Don't hate the sinner, hate the sin....?

35 56
Avatar for Jdine
Written by
3 years ago

Do you believe in the phrase "DON'T HATE THE SINNER, HATE THE SIN", or "DON'T HATE THE PLAYER, HATE THE GAME"?

I was trying to come up with an article regarding this but I don't think I can justify it. People will react based on which table they're sitting at. It's always easy to tell such things. But as a human being, we normally think of our side first instead of others.

If we hate the sinners and not the sin, do we then hate everyone? Cause, we are all sinners, right? As human beings, we sin even without intentions. We commit sins every single day. May it be small or huge. A simple lie is already a sin if you seriously look at it. The simple fact of hating someone is already considered as a sin. But again, we are just humans and we commit sins.

I sometimes agree with "hating the sin not the sinner" concept. Why? Because I know that the sinner is not our enemy. And they are actually in a battle. A battle between the good and the evil. And when they sin, they are slowly losing it. So instead of hating them, why not pray for them to win the battle for righteousness? BUT THEN AGAIN I AM JUST A HUMAN AND I CAN'T SAY I AGREE WITH THIS especially when I am the victim of wickedness.

I am not a very religious person but this was taught to us in the church and it really hit me. And this is a very huge scope for me to discuss. I don't think I can justify it. I don't think I am the right person to discuss it.

Whatever is the real meaning behind these lines, the important thing is, we learn to forgive people just like we were forgiven by God. We are all not perfect, we make mistakes, and we should all deserve second chances. Less judgment, more love. Leave the judgment to God and let's just spread positivity. :)

Thanks for dropping by again and reading my article.

Thanks for dropping by again and reading my article.

I suggest you also check this community where you can get sponsored. This is hosted by @Ashma .. Here's the link:

https://read.cash/c/get-sponsored-2a0b

Also, I am giving away sponsorship to lucky winners.. Read the details here:

https://read.cash/@Jdine/i-got-102-subscribers-yay-so-im-giving-away-sponsorships-bb3025b8

Thanks again! Have a blessed day!

23
$ 0.42
$ 0.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Jdine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jdine
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I remember my partner with this, when we had a fight he always tells me "I DON'T HATE YOU BCOZ I LOVE YOU, I HATE WHAT YOU DID". That's always his statement 😂, to some people who are full of hatred in their hearts maybe they hate the person itself. No matter what that person does it does not please them because they simply hate that person. And as for those people who can forgive, I guess that's because they hate the sin and not the sinner itself.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah. I heard that too from my husband ahahaha...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I assure you that my wife will definitely hear this on our next fight...!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahahahhaahaha you being the sinner? hahaha....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, no.. I am not.. (please believe me, hehe)

But when my wife got my nerves, I think it will be a great opportunity to break the tense....

And I do love her....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's the most important thing. You love her hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Did your partner shout that to you? I think at that moment he hates you... It's just a way to cover up the real feelings, denying the truth.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When he tells me like that, he was not mad anymore. I know sometimes he hates me especially when I get into his nerves but afterward if we calm down already it's as if nothing happened. That's why I can say he hates my sin not me because if he hates me his treatment towards me could have changed, but it's not.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes....... Hate sin😠😠😠😠😠. Not sinner.....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yep. I also think so. So it'll be more easier to forgive..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

People do wrong work for money or other things what he need.And that is sin...Sometimes they can't get proper guidelines to lead a honest life so they go the wrong way...so we shouldn't hate the sinner we should hate sin

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice to see many consider believing in this line too :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To hate the sin not the sinner is easy to say but not easy to do. The sin is in the sinner, he is the doer of an action inflicting pain to the receiver. A sin an intangible act acted by the sinner who is tangible. So you retaliate to the actor who is tangible, who does the sin in a way of hating the act. So we could not blame of hating the sinner not the sin.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah. As I've stated it depends on which table you are sitting on...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep sharing

$ 0.00
User's avatar By
3 years ago

thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

All of us were sinners. So if you hate sinner, you hate yourself too. Sometimes this is a sad reality. People choose to judge someone because they commit sin instead of leading them in good path. This is a true story happened to me. My officemate is a christian but she stop attending worship service for some reason. When I talked to her she has a lesbian partner. I asked her why not invite her partner to attend worship and then he said, you know what Mommy Yen I want to do it but its hard for me to turn back to Christ. The people already judge me because I had a lesbian partner. She added, Diba dapat sila yung unang iintindi sayo? Bakit sila pa yung unang nagdedescriminate. Then I said to her that maybe she just misunderstood it. But honestly, I encounter those kind of people in church who judge so quickly.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

oh that's sad.... madami nga ganyan. yung iba akala nila wala silang kasalanang nagawa na para bang holy sila

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Totoo. Hays

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Taken from the religion we can't hate anything. Sinner is bad, as sinner has the choice to sin or not. And every sin is a creation of the devil...

Hate is a big world... Do we really hate someone? Are we able to really hate when in normal conditions?

But, no, I don't think I will blame the sin.. It is easy. Sinner has the choice.. And I have the choice...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well said.... Makes me realize many of us underestimate the word "hate"

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, we are.

We tend to underestimate word "love" too....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

very true!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article. Let's love people and not hate❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

HATE THE SIN, NOT THE SINNER. Easier said than done. But we must practice compassion, patience and forgiveness in order to easily do this. When I haven't accepted Jesus as Lord and Savior, I hated a lot of people. But then, I realized that Jesus carried the cross. All sins are thrown unto that cross and thus gave us the gift of grace that even we were yet sinner, Jesus died for us.

It's hard to explain how but it is better to personally experience salvation for better understanding.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah. this has such a large scope and deep meaning

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is indeed. As far as I know we must alway practice love. Don't think about the hate. 😊 but i know its hard. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

trulalu sis! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thats a great realisation. If we start to hate the sin we may come up with reducing to do the sin again. This eventually help us.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Ohi
3 years ago

Hmmmm nice point of view.... Never thought it that way...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great article...... Keep sharing like this.....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Here is your moderator:

Do you believe in the phrase... Next, you start shouting. Yes, you do. Writing words in capital letters and you did it even in bold is shouting. To be honest it's a good reason to leave and not read on.

Since I am the moderator I try to figure out what your topic is and why you submit to the Community Values.

To be honest I can not find your values, those principles you live by back here. The main reason is the way you wrote it.

You are not a religious person but been in church or read or heard this (I never did) but I think you are better off submitting this to the community Christianity since this phrase shouted seem to impress you in some way.

SST: Christianity https://read.cash/c/sst-christians-4c9e

As a person (not a moderator) I do not agree with this phrase either. If I feel hate at all it has to do with the sinner, not the sin. Someone who kills out of self-defense, after being abused is no sinner to me. If no one cares about you, the law lets you down or ignores you, you have to act yourself and set your boundaries.

On the other hand, I spent over 10 years writing with prisoners. I do respect and understand some of them and I do not reject them, to me they are not a sinner. If I said they are I am a hypocrite.

The world, people, their deeds aren't black or white. Some deeds I can not live with, with those I understand I can even if murder is involved. If it comes to this my own values are more important than those shouted by a preacher or cited by someone because it's written in a book which is changed yearly and translated and changed again and again.

👍🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I submit it without knowing the community is about "community values", that's my bad.

I don't get your point in these lines, "Do you believe in the phrase... Next, you start shouting. Yes, you do. Writing words in capital letters and you did it even in bold is shouting. To be honest it's a good reason to leave and not read on." can you elaborate?

"To be honest I can not find your values, those principles you live by back here. The main reason is the way you wrote it." -are we still talking about the topic or my values as a person??

"You are not a religious person but been in church or read or heard this (I never did) but I think you are better off submitting this to the community Christianity since this phrase shouted seem to impress you in some way." --I think we have different view in being a religious person. I do go to church but as I've said I'm not very religious, meaning I don't know much about the bible. but that does not mean, I don't know even a little, right?

"Someone who kills out of self-defense, after being abused is no sinner to me. " - well I respect your opinion regarding this. But for me I still think killing someone because you were abused or out of defense is still killing. And killing is still a sin no matter what the reason is. That's only my opinion. We are all different.

"On the other hand, I spent over 10 years writing with prisoners. I do respect and understand some of them and I do not reject them, to me they are not a sinner. If I said they are I am a hypocrite." - who are sinners then? I mean, for your opinion?

"If it comes to this my own values are more important than those shouted by a preacher or cited by someone because it's written in a book which is changed yearly and translated and changed again and again." - what are the bases of your values? I mean where do you learn them? And does this mean you don't believe in bible?

I got curious to your comment and I'm interested in how someone with different perspective than me view this kind of thing. :)

Again, Sorry I didn't read the description of your community. I just selected on the dropdown list and the name was Share your thoughts. didn't know it's about your perspective in values. I think the topic's value are forgiveness and kindness. but you as you've said you cannot find those values in the topic. That's okay :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The community was one of the first and changed into a more specific topic as read.cash asked for it. After that it's unsure what happened with all the communities and the plans 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago