Where To Find 10,000 Buddas in Hong Kong

76 115
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

November 9, 2020

Have you heard about 10,000 Buddhas in Hong Kong?

It was year 2017 when I first visited the Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery in Hong Kong. But I have a friend who hasn't been there and so I decided to hop out from my cocoon and explore the monastery for the third time. Yes, it's my third time - the first time I was with my HK group of friends, the second time was with my employers, then this time, I was with my new friend. Our first plan was actually to visit Tai O village and hike on the mountain there to see the South China Sea. But we suddenly changed our plan and decided to visit the nearby tourist spot instead. She said the transportation fee is a bit expensive and the place is quite far. I actually want to hike there. If you remember my article about Trail and Trek, I have mentioned there about Tai O village and the mountain that I want to hike there. Maybe, I'll gonna visit that place next time with myself again.

Going back to the Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery, it is located on a hillside of Pau Tau Village in Shatin, New Territories Hong Kong. It was founded in the 1950s under Yuet Kai and his followers. The construction lasted for six years. The name monastery is actually a misnomer since no monks are living at the complex and it is solely managed by laypersons. In total, there are about 13,000 buddha statues at the monastery despite its name "Ten Thousand Buddhas." Mostly were originated from the Tang Dynasty.

How to get there:

I took the MTR East rail line to Sha Tin station and met my friend at the intersection. It only took a few minutes to get there and the fare was only 9.50 HKD (1.23 USD). The MTR station was crowded as usual. Despite the pandemic, people always want to roam around every Sunday to relax from stressful work.

From the Sha Tin station, take Exit B leading to Grand Central Plaza.

As you pass through Exit B, turn left and walk down the slope. Just below the slope are old traditional houses, some small Chinese restaurants, and a small park.

We also saw this store selling Chinese traditional dried fruits. And since we don't have water, we bought water in this store and which costs 5 HKD (0.64 USD), way cheaper than the ones sold at 7/11 inside the MTR station.

Just continue to walk until you reach the pedestrian lane. From there, cross the street then you will see the Grand Central Plaza. The path to the monastery is just on the left side of the Grand Central Plaza. Few more steps and you will see the signboard leading to Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery.

At the end of this pathway are some bamboo grooves. From there you will see the entrance to the monastery.

The journey up to the monastery is an attraction itself. The path is lined on both sides with human-sized golden-painted buddhas.

At the entrance going to the monastery, both sides have golden buddhas

The uphill takes about 20 minutes and the stairs are consists of 431 steps. For those who don't want to go to secluded mountains to hike, the way to Ten Thousand Buddhas is an alternative for hiking. I even told my friend, "it is as if we hike a real mountain." It was quite tiring but relaxing seeing the view of the city from above. I remember the first time we visited this place, me and my friends tried to count the number of buddhas if those are really ten thousand, but we give up in the middle of counting and just took photos instead.

Each buddha is unique and with a different pose. These were created by artists from Yunnan and Guangdong provinces and were molded at a temple in Kunming (the hometown of the founder of Yuet Kai).

These buddhas look like those characters in Chinese TV series ๐Ÿ˜…
The reading buddha
I wonder what his real gender ๐Ÿ˜… look at his pose, the flower, and his lips ๐Ÿ˜…

This buddha looks like the most decent and powerful of them all.

The monastery covers 8 hectares and is divided into two floors. On the upper floor, you will see four halls, which are said to be dedicated to Kwun Yam and other Buddhist, andย Taoistย deities with various Buddha statues inside.

Entrance to the upper level, look at that first buddha, he's pulling his trouser up ๐Ÿคฃ

This is the main hall on the upper floor of the monastery.

Inside the main hall are huge buddhas. Photos were not actually allowed at the monastery, but all visitors were even taking photos, and so we did the same.

This might be one the arhats. The Buddhist equivalent of saints who achieved enlightenment. It is located on top of the monastery and was surrounded by huge buddhas.

This one looks like a warrior buddha. There were four huge buddhas like this inside the hall. I was thinking, maybe they are Taoist deities.

In front of the main hall are the lady buddhas.

We visited the upper floor first before going to the lower floor as it serves as the main attraction of the monastery. Save the best for last indeed. The first floor consists of another hall, a nine-story pagoda, a tower, and three pavilions (before there were only two pavilions).

This is the view going to the lower floor of the monastery.

The Ten Thousand Pagoda is consists of nine stories with various buddhas on it. Before, visitors were allowed to climb up the pagoda and enjoy some view. But nowadays and for some reason, visitors are not allowed to climb up the pagoda.

The nine-storied Pagoda with buddha statues on it.

This one is the main hall on the lower floor, it is also called Ten Thousand Buddha Hall. Inside the hall were ten thousand tiny buddhas. It is also the place where the Chinese people light incense, offer foods, and say their prayers to the deities. We didn't take photos inside the hall with respect to the Chinese people praying there.

The temple is free of charge. Everyone is allowed to visit the monastery from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Outside of the main hall is a small terrace with 18 life-sized figures (18 Louhan), which represents Buddha's most important students.

The Kwun Yam Pavilion of Ten Thousand Buddha Monastery.

The Skanda Pavilion of Ten Thousand Buddha Monastery.

The Manjusri Pavilion of Ten Thousand Buddha. A buddha on that blue animal which I don't know the name.

Meet my friend, Anne.

The Guan Yin statue of Ten Thousand Buddha.

Just near the entrance of the lower floor is a store selling souvenirs and bottled drinks. These pagoda and buddhas miniatures are really cute.

Some souvenirs like amulets, key chains, lucky bracelets, necklaces, and other figurines are also sold there.

I bought this small snake figurine which represents my birth year, the year of the snake as my souvenir. It costs 38 HKD (4.90 USD).

The Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery's main temple and the pagoda are recorded asย Grade III historic buildings, due to their historic implications. Thus, theย Antiquities Advisory Board of Hong Kongย considered them as having "some merit". Conserving the two buildings would be preferable in some way, however, if their preservation is not reasonable, different manners could be deemed.

Before going down, we went to the lavatory first to release the call of nature. ๐Ÿ˜… Then we saw few monkeys in the trees behind the monastery, some were climbing on the handrails and some were on the roof of the monastery. They were quite scary but so far, they do not attack visitors. Just don't show foods to them, or else they will jump on you to snatch your foods. Although foods aren't allowed in the temple, we saw some visitors eating outside the hall.


It was indeed a long and tiring walk yet fun seeing those buddhas with different poses. Some were funny, some were scary, some were fearless, and some were cute - each implies an interesting story.

The walk going down from the monastery was quite easy. If going up takes 20 minutes, going down was only 10 minutes or less. From the monastery, we went to New Town Plaza to look for a place to stay. Since my friend felt hungry from our small hike, we ended up taking our snacks, or should I say our early dinner.

We also saw a Christmas display at the New Town Plaza. I am always excited about Christmas displays here in Hong Kong. As you walk inside, you can already feel the presence of Christmas with its played Christmas songs and some decorations.

I can't let this pass without taking some photos. I am like a kid every time I saw pretty Christmas displays. ๐Ÿ˜

Look at that smile. So kiddy right?? ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

Advance Merry Christmas ๐ŸŽ ๐ŸŽ„ everyone.

I hope you enjoy this travel blog!!

Behind this mall is actually the Snoopy World where Peanuts and his friends are displayed. But the queue was quite long and my friend insisted not to go there since it is for kids, and she was a bit tired already. I visited the place before and it's pretty inside too. I hope I can visit Snoopy World again to see Peanuts and Snoopy next time.

Written by: @Jane

Related Articles:

Christmas Gala In Hong Kong 2019

A Visit To Venice Of The Orient

Kowloon Walled City (Then and Now)

Travel Photography (Temples)

Pokemon's Village

Visiting Tamar Park

My Hiking Photos

Venice Grand Canal At Mckinley Hills

30
$ 1.22
$ 0.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @bheng620
+ 2
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Just continue to walk until you reach the pedestrian lane. From there, cross the street then you will see the Grand Central Plaza. The path to the monastery is just on the left side of the Grand Central Plaza. Few more steps and you will see the signboard leading to Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow Jane, I want to go there too! Ang ganda! I remember when I went to Buddha Hill in Thailand they have so many Buddha and all the bells I love it. You got great shots as well. Love all your photos. More travel post, please!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh thanks for reminding me, i thought of putting the links of my other travel blogs here but i forgot.. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, sana all pwedi na gumala ๐Ÿ˜Š So many Buddha you should bring one home ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Kung pwd lbg..๐Ÿคฃ yung bakla dadalhin ko sna.. Nakakatuwa

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha kaso ang bigat nyan haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yun lng ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ panu kya nla inakyat yan dati nung lumang panahon. Wala pa nmn mga truck noon haha..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Baka dyan na inukit yan ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nope.. Sa China galing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, talaga pano kaya nila binuhat eh paakyat pa baka gumamit crane haha may crane naba dati?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yin nga eh. Wala dn crane dati ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha kawawa nmn mga tao dati malang binuhat nila yan ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo.. Mga alagad ng boss da kapanahunan nla

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nga noh, mga slaves. Buti na lang di tayo nabuhay sa mga panahong yan noh.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Meron dn nmn ngayon..mga alipores ng mga pashniya ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha, pero di nmn tulad dati ang treatment at least ngayon mdjo makatao na compare dati ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sabagay.. Slaves in a modern way ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, at least my human rights na ngayon dati kase wla haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you shear this post.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is so cool! haha That facve on the one reading the book is ridiculous XD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They all have different poses.. Some really looks funny

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I mean, don't get me wrong, I know that part of the culture is the masks with aminated faces, so its wonderful all the same, Just when my mind thinks of 1000 bhuddas,I first think kinda like the terracotta warriors, not the detailed work being upkept with that kind consistancy!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Some buddhas there looks like those warriors in those chinese tv seties ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ some are scary with big bulging eyes..as if they will gonna eat human ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Feels like someone's enjoying their vacay.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not vacay.. It's my holiday and i am working here too ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see. Feels like i've seen your picture somewhere on telegram

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Huh? I don't have pic on telegram ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Forget about it. Maybe i've mistakem you for someone else

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hong kong is a very nice place.I want to go there.I don't know about this place.But,I know it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I thought @tired_momma is the only, who always going for travels. But you prove me wrong. You're also a travel queen. Hong Kong is so beautiful country, but I didn't know about 1000 buddhas. There is lot of buddhas, you can also take some and bring your home.๐Ÿ˜น๐Ÿ˜น

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Travel queen? What a good name.haha.. Yes tired_momma and I loves traveling.. But I travel only here in HK ๐Ÿ˜… someday I will to different parts of the world too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I see! ๐Ÿ˜น

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Halakaaa, grabi yong 431 steps, pag sakin yan aabutin ako ng mga 4 hours jan, rest every 10 steps ahahahaha. Hingal kabayo tapos lawit dila ako pag sakin yan.

Pero sana all talaga nakakagala na ay, pero imbes waring matanggal ang stress ko sasakit pa ulo ko sa pag akyat jan ahaha. Sana tinuloy nyo ang bilang ng budda, ilang tao kaya ang nagtulongntulong para mabuo yang mga yan, ang gagaling ee tapos iba iba pa talaga ng pose, baling kumuha ng isa at baka pwdng isangla ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.02
3 years ago

๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ kung pwd lng. or iscrape yung gold sa ulo bka pwd isangla ๐Ÿคฃ Yung ksama ko nga hiningal paakyat.. Parang nag hiking narn kmi.. My mga mauupuan nmn sa daan pwd magrest kpg pagod na.. Maymga matatanda nga umaakyat dun.. Ang lalakas pa ng buto buto... Next time ipost ko yung isa pang Buddha..The Big Buddha dto .as in sobrang laki. Ang daming steps din yun ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha, souvenir laanf naman ee, tapos pagkauwi isangla na, dadaming magkakalugulo jan ๐Ÿ˜‚. Ay hala dinaig oa pala ako ng mga oldies kung ganoon. 20 minutes lang kayo pumanaog or higit pa?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

20mins or more..dpende sa tuhod ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nyayyy, ang haba talaga grabi yan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're enjoying travel ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜ญ I want to go too.

But why is it that many of the monuments there in China have to be in high regions that involve a lot of walking? It almost makes those Jet Li movies some to life where you have to find an ancient temple to meet a very strong master ๐Ÿ˜‚.

I'll still love to go there

$ 0.02
3 years ago

I thought about that too. .i've been to the biggest buddha here too and it requires another hike ๐Ÿคฃ same as here.. I think that was 400 steps as well.. Even in other countries. Buddhas usually located on upper hills ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

400 steps ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ I think I'll have a lot of cold drink breaks along the way ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Maybe the Buddhas are all the way up there because the path to spiritual enlightenment is not an easy one ๐Ÿค”๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahm maybe? You really need a lot of water once you visit buddhas .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You look so cute in that last lic >w< and that number of buddhas, i would love to go see those. And even that pagoda ;;w;; I've always loved seeing pagodas but I've never had a chance to climb one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ I want to climb on that too but we weren't allowed to climb.. Before was okay.. They changed the rules there... Once you have the money,have a vacation here

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm saving up for that but after a whole week in that office and a bit of an interview with all the section heads.. i don't think i belong to that company. I don't think i want to be a regular there

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, that's sad... But you need that for experience.. Maybe work there for just few years.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Idk because right now I'm just torn. I don't think i can stay there for so long plus I'm worried about how to keep up with work and board exam reviews when the time comes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That would be hard for you... Then I guess you need to decide well on what to do..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not sure what I'll do, really but the workload and the sample backlog is ridiculous. The system in there sucks and since my position is a bit high, i get to talk to the higher ups and they don't want to do anything to help their analysts out

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are lucky you got a higher position even if you are only a newbie.. But i can already imagine your work .. It is exhausting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is lol and the pay isn't all that good for this amount of work I'm doing ;-; i can't wait to get my license so i can apply for a different company

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, that's a different story already. If the salary is not worth it.. Then if I were you, I won't stay for long as well

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup. it's enough to help my fam and save enough to actually allow myself to focus on review but i don't think it would be enough to get me anywhere further if i stayed there

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Give it a try for now.. And see what far you will go

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am and I'm enjoying the people at least, just not sure about the job and the pay

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At least there is something to enjoy there.. It is so unhealthy working in a place where everything is toxic..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm amused though, the world is giving me more reasons to resign by may ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol..you already have set the date ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not my fault, the review school i enrolled in for board exam posted their update From may til july, I'll need intense reviewing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I thought it was your own decision.. At least you will have 6mos experience there

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yuppp not of my own accord but it's a sign from the univerrse that i may mot be meant for that company after all

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe... Better find a better one next time where you will enjoy while working.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well I'm pretty sure i still want to go look for a food testing laboratory because i can take home food UwU I'll never go hungry ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would love to work there too ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you for introducing us to buddhas in Hong Kong

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hope you enjoyed the Buddha's history too. I really like Chinese dried fruits. Especially when you are walking somewhere, at the same time their taste doubles the fun of our walk. And with friends, the beauty of any place gives more enjoyment. Thanks for sharing Dear,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nicely written article about Hong Kong,, visit my articles as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great dear I have subscribed you dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That place looks so good n beautiful po n hope i can go n visit there po to see those buddhas n the place myself n experience how it feels like to be in Hongkong po, lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Someday you can. You just need to believe in yourself ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

By reading this article and being from a country where buddha was born I would love to visit there oneday

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Where buddha as born? In what country is it? ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Like

$ 0.00
3 years ago