Torn Between Two Questions

40 95
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

April 27, 2022

More than two years ago, I was stuck in the middle of two paths and was undecided as to which one to pursue, either to go back to my homeland, or extend working abroad for my family and goals. My decision doesn't only rely on the present situation but on the future and possible circumstances that may arise. For some reason, I opted to stay and renewed my working contract abroad for the sake of other people.

The same situation happened seven months ago when I was supposed to go for good but unfavorable circumstances halted the plan that left me no choice but to extend again. Beforehand, I was ready enough to go and even had plans in my mind about what to do once I face the world of working-at-home individuals. And that blogging and crypto trading would be my main sources of income as well as the business I planned to put up.

Sometime in the previous year, I was happy when the cryptocurrencies in the market skyrocketed and made my portfolio so green. Upon calculation of all my assets, I only needed more than 20% to hit a seven-digit portfolio in our fiat currency. And in my mind, I thought I could finally execute the plans I had in my mind and establish a small business. And so I have nothing to worry about being jobless as I have something to pull out to make ends meet each day.

But it seems like things didn't fall into place and I was creating a new fate incognizantly far from what I wanted to happen. The Crypto market crashed and many tokens didn't recover their prices yet until now which greatly affected my portfolio. I stayed due to some unexpected reasons but later on, I realized that it was a good decision I made due to some good benefits I got from extending my contract. It's not money, yet the experiences and beautiful memories I made throughout this extension.

I was talking about going back home very soon in my previous article with some realizations and regrets. And just the other day, an unwelcome message was received from my agent about another hard decision to make that kept my mind awake even at night.

For some family problems, my replacement can not come anymore, and I can not extend either. It seems like she heard that I want to stay a bit longer so I could travel and enjoy HK more. But she gave me two options and it was so hard to choose one. 

My visa can not be extended anymore since they already extended it twice. That left the renewal of the contract as another option aside from discontinuing working.

But it seems like these two options would only fall into one as I can't even leave this place without a replacement. And even if they find a new one before September ends, the remaining time isn't enough to process everything, unless I terminate this contract, don't care about them, and go anywhere else I want to. But that would be a negative one in my record.

I do want to extend here but not renew as it would take another two years of working here. That would make seven years in this workplace in total and I deserve to be given a long service fee if I would renew again for the third time. That's the main matter I laid out to them before they decide to whether renew my contract or not. As for me, I could either do both, renew or terminate this contract. But my boss' decisions and future possibilities that may arise along my journey always matter.

These recent happenings and traveling brought me to the realization that working alone won't make me happy and there are ways to unwind while grinding so health aspects won't be compromised. It's just a matter of balancing everything and removing stressors and little burdens.

Still, I am torn between two questions, should I terminate this work or renew it?

I have no fixed decision yet about this matter, nor my boss' final decision after informing her about the long service fee. I guess I just need to prepare myself for whatever will happen in the next few months.

Thanks for reading this random ramblings.

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

36
$ 19.44
$ 18.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.15 from @Pantera
+ 28
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I think your decision should be more largely influenced by what makes you happy, and not what makes others (your boss, your family,…) happy. Career is one of the most important aspect of life no doubt, but your personal life is important too. Try to picture yourself in the next 18 months working for your boss. Will you be happy during that period of time? Will you be able to achieve other goals whilst working? What is your long term goal in life? Is there more to working in HK? these are some of the questions you need to ask yourself. It’s nice that you are being considerate by wanting to wait for a replacement before leaving, but this should be one of the least influencers of your decision.

Yes, some may say obligations over happiness, but most time, it should be the opposite.

I hope you make the right decision. Hehe. Been long. Enjoy the rest of the day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang tagal na if mag a add pa ng another two years ate Jane.. Pero di din naman tmaa na iwan mo sila without replacement. Hmmm. Kalibug man tawun oi :(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hirap din pero I believe you will come up with a decision before the time elapses.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ang hirap naman 2 years is a long time kaya... pero it's also not good na iwan sila without a replacement..pero again, need na iconsider ang maraming bagay...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kata nga nkya mahirap magdecide

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahirap talaga mag decide pag andamiii bagay na need iconsider, hope you'll come at the best decision ateee

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hopefully

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama ka sis hirap din kung may mga ibang plan k pa noh. Hirap tlga mgdecide

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Chose what will have a higher positive impact on your future

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks , still confused actually

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan tlga magugulat ka nlng sa pangyayari eh. Parang gusto ka pa nilang mgstay tlga anu, pero it depends on you and sa mngyayari pa Janeyy. I know you know naman kung ano tlga sa heart mo hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Better be ready kahit ano pa man mging decision nila may back up plan ka. Or matimbang mo tlga alin ang gusto mong gawin. Kaso ayan n nmn tayo sa "gusto" vs "kailangan" gawin. Mapapakanta na sana ako sa title hehe naririnig ko kasi un ky mama😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's best to just wait but be prepared for any outcome so you don't feel too shocked

$ 0.00
1 year ago

OMG madam walang uwian ang 5 years mo? kung sakali 7 years more pa? nku po parang di ko na kaya ang ganun ka tagal... if ako lang? uwian na talaga heheh!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pray ka madam, hingi ka kay Lord nang guidance in choosing the right decision and He will walk you through it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have a feeling you might settle for renewing it on the long run. This is a very tough decision and I believe the right option will reveal itself later on

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Although the situation is little hard. But don't be stress for it my dear friend . Be cool and chose the best option for you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a tough decision and no one can feel it better than you. What's your mind telling you? I understand the market is down so getting the capital by pulling out the funds to start your business might not be a good idea but I think you should leave... There can be something good that would come out of you terminating it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would say you wait for what your boss has to say first before making your decision. I am sure by then you would have had time to think about everything and way your options

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah i know..thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bat parang ayaw ka talagang pauwiin ng langit no. Parang nagawa sila ng way para di matuloy, hmmm. Pero sana ay makapag decide kana. Alin ang mas matimbang ganern.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hirap madam..kung pra sa self ko.lng..madali..kaso may ibang bagay na iisipin..tsk

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wouldn't say you terminate unless of course that's what you're truly want to do and it is what will bring you happiness. That's all that matters. Weigh the two choices and pick what will make you happy long as you're not hurting anyone.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Happiness do matter.. That is what in my mind the whole day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naku sis matagal tagal uli ang two years though madami kang mapapasyalan in that span of time pero I am sure you want to go home with your family too. Isipin mo na lang kung alin ang mas matimbang. Support lang kami:)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang wala ka naman choice kundi magrenew dahil wala ka a din kapalit..

Whatever decision you'll end up doing, i think you just have to be prepared, physically and mentally.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

More mentally 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's your choice, so I hope you choose the best so you don't regret it later, I can't suggest but I'm sure you can choose the best.😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope so

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think you should terminate. You've been there long enough and it's time to move on.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ito nasa isip ko..and i'm not happy with them anymore 😥 except sa anak na babae na close ko

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Malaking factor talaga ang happiness e.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish i could give you a suggestion but as i don't have know how about your work soo I wanna say that just stay firm, don't take stress, just be prepared mentally and physically to whatever happens next, wish you all the best

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mahirap nga po mamili pero timbangin mo nalang kung anong mas suitable at kung saan ka mas panatag. Anuman ang napili mo, sana ay maganda at maayos ka sis dyan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yun nga pinag iisipan ko ilang araw na..hayst

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nasa iyong decision an yan ate kasi hindi namin hawak puso't isip mo hehe. Kung masaya ka ate sa ginagawa mo, go ka haha. Siyempre tanggapin mo na lang yung consequences ng mga magiging decisions mo hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ano pa nga b?/_😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just embrace whatever happens next and be prepared.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No choice..hay buhay

$ 0.00
1 year ago