The Masks We Wear In Public and By Ourselves

41 68
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

You would probably think that this article mainly talks about the face masks we wear every day, and what type of masks we should wear to protect ourselves.

But this is something deeper. Something personal that will make you realized how you valued your life throughout the years.

I watched a youtube video earlier to instill inspiration in my heart. Then I realized that people wear masks every day. Not literally but the metaphoric deeper meaning behind it.

In a certain situation we face, we depend our actions based on how people will react to what we do. As a result, we tend to act small, hide ourselves and settle in a place where we think we consider safe.

The mask we wear in public.

We wear this type of mask to conform to how society has directed us to do. It's like we are just living in this world like puppets. I mean, there's nothing wrong with wearing masks, there must be a variety of reasons. Discipline, for one.

Now from a deeper personal perspective, the face a person shows in public may not be the true intentions and identity he is showing.

A comedian who works in a theatre. His job is to make people laugh, he gets paid for the amount of emotions he puts into the entire show. But have you ever wondered if they are really happy? If that's how they truly feel when they're on stage performing?

I must say, wearing this mask is not about having a fake personality. There must be a reason behind it. You just need to know why they have to do that. I believe they share something in common, and that's for their family.

They wear these masks not to fake their emotions. However, they do it for sacrifice. They sacrifice what they truly feel because of the unconditional love they invest for their loved ones.

However, these do not only apply to those who work to hide their emotions.

A student who leads a fraternity in school must have a reason why he became like one. The thing is, it is so easy to judge one's behavior and attitude and we mostly fail on how to dig deeper and internalize his true intentions.

A person who's sent in jail because he was charged for something he didn't do. Someone pretended to be him so that the crime will be focused on him. The case would be mistaken identity, as we speak. But how is he going to recover when his identity was falsified? He was accused for something he's not.

That's one fact that masking doesn't only apply based on personal decisions. There is a force someone has made it for him.

The masks we wear when we're alone.

Everybody can be against you, but you don't have to be against yourself.

At times, we look ourselves in the mirror and re-evaluate the life we lived for. Or did we? Sometimes I ask myself, are you happy from where you are right now? Is this what you have dreamed of?

For years, I think I have been living for the sake of satisfying the society, how people will think, how they label me as a person.

But this time around, I shouldn't betray myself anymore. I now know what I stand for, and I know what my heart truly desires. And I just decided to do it now. Took years for me to follow this but as they say, better late than never right?


Honestly, I have lost my rhythm upon writing this article for a prticusl reson so i am pretty sure this came out a bit disoriented but I still managed to write a 4-minute article so I think that would console myself.

Anyway, I hope you got the message I'm trying to convey.


By the way, I have been working on my new piano cover and I'm trying hard to upload it as soon as I can. I'm just having the hard time of juggling my activities here online to make money, doing my passion, and doing household chores and responsibilities. Seriously, I really need to catch up and upload a video soon.


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone. ❀

17
$ 20.89
$ 20.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
+ 11
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

Not disoriented. Everything was well said. I agree that we all wear our masks. There are even some people who wear mask just to show that they are a good person but deep inside their personality is the total opposite like the backstabbers. But it is with the people who smiles on the outside but is hurting on the inside are the people whom I really admire the most. Ang hirap kaya ngumit kapag nasasaktan. πŸ˜”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sukad pa sa una bisan ug guol na kaayu ko or naa koy problema ako ra gyud na itago kay di ko ganahan makasabot ang mga taw. Mo tago ko sa kwarto didto ko mo hilak pero ineg gawas nako naka smile ko para di nila halata.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naa gyud times nga ing ana. Di pwede ipakita nga weak kag heart. πŸ’”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo kay abusaran naman lang ka. Pasakitan nalang nuon ka permi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The mask we wear when alone got me thinking. I thought I was myself when I'm alone. But no, a lot of times I have this constant struggle to do what I like, or do what they expect you too. I fought hard with myself. Sometimes when the other self wins, I do things half-baked. Not fun.

Anyway, where can I see your video in case you're done and have uploaded it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is it about my piano cover? You can check it here.

https://youtube.com/channel/UCb71HsAjb04K74_R8C5Kxiw

Thank you ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, the piano cover. I watched it, damn you're good. I'm going to subscribe para mapanood ko ang latest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you ha. Sobrang liit pa bahay ko. Plan ko narin mg upgrade ng keyboard soon for better sounding. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tinood jud na madam, we can never tell what's behind that mask or behind that happy face. Usahay ning ana pud ko bisan sakit na ang boot, need gihapon to be okay in the outside for my patients.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kanang abi sa mga tawo og ok raka kay dako kaayo kag ngisi in front of them nya natural kaayo imong joke makatawa jd kaayo sila.. But sa likod anang tanan exhausted na kaayo ka physically and mentally.. nya og mosulti ka ingnan raka og oa ra kaayo.. Hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is right. πŸ₯Ί ang depression sab daw kay pang dato ra nga sakit. πŸ€·β€β™€οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Everybody can be against you, but you don't have to be against yourself."

Huhuhu tinamaan ako nito. Often, nagiging harsh na ako sa sarili ko and just accepted everything na binabto nila sakin. Kung anong tingin ng iba sa akin, yun din yung tingin kos sa sarili ko. Umabot na ako sa punto ng buhay ko ng kung saan I hated myself too much. I forgot to love myself and realized na ako nalang yung meron ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You've been too hard on yourself. That's self-betrayal. You know what your heart truly desires diba? It's time to focus on yourself na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will. Thank you for reminding me thus ate ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wearing a mask to be a Santa for a day hehe that is one of my dreams. Sometimes it's good sometimes it's not but showing who we really are is the best because we don't really need to hide our true emotions and it's just feel so good to be true :) 🌼🀭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Santa masking would be epic to make the kids happy. That's a touching rationale. 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my case, I don't wear a mask anymore every time I converse with you, my Lil Sis. The way I see it, you're starting to fully unmask yourself in front of me too. Sometimes, it's really hard for me to truly figure out what you're thinking. But soon, I know I'll get there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. You find me mysterious gyud no? Yeah, you are right. I'm starting to fully unmask myself and show who and what I want to be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can greatly sense your apprehension in answering my statements the last time we talked on the phone. Sabagay, normal ra man jud na nga maulaw ang babae kung gwapo ang lalake... I understand. (wicked smile.)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah diay?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When the society requires us to wear one even if it is against our will, we still wear it. Pro nkakapagod qng ganun. Better be ourselves than letting others see us what they need us to lool like. Prang sa its okay not to be okay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True din madam. It's exhausting to wear our masks and hide what we truly feel. Kaya maraming na dedepressed eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i watched on a cartoon that one powerful man control many poor people land and dominated them but then he trying to wear the mask of goodness to other people .. is not this is right about wear musk for themselevs in negative way?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is actually case to case basis. If you do it protect yourself from those people then that's reasonable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes this is true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have lost your rythm and got some typo "prticusl reson" πŸ˜… Ganun talaga. Iba dn mask kapag with the family at with the friends. .ganun ako.. Mas real pa nga kung with the friends kc sa bahay ni hindi nla ako kilala totally

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diba madam? Very evident na distracted eh πŸ˜† totoo, iba din mask natin for the family pero para sakin medyo na rereveal ko na true self ko sa family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako hndi.. Sa friends ako ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People who wear masks when dealing with others will sooner or later stop wearing them because they will get tired of being different from the way they really are inside. We must be ourselves whether others like it or not.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's tiring to not be ourselves all the time that's why many people get depressed because of how they've been holding on for too long.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Siguro lahat nmn tyo madam nkpagwear na ng mask not because to satisfy the society pero madami pding ibang dahilan.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Yes, my yen. Everyone of us has its own reason so we shouldn't judge their decisions. However, if it's something to do with crimes then that's a different animal to deal with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ai naku oo ibang usapan na yon. Yung sakin Yung wearing a mask to hide your burden ganorn.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I did get what you're trying to emply. Because I had to do it sometimes wearing those mask dependent on the situation And the person I am facing. I know its not good but I guess it's necessary and what's called from me. It's not bad it's trying to fit in and conform with what is right and needed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your comment. πŸ˜… yeah, it's also about trying to be respectful with the people around you in a certain situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it is. That's maybe the good thing we have even we don't like the people but we know how to be respectful within the situation we still chew the shallow reason of disliking and all. We are humans we have to deal with proper etiquette most of the times. Not unless we are being maltreated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right. The mask we wear is our identity. Our personality reflects who we really are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. Our true personality comes out if we can't hold on any longer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo to madam. Everybody wears different mask not literally a physical mask but yung totoong tayo. Laging nkatago for the sake of getting approvals from others. Even in noise, we often post happy thoughts and moments pero sa likod ng mga posts na yun, may sakit at lungkot na nararamdaman ang bawat isa. But what I like is that we choose to spread positivity despite yung mga personal problems natin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes madam. That's very accurate. Although I would say na some are posting those for tips. And I'm one of them πŸ™ˆπŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my case naman, I don't like spreading negativity kasi madam though minsan talaga dI natin maiwasan mabadtrip then mapost it hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago