Why Still Work If You Want Rest?

69 138
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

April 10, 2022

One Saturday afternoon, I was busy tapping my phone as I had spare time to do so. My boss ordered me to run an errand outside and it gave me an opportunity to write my article and visit the two blogging platforms. I was taking advantage of every little second I had and writing as many words as possible before going back to work. I was a busy bee with my phone when the person I was waiting for arrived. The person knew that I am blogging and I told her that I'll post my article first before going back to her as she wanted my attention and to converse with me.

My article was done and after tapping the publish button, our conversation started with her question...

"Why are you looking for something?"

"Huh? I'm not looking for something. I'm blogging."

"I mean, why do you want to find a job if you want to rest?"

The lady knew that after my contract here, I wanted to rest but work online.

I just answered her...

"That's exactly what I want. I could rest while blogging. It doesn't need much effort as I only need to sit down and write."

As much as I wanted to say more, no I didn't, and I ended our conversation regarding that topic with my answer. Gladly, she didn't throw further questions as a young lady who wouldn't know how to exert sweat, blood, and tears wouldn't understand the significance of saving money consistently at all.


Why Still Work If You Want Rest?

Undeniably, the world is getting fancier day by day so to live daily, we have to strive harder continuously and don't allow our pockets to be empty. Because even a single grain of rice or a single drop of drinkable water isn't free. And a single source of income isn't enough to suffice our daily needs, especially if we have members in the family that are still studying.

The tuition fee, the daily expenses, the bills, the commodities, and basic needs, all of them are increasing in price as time goes on. The high inflation rate nowadays would eventually empty our one-month salary in just a matter of days, not even months. Our $20 budget wouldn't be enough to buy a one-week food supply. Unless you are living solo.

So who would like to rest just because you already saved some amount of money? And not because you are working and earning a decent amount, it doesn't mean you will only rely on it as uncertainties are unavoidable.

The world is always in turmoil and chaos in one big part of it doesn't only affect that certain country, but the world in general as well. The Russia/Ukraine war, for instance, is making oil and gas prices pump higher bitterly. Making domestic supplies pump as well.

There were several articles posted here about the sudden hike in fuel prices in our country that led to a high inflation rate of basic commodities and other supplies. It's happening not just in our country, but in all parts of the world. Russia is one of the main exporters of oil and gas, so this circumstance was expected to happen.

The pandemic isn't over yet, and that alone had caused too much damage and unfavorable ramifications, that the world until now is still fighting against it, and people are still suffering.

I've been mulling over that matter and about my future. I could have a better rest once I become jobless, but what would happen next? My mind just said, "maybe I can rest some other way. But how?"

Oftentimes, I would ask myself, "should I really stop working now that the world's situation is getting complicated and the inflation is getting higher day by day? What would happen to me after I ended this contract? Will this blogging and crypto be able to support our daily needs?"

And when this war and pandemic is over, another unfortunate circumstance would hit the world and affect the people. Because it will never stop from coming as long as the world is revolving. So resting without doing something will never be the best option.

I'm saving money both online and offline as I act practically and consider the future. Oftentimes I would go penny-pinching over unnecessary things and consider saving money for valuable ones. Except for unwinding, that will only cost me a few dollars as this country has affordable transit fares that allow us to visit different places without spending a lot.

So we have to save money for a rainy day as we can't predict what will happen next or what tomorrow holds. It might be a sunny day today, but we won't know the exact weather conditions tomorrow. 

And we have this Filipino proverb saying "Kung may isinuksok, may madudukot" which has an idiomatic meaning similar to "a penny saved, a penny earned."

This reminds us to save money as much as we can, so when an emergency unexpectedly hits us badly, we have some money to pull out from our pockets. We can rest from working if we want, but make sure to keep our money rolling. Because having an empty pocket is something, not a pretty sight. 

But of course, don't let your grinding compromise your health as it matters more. There are a lot of ways to keep money rolling while resting. And blogging is one of them.

Thanks for reading.

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

49
$ 13.11
$ 11.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 31
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Yep, the mindset is good. If only we were born wealthy, maybe we don't have to choose between rest and work or do things just because we have to, not because we're doing it because we love to. Anyway, there are still cons if we're born wealthy. I just pray for your health and happiness.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There was a saying about putting money before health, and I agree with you...it is so important that our health is always first. Even me with getting sick last week, I was still working from home, but not because I wanted to. Because if I don't I won't be able to pay the bills due. One day it will be different 🌻

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sad reality , we always thought of the bills. Tsk

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people can't understand that because maybe they have sufficient balance on their wallets or they haven't experience how hard the situation is when you badly need money and you can't get one because you don't have one..

huhu ..inflation pa nga .. kung patuloy na tataas mga daily goods na kailangan natin naKo ..dina magiging sapat yung sahod sa isang saraw para sa mga nagwowork dito sa province..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga. Kaya iniisip ko kung uuwi pb ako..jusmiyo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Siguro work then after that take a rest. We have to work to earn money, we have to strive hard for our goals but of course we shouldn't forget to give ourselves some time to unwind

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama. Ibalance lng

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit naman gusto natin mag rest need pa rin natin mag work ee. Buti nga may ganyang work na kikita tayo habañg nakaupo no. Sana lang tuloy tuloy pa tu ee aigooo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga, sana magtagal pa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A change that is so scary just thinking about it hehe. I believe you will come around what to do if you finally decided to slow down a bit and rest.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang hirap magdecide haha.. Cguro kung ang bch tataas to $30k agad2. Baka pa. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand hehe. Ganon din ako nung paalis na ako sa work ko, takot ako masyado. Pero yon, naging okay rin. Pero enjoy mo din ang work mo so okay rin, yon nga lang, may time na burnt out ka rin siguro hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo naman. Kya bumabawi sa weekend hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True Yan madam,kapag may sinuksok may madudukot pero kailangan na ingatan Ang katawan dahil helath is wealth. Mahirap makumpromiso Ang katawan Ng dahil sa pagiipon mababalewala Ang ipon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yun lng .mostly ganun.. No choice eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is so tiring. Namiss ko na din mag rest ng walang iniisip na school works, pati pag tulog parang abala na para sakin kasi mas importante matapos ang mga school works.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sadly this is the reality of life, we can't even take a break even if we want to and we must continue grinding if we want to continue living the life we love

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No choice but to do so lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I doubt there will be a time that we'll stop working, the prices of everything are increasing and we have to make more money to complement that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nonstop... Like every year

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my country here Mo work no pay Yet the payment is only enough to cater for ends meat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What country?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right Ate. Sometimes the money that we earn from work is not enough to feed a family. Side hustles are essential. As for blogging, I do not really consider it as a work. Rather it is a form of communicating and expressing myself through writing blogs and articles. It is also my time to socialize with other people online.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sakn parang hobby lng.. During spare time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Resting seems like a uncomfy one becauae we should be working so hard every single day but ofcoursesometimes we need it but yeah this world getting harder and luving without earning and working for our daily basis is such a difficult one, instead or resting we work ourselves off just to have food in the table. But also we need to be balance on our health and our work.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Just a matter of time management

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A balance is needed in all that we do, irrespective of what we stand to gain. We must try to balance things else different aspects of our lives will begin to lag behind

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed.. As health is wealth and hard work will be useless once it will be compromised

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really hard to even consider resting right now when things are just getting worse, but like you said, it's no excuse to compromise our health

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Just need to balance both

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yea h

$ 0.00
2 years ago

New ones will always be added to personal or global problems. Crises continue as long as there are problems, new ones are added to the ring. I will work like an ant both online and offline until a certain age. When I'm old, I'll be a cicada. :))

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha.. I guess I'll be the same too 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is actually no rest in this world if you want to survive you have to work. No work no money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to give a beautiful life to my kids. So i like to work hard for them. Hope all of you will support me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life isn't about all work but we mustn't rest to the point where we get knocked, it's all about balance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its a thing of workaholics... its quite bad and can turn into toxic productivity. Trust me I know!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's really toxic.. But hard to stop it..lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rest, you need it :) Your body will thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakapagpahinga kapa din naman kahit nagbababad ka sa phone sis,,kasi kapag ikaw ang inaasan ng lahat non stop na ang gastusan..at nakakabilib ka nga ehh kasi dami mo pinagkakakitaan ng sabay sabay..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Walang choice lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I only try to create a balance between work and time for relaxing, you can't have some responsibility and choose to relax at this point in the world.

There are times I feel lazy but my responsibilities come to me to remind me of what's at stake and above all, we must jeopardize our health.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess there are only a few adults with no responsibilities...lol..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga ate eh, need natin magipon ng magipon hangga't kaya natin para pagdaring ng araw kapag walang-wala na us atleast may maidudukot, pero may fam na basta alam nilang may nagtatrababo sakanila panay waldas nila

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hayst..relate. Dun iaasa..d manlang maghanap ng ways pra makatulong dn

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kung lahat ng tao ganyan ang mindset I'm sure walang magugutom na pamilya. Gustuhin man natin magpahinga pero mas iniisip natin ang bawat bukas, madaming what if's na ayaw natin masayang dahil hindi tayo kumilos o magtrabaho

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama.. So kung magpahinga man, cguro in a day or two lng 🤣.. Unless may susupurta satn na iba lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hirap nga rin naman magpahinga nang bongga lalo na breed winner ka.. tama kahit pagod na tayo eh nonstop hustling pa rin kasi ang hirap kitain nang pera pero ang dali gastusin lalo na sa inflation rate now.. yan yung mga bagay na di maintindihan nang mga kapatid ko kaya nakaka stress haay.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sinabi mo pa.. Same lng mga kapatid natn.kakastress lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga noh, samantalang tayo ang sipag natin inangkin ata natin lahat nung umulan nang kasipagan hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pasan ang mundo 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"There's no rest for me in this world, perhaps the next", In Tom Shelby's voice. We have to try our best to keep up to avoid stories that touch. Especially in a country like mine who's economy is as unstable as uranium, one has to hustle.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha..me too..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eh iba na kasi panahon ngayon, kahit nagpapahinga ka pwede ka pa din kumita 😂 Kahit mag cellphone buong are pwede makakita ng pagkakitaan

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga haha virtual grinding

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku Jane, ang $20 ngayon eh di enough for a week kahit single ka. Kaya un iba eh 2 or 3 work ang kinukuha if possible para lang makasabay sa agos

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sobra.. Kht sakn hndi enough

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, kaya naintindihan kita sa sitwasyon mo na akala mo eh may smpung anak ka na sinusutentuhan..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. 9 nlng ngayon nsa Manila ang isa nagwowork haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, ay sorry nabawasan na pla ng isa, hahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As someone who also treat every second precious because I have to look for ways to sustain may family's needs. I totally understand you ate Jane . We have to think about the future because we never know until when the sun would keep on shining.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True.. Always need to save for rainy days

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko naka for good kana sis..Hayyst ang hirap nga naman ibusget lahat lalo pa parang sayo na nakasalalay ang lahat.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sobra hirap.. Buti ako dtp hndi masyado magastos sa gala2..pasahe lng need

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are so many times I wanna stop working and relax, but I tell myself If I do so it will be disadvantageous for me considering the recent events all around the world. Things have suddenly become expensive, fuel hike, scarcity, inflation and yada yada.. The world is coming to an end. Hence, I need ever avenue to earn even if it means working my ass off and not resting when I should.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If only for myself., I should have stop long ago..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why you are my inspiration dear ma'am. You can do work while taking rest. We need to work hard as much as we can.We need to save money for the future.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed..

$ 0.00
2 years ago