How Do I Move On From This Break-up?

62 60
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

"Now I finally know what a heartbreak feels like".

So how do I even start with this one? I can't exactly describe the emotions I feel right now. I'm still in the stage of processing things over, and realize from time to time that is it really over?

It's been more than a week since I initiated the breakup. Weeks or months before I finally decided to give up, I have been so bothered by how the relationship was going. It wasn't the relationship I used to live with each day anymore.

The early years of the relationship were smooth and harmonious. I would say harmonious because back in the days, even if we had misunderstandings, we managed to handle issues together with open communication.

The honeymoon stage, as it is. It is a phase in the relationship when you are both oozing with love, attention, and passion. It was when you are always looking forward to every message he or she sends, the "I love you"-s and "I miss you"-s that never goes a day without them.

It was an ideal kind of relationship that we had. I was not really demanding of his time and attention, so he was with me too. We both respected our private lives, we never even knew each other's passwords on our social media accounts. We were both so understanding with each other. It was never a toxic relationship that you could think of. It was magical.

To give you an overview of how he is as a person, I would say that he's the kindest guy I have ever met. I have nothing bad to say against him. He's good with people. He's family-oriented. He's a loving son. He values his friends so much. He's well-loved with the people around him. He has this great humor that never fails to make me laugh always. He's also a good kisser. His hugs and kisses gave me the security and comfort that I needed.

However, the relationship grew colder when his family went through many challenges last year. His father died due to a heart attack. It was very sudden and untimely. I wasn't there to comfort him or be with him during the time being because of health risks, Covid cases were still at their peak. His mom went through a surgery last February for her gallstone removal. Financially, and physically, he has to step up and be the head of the family. Emotional pressure and expectations were piling up for him.

Since I can't be there physically, I checked up on him regularly to make him feel that he can count on me during difficult times. There was a time when he seemed to be so distant from me and I asked him what was going on. He said that he doesn't wanna share the burden with me because I have my own battles too.

I reassured him that he should tell me what was the matter so I can help him. Just like how he reassured me when I needed him before. We have resolved the issues before and everything seemed to be taken care of.

We haven't seen each other since March 2021. So that makes more than a year of not seeing each other. We managed to stay together despite time and distance issues. I totally understood why we can't see often because he has to take care of his family. Meanwhile, on my side too, I can't casually go for a trip to Davao because no one else would take care of grandma, or at least they'll miss my presence in the house.

The situation could have been handled if either of us was willing to compromise. We talked about seeing each other soon though, and I looked forward to that. I waited for that to happen but he got very busy recently because of the basketball leagues he handled and his work too. That's when the communication started to fade.

Time, priorities, and communication became the core issues of why we don't talk anymore often. I asked him if we could talk even just for a while because he's gotten colder. I reached out to him many times and I extended my patience even more to understand him. I only asked for his vacant time but I guess, everything was taken for granted.

Whenever I open up about how I feel about the relationship, he just keeps on saying sorry for how selfish he became out of his time and lack of effort. I totally understood him though. It's just that, he doesn't truly express his thoughts towards me that's why I have questions to him left unanswered, and even now that we already broke up, those questions were not addressed.

That left me feeling guilty about why I broke up with him instead of staying in the relationship supposedly. I could have held on a little longer but I got tired of fighting for the relationship to work. It seemed to me that I was the only one making the effort and he was avoiding confrontations. If I held on a little longer, will the situation get better?

I could have given him time to explain his side but the heaviness I felt inside is something I could no longer control. Napagod ako, naubos ako. I wonder what were the reasons why he went cold to me. Is it about my choice of pursuing music? Or my choice of not having sex until we wed? Or something that I lack of?

These questions pouring me every day are making me so hard to move on from the relationship. If I may be asked, I would totally understand him. I'm open to discussions, not necessarily getting back together. I still have strong feelings for him, I am still emotionally attached to him, and 4 years of being in a relationship is not easy to let go of.

I just wished to hear his explanations well because to me, he never explained his side well making me guess or question what went wrong. But I shouldn't approach him first because that would give him the idea of complacency again.

I believe that a proper closure where things get fully addressed and handled will set me free. That way, I will move on with peace in my heart full of learning from the relationship I was with him before. It was an amazing relationship, I would say in general. I'm grateful for this experience. It is a chapter of my life I'd forever be grateful for. It taught me a lot of things about life.


So yeah, that's pretty much it. At least a huge load was taken off my heart after expressing here. I wonder how he's coping up these days but I wish him well.

To myself, I wish you well too. I'm proud of who you have become and I'm sure you are going to get this through.

So, it is time to delete photos related to him na ba?


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

23
$ 4.38
$ 4.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 9
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

Ate, grabe before ako mag type ng icocomment ko eh andami ko ring takeaways dito sa story mo. Nakakalungkot to. Para akong naunuod ng asianovela na hindi happy ang ending.

Based on what I really understand lang, may side talaga na nagkulang sa communication. Masasabi ko na katulad din ako nung ex mo ate pero ung kinaibahan lang, kinimkim tlaga ni partner mo ung problem sa sarili niya, ako naman, napilit ko ishare sa partner ko kasi nga partner kami. If may issues dapat alam din ng partner mo para alam nyo kung paano ireresolve ng dalawa.

Second red flag is ung time eh. Jusko, ldr na kayo dapat nga lagi pa sya nag hahanap ng oras to make a call kahit 30 minutes?

But still, I believe na kapag may lumalaban pa sa relasyon para isave, malay nyo maging okay pa ate. Lahat naman ng relasyon may red flag eh. Ang kelangan lang is maayos un pag nakipag communicate ng maayos both sides.

For now, I highly suggest na sabihin mo lang lahat ng gusto mo sabihin sakanya, just like leaving a long message. Then hiatus ka na. Try mo ate if sa reply nya na un eh mararamdaman mong ma guilt din sya. Kung wala, or kung gusto nya na din kumawala sa rship, edi thank you, next na. charot, pero ayun, seperate ways na lang na walang bitterness. Atleast, sa 4 yrs and 6 months nyo, may mga pieces don na puro happy memories.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ma limit talaga sya sa expressions niya kaya andami kong questions or assumptions for him. Kaya marami akong doubts kung ano ba talaga ang nangyari.

Nag message ako kagabi sa kanya dee, di parin niya sinagot. Super detailed na questions ko sa kanya. I'll just leave those questions behind nlng. Parang wala naman parin patungohan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For sure meron yan sya ginawa na ayaw nya malaman mo talga ate. just leave it to him na lang if ayaw niya talga sabihin sayo. if he truly cares, di ka nyan pag iisipin dapat ng kung ano ano eh.

Tama ka, just leave those questions na lang. Naalala ko ung ex ko bago tong current ko. Kahit anong ginawa ko tlga ni di man lang ako binigyan ng tamang closure. mas mahal niya laro niya so I left him na lang. relate ako don sa napagod na. As in, ung huling araw ko na nakipag kita sakanya, wala na talga akong feelings kasi napagod na lang din talga ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ano laro niya dee? Sya kase mahilig sya mag basketball. Yun din sana dapat i raise na concern ko sa kanya kase may time sya sa games niya, free time lang hinihingi ko sa kanya to talk things over pero hindi nangyari. When I reached out to him now, hindi ako satisfied sa mga answers niya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ung ex ko bago itong partner ko now is ML. as in adik tlga don. Well itong partner ko gamer din to pero pag bebe time talaga eh sunod yan, ako pa minsan magbigay sakanya time kung gusto niya ng 'me' time niya pero sya pipilit na mag usap kami. Alam na namin un kasi di din kami palagi magkasama so we always make sure na ung 9pm onwards is bebe time na.

Nako, if ganun ung nangyare ate, grabe nmn tong partner mo at mas naisip niya pa maglaro kesa kausapin ka...

How about the third party ate? Wala bang ganun?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala nmang third party involved dee. Time, communication and priorities talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pero sana ate mabigyan ka din nya peace of mind talaga. Para todo move on na lang ikaw.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

He will find himself daw muna dee. I'll give him that. The past year has been tough for him din kase eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sabagay, I dn't want to judge him naman kasi maski nga ikaw eh di mo din alam lahat ano ba talga nanagyare. Just pray for him ate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

From a happy relationship to a sad one, real quick. I only imagined how tough it is for you, Ate but I can't relate to what you feels coz basically, I hadn't got into a serious relationship pa naman.

Who knows? You two are really destined for each other. Maybe, it's just not yet the right time para sa inyo. Have you tried to communicate with him again, Ate? For a proper closure ba and to know if may other reasons pa ba s'ya or wala na talaga. Anyways, hugs and kisses for you. :*

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We'll never know Mae. I'm still thinking twice if I should reach out to him now after I initiated the breakup but I guess to clear things up na rin, maybe I would but not now? I'm still processing the stages eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God gives someone to us, maybe it has two purposes, namely as a lesson and a partner to live forever, so not everything that is often a hope will always be achieved as expected. be patient my friend because I have been through times like this even several times.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Then I guess he served me a lesson about love. It was a great experience of love too. How did you cope up with things, by the way?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If it's a love problem like this, try to ignore it because that's the medicine I use.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Madam, I feel heartbroken din ng nabasa ko to.. Sorry for readng this late but you know that I am laways here for you.. Tama ka, siguro kung naexplain nya yung side nya sayo eh baka di ka ganyan ngayon. At d ka mali doon sa naglet go ka na kasi napagod ka. baka mas lalo ka maubos kapag di mo yun ginawa. Isipin mo na lang na things happened for a reason...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Siguro nga madam baka lalo akong maubos pag nag stay pa ako no? Unhealthy na rin sya on my part. Pero yun nga, sana masagot yong questions ko for him soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woahhh, time only will tell sis. Ang hirap lang kasi pag LDR and both of you may iba't ibang priority. Kahit may tiwala pa kayo pag dumating yung point na napagod and naubos kana, wala din. Tao lang naman kayo and hindi yun maiiwasan. Kung ako sa sitwasyon mo siguro mapapagod din ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sakto gyud ka madam. Mao jud ni akong na feel ba. It's emotionally tiring din pala. I never saw this coming. 💔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think you both should take a little more time to understand Time, priorities, and attachment with each other. The long time relationship shouldn't be end in this way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope this gets sorted out soon because it's hard to move on when there are still questions left unanswered.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sending hugs sis😘 Bigla naman akong nhurt bgla for you. 4 years ay di biro ah, pero nasasayo parin yan, di naman kasi instant makakamove on ka agad2. Try to focus nlng sa self mo, self-love and slowly accept na lang if talaga bang no chance na. Hugs for you sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for these comforting words sis. Yup, focus muna sa sarili, self-love. Moving on is a process naman talaga. ❤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Alam mo you're so brave to walk away. Pag para pa rin naman kayo sa isat isa pagtatagpuin ulit kayo e. And if not the aches will fade din naman mababawasan yan pero di mawawala. If the fading starts you'll then accept that it ended. Kase I don't believe that we heal from a breakup, rather we became stronger after one.

Kaya mo yan ikaw pa ba.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Siguro din madam no. We become stronger from these heartaches. Parang nagwo-workout lang mga hearts natin ba. Pero sana nga in time, masagot yung questions ko. If di man, then I'll move forward nlng.

Kayang kaya ko to oy. Hehe 💪

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hala nagbuwag namo sa imo uyab madam, tsk. Hugs for you! Taga Davao diay sya, layo layo sad jud mo pero if he really wants makapangita man sya time for that..pero wala sad ta kabalo lagi unsa sya ka busy.

Anyway, as for the no sex before the wed.. kanang murag rare najud kaayo lalaki mo survive ana madam. Lalaki is lalaki rajud mangita gyud na. I'm not saying ingana imo uyab pero usually ingana man gud.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mao lage madam. I really wanna know his reasons why jud. As for the sex, I agree with you. He said to me na he respects my choice but I guess, this became a factor pud siguro of why he went cold to me. That's why I wanna ask him about everything para mahiluna napud ko sakong mga pangutana oy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Fighting 💪 if may communications pa kayo try to ask him everything, I hope you'll find the answers of your why's..

Sakit gyud na kay nag dugay mo. Abi kug naa nakay forever jud tsk..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di ko gusto mo initiate og communication madam kay basin magsalig sya ba. I believe that's the right thing to do.

Hehe, mao lage. Pero we'll never know. Char, hoping yan? 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha hoping yarn 😂 anyway just do what feels right for you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

4 years is indeed not easy to just forget... it will take time but believe in the saying that if you are really meant for each other, the universe will make things happen for you two to get back in each other's arms... pray for him nalang and hopefully he'll be able to open up soon on why and what happened...

hugs to you sis.. it isn't easy.. just write jd about your feelings and all para maka move on

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks sis. Yeah, I wish him well din talaga. Bug at pud iyang naagian the past year oy mao tingaling na compromise na among relasyon. A part of me is guilty pud of why I gave up :(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bigla akong naiyak ate kaso 4 years relationship and ilelet go mo na dahil naubos at napagod kana. Wala akong masabi ate na makakatulong sayo pero I pray na maging okay ka po in a short period of time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello Marc. Thank you for this. I will naman, for sure. I just need to go through the process. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is sad to hear your Boyfriend by whom you had great understanding gave up in this relationship due to Family issues. Don't worry sister everything will be fine. It is too long from 2021 you are not able to communicate each other.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yup, more than a year of not seeing each other is a long time already. I could have stayed a little longer if I felt he was fighting for it too but I didn't.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahirap talaga ldr kasi madam. Yaan din reason ko before Bakit nakipagbreak sakin si ex ko before Kay hubby. Yung nag ask lang Kasi ako ng konting oras pero sobrang busy sa trabaho. Tapos Ang sasabihin lang sorry instead na bumawi. Ang reason Naman nya non is Hindi nadaw talaga magwowork. Like Hindi nya Kaya siguro ibigay Yung oras na hinihingi ko Kaya nakipag hiwalay nalang sya.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Same nga samin madam. Pero I initiated the breakup kase hindi ko na kaya. Lumaban naman ako eh. Pero parang ako nlng yong nag-eeffort. Di din kase sya expressive sa thoughts niya kaya di ko alam ano nasa isip niya. Dami ko pang questions. Ewan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same na same madam 😭 Kaya nga he left me hanging noon.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

So wala rin pala kayong proper closure madam?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wala hehe. Pero a month before kasal ko nagkausap kami. Grabe iyak ko non tapos Sabi nya sakin minsan talagang dumadaan lang daw Yun tao sa buhay natin para bigyan Tayo ng lesson. Sya Yung ex ko na palagi Kong napapanaginipan.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

As in? 🥺 sya siguro yong one great love mo no? Ideal ba relationship niyo? Pero at least ngka closure kayo. Wala nang questions. 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pwede ba isulat ko nalang madam hahaha. Actually sinulat ko na to pero diko pinublish. Dami ko din naiyak habang sumusulat ako hahaha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Hehe. Nakooo, na trigger tuloy kita. Pasensya 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ok lang Yun. Wala na yon haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Finally nailabas mo na madam:) ikaw na bahala if magdelete ka ng mga pictures kung makakatulong sa pagmove on why not😬

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang di ko pa kaya madam? Andon pako sa stage na baka pwede pa? 😅 Bargaining stage nga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sya di wag mo, kusa naman yan maghihilom at mararamdaman mo na time to let go na tlga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahigpit na yakap, ate! While reading this, kala ko story din namin hehe. Sign nga ang pagiging cold, sadly, when you thought it worked out for the better, hindi pala. Iiyak at ilabas mo lang ang emotions. You'd get tired eventually. You're courageous enough to let go, and I'm glad you saw that it's already a red flag. Kahit pa ba may pinagdadaanan ung partner natin, continouos communication dapat. Kaya nga partners, para both kayo. Hindi lang isa.

If you want, watch Twenty Five Twenty One, kdrama series. Para malabas ung emotions mo.

It will take time to heal so take your time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Inintindi ko talaga situation niya C sa abot ng aking nakaya pero napagod na ako. :( nakakaubos din pala no. Kaya andami ko paring what ifs eh kung sana ng hold on pako. Pero, napangunahan ako ng bigat na emotions eh.

About break-up ba yang twenty five, twenty one C? Dalawa na na recommend mo sakin. Hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Fighting sis! One step of moving on is acceptance. You are brave enough to let go and I am sure you will do a good job in your moving process.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will sis. Medyo bumabalik lang sometimes sa bargaining ang stage ko sa grief ba. Haha. What a cycle. 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you will feel better soon ate :( Sending hugs.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will, Cherry. For sure. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hugs to you. I salute you for being strong enough to share with us your break-up story. And it's true, 4 years is not a joke and it's not easy to let go of a person that we really love. But I just want to say that no matter what happens and whatever it takes, if it's meant for you, it will find its way back to you. I know you can do it, be strong! We're all rooting for you, and I know you will heal in time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi teacher Lynn, thank you for these comforting words. I just had to do what I feel is right even if it breaks my heart to let go of the relationship. But, it is what it is. Life goes on. ❤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are brave enough to let go sis, sakto man sad lisud I gyud mufight unya feeling nimo ikaw ry ni fight Para sa inyong relationship.paita gyud ng dghang questions left unanswered. Samot lisud imove on.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mao lage. Naa gyuy heaviness sakong heart ba nga di matanggal tanggal tungod sa questions nako for him. Pero, laban lang gyud ta ani. Life goes on. 💯

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes time will come maheal rana imong heart and wish you happiness

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hugs sis. If you think na ikagagaan ng loob mo magdelete ng pictures, go ahead, if not wag muna, pero pwede mo na dn simulan. Okay lang magdalamhati sa natapos na relasyon. Matagal dn ang 4yrs. I hope that in time na ready na syang makipagusap sayo, makuha mo yung sagot sa mga tanong mo. Mahirap dn kasi minsan na parang ikaw lang yung lumalaban.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks sis. Sana nga makuha ko yung sagot sa mga questions ko. Yun nga eh, parang ako nlng yong lumalaban pero baka feeling ko lang yan. Di ko alam anong perspective niya. Kaya yon din sana ang gusto ko ma clarify from him.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

kahit feeling mo lang na ikaw nalang, in the first place dapat hindi mo nararamdaman yun. Kasi possible din na kapag tinanong mo sya, mauwi sa sumbatan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga eh but knowing his personality sis, hindi naman sya ganon na aggressive sa arguments. He's mature naman pero yun nga, di ko alam ano nasa isip nya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago