnating, we are losing lives and suffering the consequences. I hope that the world will wake up in peace soon and that wars will be just a memory of something that must not be repeated and that should forever remain only in the diary.

Thank you for reading.

The article is original and mine. The lead image is from unsplash.com.

19
$ 2.51
$ 2.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @foryoubtc09
+ 11
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

In previous days I've written an article that talks about the agony bring by war. Indeed, there's none goodness brings but violence. I feel so pity for those people who suffers from that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope that society will one day progress enough to realize that every war is lost and that we must learn to live in peace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's true war is always associates with failures. Leaders should understand this concept. They need to down their pride cause pride sometimes is negative.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wars are very bad because they bring destruction and devastation everywhere they do. I hope that peace will prevail soon and all wars on earth will end and we will all live in safety in this world.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope so too. Living in peace is the only way of living that makes sense and is worth living.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right, my friend. Until now, I have not been able to understand why these countries are fighting each other to control a piece of land and killing their citizens.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I was older than you 1999 ,I was 19 years old,when it happened to our country but I felt every single word of your diary because the fear was the same,the anxiety and thought mixed with questions Why?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right. The fear was the same and the stressful memories stay with us forever. When I hear the sound of a war siren, I always feel bad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was a very traumatizing moment of an 11 year old child who is not fully aware about the happenings in her surroundings. And I'm amazed of how strong you are sis, because you still able to fight those traumatizing memories you had when you were a child

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When we are children we are not aware of how dangerous some things are. We accept everything that happens more easily, but stresses and memories leave a mark and follow us throughout our lives. Thanks❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure you have a different vision and idea about what that word means... At the end all those wars are created by people who never feel anything you have described, some elite organize those conflicts for power and becoming even richer... paying with the suffering and pain of the human beings. Because for me those cannot be considered as human beings, maybe just beings.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree. These are just beings who use their power in the wrong way. Feelings are not important, only material gain. Society is receding, instead of moving forward in peace and prosperity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When we look at world history, we see that war took place in the center of the world. Before the 2 great world wars, great wars took place. There was almost always war all over the world. After the Second World War, the people of the world relaxed for a short time. However, the war always continued in different geographies. Military coups in South America during the Cold War years, civil wars in the African Continent, Afghanistan, the Middle East (Iraq, Syria)... Dear Jeka, people in those regions have been going through all these sorrows you mentioned for years. Ukraine is only a small part of it. Unfortunately, people ignore some facts before war comes to their doorstep. How a war is fought is as important as why it is fought. The laws of war must be obeyed because war is the cruelest reality in the world and can happen anytime, anywhere. Note: The USA (Nato) and Russia are playing some kind of war game in Ukraine. This game will not be finished in 2 days. As the war drags on, Europe will be in a stalemate, both economically and politically. When Europe gives up, this war game will be over. Unfortunately, at this time the Ukrainian people will suffer. Allah help the people of Ukraine. Amin.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

People always suffer. Unfortunately all wars are lost but the power of man is not so great to realize it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is painful to read the events of the memo of an eleven-year-old child with so much fear and dread. Instead of being filled with gentle memories. I hope that wars will stop all over the world so can people learn how to live together in peace, I was at similar age when the war started here, and unfortunately we are still experiencing its results

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope you haven’t had many traumatic experiences. The war in Syria was terrible. Were you in Syria all the time during the war? I have a lot of Syrian neighbors who have fled. I hope for peace too, that is all we need.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember when I was in my 3rd-year high school when I first experienced war. I went to school and to my shock, there were very few people. I was advised to go home and that school was canceled. Then in the afternoon, I saw a number of military tanks and trucks and I saw a fighter plane. It was like being in a movie or a nightmare.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I didn't know you experienced war either. I think the stress is even greater when there is a land war. In my case, there were air strikes...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We could feel the ground trembling. It didn't happen to my city but in nearby provinces where the "bridge" was the only boundary line lol. Evacuees came to our city, my school became an evacuation center.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is never good outcome of a war. Sorry that you have to experience such terrible times. That sounds traumatic.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree. It was not very traumatic because I was a child and I was not fully aware of the danger, but it certainly marked my childhood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to hear that. It's over now. But still we are witnessing it. You ok? Shall I make coffee for you?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am ok Luci, thanks. I don't drink coffee but you can make some exotic Indian drink for me 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That would be my pleasure

$ 0.00
2 years ago

life is a bettle field. We have to work hard.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Life has to be hard and we have to accept challenges.

$ 0.00
2 years ago