Afraid of Being Single Forever? Alone But Not Lonely

36 68
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Is it really possible to be alone and not lonely?

For some of us, most especially to the older generations that we have grown up, at least for us late 80s to 90s babies (we are now in our mid to late 20s already), we should be married and have kids on our own already, as to how society has established a norm.

Even if you are still young and you don't count yourself yet as single because you are probably busy with school first, I am pretty sure you already pictured out something in the future whom you want to be, what life would be like 10 years from now.

As someone who is in a long-distance relationship right now for almost 4 years, I can't really speak to myself on this topic but I can speak for my aunt's perspective about being single for 28 years already.

When she was in high school and college, she had a lot of boyfriends. I mean, her love life is bountiful. She never runs out of a boyfriend. It kinda sounds arrogant but I can't blame her for her charisma and charm back in the days.

When she started working as a domestic helper overseas, her life changed as her attention was merely focused to work. She started working in her early 20s and until now, she's still there although she takes a break and goes home for a while and then applies for another contract.

I believe her perspective in life changed as to how fate has changed her as well. She's already 49 and she doesn't feel the need to get married and be with someone only because to conform to what society has established a standard.


When you go to your social media accounts and you see your classmates or friends getting engaged, having kids, happily married, you will feel being left out. Fear of missing out.

Feeling

And you can't help yourself but ask "am I not handsome/pretty? Is there something wrong with me? Am I not lovable?". Self-doubt. However, feelings will not determine how you are going to manage your life. Feelings are just emotions but there are core memories attached to them. Don't let your emotions dictate your future. There's so much more life can offer other than being in a relationship.

P.S: this is not to take against those who are in a relationship right now (including me) I'm just saying on the other parallel of the story.


If you are single, or you just got out of a toxic relationship, this is something you will learn to appreciate more.

Freedom

This is where you only think of yourself like finally, you can love and focus on yourself more. This is when there are no certain responsibilities that will drag you down, and you don't have to check on someone's schedule (if you are in a relationship) and ask permission about things.

Being free to explore and that's when you discover most of yourself too. This is the perfect time for you to see how far can you go to a certain thing without being concerned about someone's permission with reservations.


Family

One of the things most people worry about when you are single is getting older alone. Your immediate family must be telling this to you because they're concerned about how your future will be when you get older.

However, is having a family really necessary for your life to be complete? Is this the sole basis to define you as a person? I believe it's time for us to redefine the word "family".

Being with someone blood-related doesn't necessarily mean that they'll be supportive of you. There might be someone out there, close to your heart but not romantically involved with you, who is the best person for you. Family is more than just being a blood relative.

The thing here is, there might be people out there who are way kinder than those you are blood-related with. Family is more of sharing the perspectives in life, someone who shares the same function and vision as you, someone you can talk with without the fear of judgments, someone who can give you advice in times of trouble, and that could be anyone else.

You don't necessarily need to marry someone and give birth for you to have a family. Sometimes, we don't count our friends as a family simply because they are not blood-related to us which has to change and start to acknowledge that they are.


Fear

Being alone comes with a set of fears too. When you think of certain situations, you fear about how you are going to do it alone, you probably need someone to do it for you. You are worried if something emergency comes up and you are alone.

However, it takes a lot of courage and strength to face every situation. Having said that, it builds up a little bit of confidence and faith that you can manage to do things on your own.

Facing fears makes you more strong and builds up your faith too. You will find strength within yourself.


So it is possible to be alone but not to feel lonely? Yes, it is. Feeling lonely is just an emotion so don't let that feeling dictate how your life will be in the future. You should not let your feelings stop you from moving forward instead take it as an opportunity to exercise your freedom and discover yourself more of the things that you are capable of.

I'll leave you with this question,

Are you really afraid of being single because you feel it's something that you need to do? Is this because of how society has influenced you? Or is it part of your standards to your success?

If all of these questions are answered Yes, then you need to re-examine your life's purpose.

Again, this doesn't work for all of us. Some people out there are sincere about getting married and having kids because that's how they see themselves in the future. But if you are only doing it for the sake of companionship and assign your kids to take care of you when you get old, then that's an absurd reason.


Lead image source

Reference


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

17
$ 14.07
$ 13.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 12
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

when my mama died, sabi talaga ng papa ko ayaw nya to be alone, so ayon, naghanap talaga sya ng kasama nya sa buhay, support nalang din kami mga anak kasi nga kawawa sya walang kasama. magkaiba talaga ang calling natin at choices sa buhay. may mga ok lang na maging alone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Dpende rin yan sa calling ng buhay natin. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am single and have no one in my life for a while, I am not afraid of it, I am enjoying it. My mind is more relaxed, I think less, I spend less. The only problem is, how old are you every time you get married, I don't get advice from my mother anymore, but I still love you mom. I will marry not because you want it, but because I want it, when the time comes. Good thing my mom won't be able to read these parts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. I'm glad you know where you stand for. The decision is yours and it is your freedom to choose how you manage your life. Hi to your mom! If ever she stumbles here. πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako ang magpapatunay na possible iyon πŸ€™. I mean, nakaka ramdam din ako minsan peri minsan lang kasi nakakalimutan ko din agaf. And me being lonely is really what I prefer. Hate ko nga ang mataong lugar ee hahaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes, madam. Don tayo sa hindi conventional way of living. πŸ˜πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well , may mga single blessedness Naman Kasi madam at nahanap nila Yung kasiyahan don so possible Yung alone but not lonely

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

True my yen. Nasa calling din yan eh, yung single blessedness. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been single since birth but I'm not lonely tho. Di bitaw na mahurot and mga laki among di ta maguol kung watay uyab HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. Wa ta nahangol sa mga laki oy. Maygaaad. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me? Syempre gusto ko din magkaroon ng sarili kong family. 'Yun bang paglalaanan ko din ng mg hardworks and efforts ko. Pero, not now. Ang dami ko din na ka-batch from elementary and high school na may mga family na and I can say na happy naman sila kahit na siguro may financial probs sometimes. But then, I don't feel that I am being left out. Yes, I want to have my own family pero not now. Not yet, saka na lang kapag financially stable na ako and mas better na 'yung life status ko. Ayoko naman na magka-family na di pa pala ako ready. 'Di pa ako ready na ma-stress sa expenses for milk and diapers. Sa thesis muna ako papa-stress. πŸ˜‚ Tama na 'yung crush crush lang muna. Yah know, Ate. Mwehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very well said. Having a family is like an investment rin eh. Although that sounds a little negative pero it's true. You shouldn't enter into a serious situation if you are not ready. Like you said, financially stable. Di lang ikaw mag su-suffer nyan, pati mga anak mo which is sad. As much as we can do, as future parents someday, let's give them a comfortable life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, Ate. I don't want them to experience what I am experiencing right now. Though, I will still allow them naman if they want to work while studying. But, not because they are somehow obliged but because gusto nila na magka-experience. I want them to experience difficulties for them to learn and understand how life really is but not to the point na mahihirapan sila sa buhay. I want them to be more comfty, so for that na mangyari? I need to start it with myself first. πŸ’› Bonus na lang kapag ganito din mindset ni future man ko. Para mas happy. Hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, Im one of those single ,alone but not lonely

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm happy for you. It's nice to know that. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup, basta marunong n mkuntento sis at ngmamatured na sa life, nag iiba n ung pananaw kc

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dependi din talaga sa preference nang tao yan kung gusto magka pamilya or hindi at iba iba tayo so we cannot really tell that this one is good and the other one is not.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup. At the end of the day, it goes down to making a decision and standing up for it. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako po I said to myself before na 25 po ako papasok sa isang relationship at sa tingin ko po ay nagagawa ko naman po ang sinabi ko sa sarili. Nbsb pa rin po ako hanggang ngayon pero yung mga kaedad ko po ay yung iba ay may kanya kanyang pamilya na po at anak, yung iba po ay happy sa kani kanilang relationship. Yung sagot ko po sa tanong ay pwede po maging alone ng hindi ka nalulungkot. Ako po ay hindi ko akalain na kakayanin ko po na tuparin yung sinabi ko sarili ko po at sobrang happy and contented ko naman po sa life ko ngayon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How old are you na pala? Hehe.

Exactly, as long as you are happy and contented with your life, that's all that matters. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hihihihi 21 na po. Opo, true po tama po kayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At some point in my life I knew I would not get married but I always wanted a child and God granted it to me. It is the best thing I have ever done in my life. I don't know if I will be alone when I grow old and no longer fend for myself. I don't care. Children belong to the universe and they have to make a life for themselves. I may end up in a nursing home. My mission will be accomplished.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It us never an obligation for the children to take care of their parents when they get old but if you were a good parent to them, for sure they'll give back the love you gave to them. They will feel it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's that simple, my dear friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi madali ang pag-aasawa kaya dapat pag-isipan talaga ng mabuti.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truest madam. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of the things most people worry about when you are single is getting older alone. ‐- that is so me. Hahaha.

Medem nemen. Hahaha. Bakit parang feeling ko pinariringgan mo ako? 🀣 konti na lang malapit na ako mawala sa Lotto 6/42. Hahaha. In my case, I can say oo nababahala ako for my future. Single, unemployed, no savings, no health insurances..nothing. Pero tinatry ko na na gumawa ng way para kahit single ako pag tanda ko ay kaya ko mamuhay mag-isa. Yes, andyan ang relatives at kapatid ko pero iba pa din yung hindi ka umaasa sa iba ba. Nakakalungkot kasi mga kaibigan mo may mga karamay at may sariling pamilya na tapos biglang ikaw mag-isa. Pero pwede pa din naman maging masaya kahit mag-isa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Pasensya madam. That's the way I look at it based on my observation eh. But I can't just easily say to someone to be happy and contented with singlehood because I'm not in their position and you know, building yourself for the future takes a lot of courage and perseverance to get it all through. πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No worries. That is the reality about singlehood. Hehe. Check, check, check. One can only be happy and contented if the person wants to and both applies for single, in a relationship and even married. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. If dadating man ang right one for us, looking forward to that. If not, practice tayo self-love. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kapatid ng tatay ko hndi rin siya nag asawa pero malayo siya samin, 60 na siya nong nag asawa kaya lang namatay rin agad yung asawa niya dahil sa highblood. Kaya masasabi ko rin talaga na naka depende talaga sa atin kung ano gusto natin in the future kasi kung para sa atin yung isang tao, gagawa talaga ng way ang tadhana para mag tag po kayo haha kaya huwag mag madali kapag single ka ngayon kasi masaya maging single kaysa sa naka in relationship ka nga pero parang feeling mo single ka rin haha useless lang rin 🀧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. Why enter in a toxic relationship when you can be free to make your decisions by yourself diba? Someone out there might be the one who's willing to compromise with you but if none, at least you have already built yourself strong and courageous.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Getting married should not be in a hurry, being a married woman sometimes I also wondered what if I didn’t married early ,how does my life going to be,or would I finished my studies.Marriage life is a serious commitment.If a single person will decide to stay single forever that is it’s own freedom to choose to,but getting married is also a life that is very colorful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I get it. It still lies in free will. It's your decision on how you are going to take your life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Going into a relationship shouldn't be because others are doing it, it isn't about meeting society standards, it is not about starting a family to bear kids.

It's about happiness for me, a lot of people have rushed into the wrong hands trying to copy the trend. There is a crime in being single as long as you are happy, marriage still doesn't guarantee happiness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you, marriage doesn't guarantee happiness and it's not the sole basis for happiness. You can be happy alone feeling contented and satisfied.

$ 0.00
2 years ago