Timorese Kept Me Awake At Night

62 106
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

November 23, 2021

Have you ever held a snake in your life? That's an absurd question. Who wants to hold a snake anyway?

Perhaps you have seen some business owners petting snakes as they believe they attract luck in their businesses. Some would pet Koi fish like the Chinese. Some are turtles as they attract good employment, thus good wealth. Well, we all got it from Chinese beliefs and we Filipinos believed as well as we are being influenced by Chinese culture and traditions.

The word Timorese. Does it ring the bell?

In case you don't know, people from East Timor are called Timorese. It's an island country in Southeast Asia and a neighbor of Australia and surrounded by Indonesian West Timor.

From snakes to Timorese, what am I up to? I felt discombobulated as well, lol. These memories vividly remain in my mind that I want to share.

If you have read my article The Convergence Of My Real + Digital World, you probably know that my father was one of the Filipino soldiers that were sent abroad (in East Timor and Australia), as part of the United Nations team from the Philippines. That was way back in 2000 and I was still in primary by that time. After his mission, our life situation got much better.

When he went back home from his mission, we were happy as we finally saw him after half a year of staying abroad and dealing with other people. We have seen how our mother prayed for his safety each day and longed for his return.

As he stepped foot in the house, the first thing he proudly showed to us was the creature he brought from East Timor that was hiding inside his small military bag. As he put down and opened the bag, a young belly crawler creature that bears no limbs and dressed with scales slowly glided out of it, hissed, and flicked its tongue.

Image from: https://www.deviantart.com/cinestress/art/Baby-Ball-Python-264631684

And we kids exclaimed in horror when the venomous creature appeared at our sight. And we almost ran out of the house and I got goosebumps all over my body. Our father later picked up the baby python and playfully scared us. Then he explained that it was still fangless, very young, and safe to carry. He called the python Timorese, from the name of the people in East Timor. I wasn't sure of its gender, but let's call it "he", lol.

Our courageous big brother tried to touch him and the baby python's tail snuggled around his arm. My brothers laughed at it and seemingly enjoyed touching its smooth body. I, on the other hand, was terrified and couldn't seem to control my goosebumps. I was the only girl in the family by that time, *sigh*, there's no one to share my fear, lol.

Since snakes like cold places, our basin with water became its haven and our father regularly fed the baby python with meat, pork, or chicken (sosyal na ahas lage karne, lol). That was the very first wild animal we ever had at home. We do have cats and dogs, but I can't call them wild, haha.

My father didn't build a cage for him, rather, he placed the python in our antique cabinet's drawer with old clothes as his blanket.

As days went by, the baby python wasn't a baby anymore as he started to grow longer and built a quite bigger frame. He started to show his fangs as well and our father would cut them regularly using a nail cutter to keep us safe from it. At day, our basin with water was his playground, while our drawer was his bed at night.

Our family seemed to adjust to having him around fastly, especially my naughty brothers. But never in my case.

Each day the sun falls and the moon rises, I cannot contain my worries as the python kept crawling in my mind. His drawer was just located near our bed and every time we hit the sack, there were a plethora of what-ifs that clouded my mind and kept me awake at night.

"What if it escapes and crawls down to us?"

"What if it goes to our bed and snuggles down on our bed?"

"What if it curls behind me and when I lay flat, I would accidentally crush it and it would bite me?"

Those were the thoughts that kept bugging me before drifting off to sleep. And the thought of it crawling on my body cannot be shrugged off my mind that kept me worried all the time, even though it was fangless and seemed to familiarize its surroundings and its so-called human family.

One day the python sneaked out of his drawer and was nowhere to be found. We frantically searched for it, and when I visited our baby brother who was sleeping on his hammock, I spotted the grown-up python slithering on the hammock's rope and I screamed horribleness and feared that it might crawl towards my sleeping baby brother (but my brother was awakened by my screams, lol). My father heard it and shortly picked the playful python up and placed it on his shoulder. Geez. The sight of it on my father's shoulder sent shivers down my spine.

But you might ask, did he live longer?

Perhaps, the python got bored staying inside our vicinity and opted to play outside of our house. He visited our neighbor's yard and our neighbor wasn't aware that we have a snake. Poor Timorese. He died on the hands of our wicked neighbor. He was killed by our neighbor's big bolo and my father's heart sank when he saw its bloody dead body. Our brothers were sad as well as the python became their good pet already.

Although I felt relieved that no more python was crawling around our house, the thought of his dead body and my family's sad faces made me sad as well. They then buried the cold-blooded creature behind our house, and my grieving little brothers wept by its grave.

It was the end of Timorese's journey in this world.


Aside from Timorese, we did pet other wild animals after his death. My father isn't only a plant lover but an animal lover too, and he would sometimes hunt for wild animals in the woods along with my brother. Some wild animals we had before were iguanas, turtles, and wild birds.

Recently, my brother caught an eagle when he was hunting in the mountain near us and brought it home. My father bought a cage for it and they fed it regularly with fish or other meats. Unfortunately, my sister told me when I asked for the photo of it that my brother had already sold it. Perhaps, so he could buy lottery tickets as he's addicted to it.

Apart from cats and dogs, we have new pets at home and I love them. By the way, our other dog recently gave birth to these cute puppies. And look at one of our cats, it is still young and it's cute too. Our house is like a zoo already, lol, as my auntie called it before.

We have winged animals, two parrots, can not mimic words though. And hens and roosters. I believed our roosters are saved for cockfight events held in our place as my father sometimes bet for it. Poor roosters. Our late grandfather loved roosters too and his roosters won many times in different cockfights.

We also had ducks before as we have a small pond beside our house and a river behind it. Some sailed away on the little amazon river, some explored the nipa (tropical palm tree) jungle on the opposite side of the river, and they never came back home. Maybe our friendly neighbors caught and placed them on their woks, lol.

We also had pigeons when we were younger. My brothers like to pet them. But they are all grown up now and don't suit to pet pigeons anymore, so we currently have none at home.

And our new pets that I liked the most, two rabbits and a telescope fish in our aquarium. I was surprised to know that we have rabbits at home. When @Sydney posted her rabbits' photos on noisecash, I planned to buy one as well once I get back home. But I don't need to buy anymore.

So those are the pets we have and had at home. I can call our house a little jungle. We have a lot of plants and animals at home, aside from my naughty brothers, lol. Of course, we humans are the most clever and beautiful animals, haha.


But have you ever tasted cooked wild animals? Or what we called exotic foods.

Here's a wee story:

One night, my father and our neighbor were having their tuba (coconut wine) drinking session at home. They had pulutan (an appetizer taken with drinks) that smelled good and enticing, and I thought it was chicken. I asked my father what was it and he said it was chicken. I picked one and tasted it. That's the only time he revealed the truth and told me it was python's meat.

Image from: https://gourmetdeconstructed.com/2019/02/10/take-a-walk-on-the-wild-side-iii-southern-fried-python/amp/

And that was the very first time I tasted exotic food. It was tasty though.

Another exotic food I tasted was Iguana's meat. I mentioned above that our brother likes hunting wild animals, which includes Iguana. Some were petted, while some were cooked. I guess Ilocanos here eat Iguana meat too. The meat was cooked in coconut milk with chili. It tasted good like chicken meat.

Image from: https://visitwatford.com/2020/06/04/las-iguanas-the-incredible-xinxim/

My father is Ilocano. The name of the Filipinos living at North-Western Luzon in the Philippines. Ilocanos have a lot of exotic food recipes. But I never dare to taste some as I find them too exotic and not enticing.

But, is duck meat exotic too?

I mentioned we had ducks before too. Some eloped (lol) and went to neighbors' woks, while some ended up on our wok 🙈. Duck meat when grilled is yummy though.

What about the goat meat?

Another kind of animal we have at home is goat. Ilocanos like eating goat's meat and my father even bought nanny and billy goats to raise at home, they are big now with kids (baby goats). Some were placed at our farm that is a few kilometers away from home but were stolen by our friendly neighbors, so my father opted to raise the remaining ones at the grass field near home. And at night, they will be moved to their little house located within our yard. Some were butchered and served in our Fiesta.

The photo was taken by my sister yesterday

My mother also likes raising pigs and chickens, usually reserved for our Fiesta. So we have this little poultry and piggery in our backyard. But they are currently empty by now as the chickens and pig were butchered last Fiesta.


I told you our kingdom is like a little jungle. An amazon river at the back, a small pond beside it, and it is being surrounded by different plants, even inside our house has plants, and with different mammals, I mean, pets, lol.

When I read @JonicaBradley new prompt Wildlife. I ignored it as we don't have wild animals here at home (in HK). But after reading @LykeLyca story about Iggy's Adventure In The Wild, it reminded me of our iguana and Timorese pets before.

So that is all folks. So what's your story about wildlife? You can join too. Write at least 600 words of original content about wildlife, and submit it to the PromptlyJonica community. Don't forget to tag Jonica.

Thanks for reading.

Madam @Jeaneth do you still remember my story about our snake before? This is it pansit! 😅

©read.cash/@Jane (All Rights Reserved 2021)

Time of writing: 11/22/21 @1:30 pm 

34
$ 12.50
$ 11.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @soyunasantacruz
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
+ 26
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

It's a nice article, Jane. Thanks for sharing. I was actually having a goosebumps while reading it. I can't even imagine living a house with a snake in it. I'm thinking that it might bite and eat if given a chance. hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kung sa amin yan di talaga ako makakatulog na may alagang ahas sa bahay tapos di pa nakalagay sa secured cage. Kahit pa sabihin na mabait yung ahas pero ahas pa rin yun 😅 Si papa mahilig din mag alaga ng kung ano anong mga hayop, kaya minsan nangigigil talaga ako kapag may bago na namang inuwing hayop, buti sana kung malaki yung space dito. Tapos kung ano anong exotic na pagkain ang inuuwi. Minsan nga nagluto pa yun ng adobo sa gatang pagong 😬

$ 0.03
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Hala. Pagong hndi ko pa natry. Parang kwawa naman yun. Ginagawa namin pet dati..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko rin naman natry, parang nakakaawa nga talaga kainin tsaka nakakadiri din. Kaso ewaan ko dun kay papa, lahat na lang ng exotic gusto itry.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Wooow dami nyo po talagang animals sa bahay nyo po hihihi. Haha medj keri ko yung snake hwakan wag lang talaga ipis jusko. I remember na may picture din yung mama ko ng tatay ko with his snake around his shoulder 😅. Malaki din yun.
Anyways, sayang nman po at napatay ng kapitbahay nyo :(. Buti po di, nagalit yung papa nyo.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hndi naman. ..naintindihan naman kht sino papatay ng ahas 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga po ate eh. Halos lahat ata takot talaga sa ahas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Naalala ko talaga tong convo natin about sa alagang snake ng papa mo madam. Don tayo ngka close eh. 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha. Nakalimutan ko na ano pinagsimulan nun bat nagkaroon ng ahas sa comment 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same. Hindi ko narin matandaan ano initial convo natin. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I couldn't have lived in your house with the phyton. Snakes terrify me. If I think of meat from exotic animals, I have eaten alligators. And the goat in some regions of my country is a meat that is eaten frequently.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Some even eat insects in my country haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here in the Amazonas, people eat bachacos (large red ants). I've tried them once ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a jungle in my garden and you have a zoo in yours. Hehehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣 like a zoo indeed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do not fear many things, but snakes are one of those, and I would freaked out if I had been you. It is a shame what happened to him in the end.

Hehe I love your 'wee' story. I have snake in Africa and crocodile and a few other wild animals. I forgot to enter this prompt, so salamat for the reminder. You really do have a zoo at home!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha . looking forward to reading yours hehe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😬 Don't bear to see the first image of the snake. Panic is what I have when I see them. Between them and the frogs, they are competing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah.. I witnessed one before.. It's terrifying

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayan na nga na publish na ang ahas hehe! Grabe papa mo mka alaga ng animals sis, di masyado mahilig, sobrang hilig talaga! Ako nmn nka himas saglit haha! Nung gumala kami ng davao magbarkada, may obligatory pic na dapat humawak kya ayon haha!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha . ako himas dn once.. Ang lamig ng skin. Pro goosebumps todo tayo sa skin ko haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

dami mong nakain na exotic food madam...yung kambing di ko talaga kayang kainin eh haahah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tikim lng yun.. Ayoko dn amoy nyan haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do you know it's even dangerous to keep python as pet at home? What if it grows up so big and start eating humans? 😁😁

I hail those people who keeps them and can even lift them onto their hands and shoulders like your Dad. Lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It was young.. But still got killed by our neighbor 😅 Some even kept anaconda as pet haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At home, a snake got into the front door. The door has small holes, and one of them was placed. We still do not know if it is there or not, what a terror.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Will you kill it once you saw it again? 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahah why talk about that. I think she must be dead inside the door already ahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko maimagine sis. baka pinatay ko na yung ahas habang maliit pa secretly kaysa malaman kong anjan lang sya huhu. Or di kaya umalis na lang ako sa bahay at mamuhay ng payapa sa lola or mga tita.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

D kya ako makatulog ng maayos nun 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe naman kasi, nakakatakot naman talaga na may ahas sa bahay niyo. Maski ako, hindi rin ako makakatulog niyan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

What?!!! Snakes?!!! No! Never!!! I can't even think about it, talk less of doing it. Wow! Just wow!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ahhhh. Masipag si dad mo mag cut ng fangs ni timorese. ..

My brother tried to take a snake in. But we had to put it down as you know growing bigger getting hungrier and stuff

There was a stray turtle (not so wild) i took in. The poor turtle who listened to all my highschool drama.

I can't recall any more ...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yung turtle maman nmin pinakawalan lng dn sa river haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ehhhh pagka kita ko sa ahas tumataas balahibo ko hahaha cute naman talaga sila tignan kapag baby palang pero ayoko parin talaga sa kanila eh, isa yan sa pinaka hate ko na hayop hahaha. Pero kawawa parin kasi napamahal narin yung papa mo at kapatid mo don sa ahas, tas we can't blame din ypur neighbors ate kasi sino ba naman ang hindi mataranta kapag makakita ng ahas.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kht sino naman matatakot at makakapatay ng ahas haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sister I don't believe in, that keeping snakes and fishes can make your luck . These are superstitious. Here is pouplar superstitious is that if black cat pass in front of you than you would meet a accident.

These are old believes and ideas. Luck can't buy or take. It is blessing from almighty. If you are good and care about other than you would get rewards that call luck.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Some religion believe in thag

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes exactly. Younare right sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't and will never touch a snake, those things creep me out 🥶 u can't even stand seeing one, the way they move gives me chill. You guys are really brave having to live with a baby python in your home until it's grown, I won't be able to sleep very well knowing it can creep up on me anytime

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That was exactly what I felt. And I was like 10 yrs by that time haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think i can live in the vicinity with a snake. Even if I'm assured that it isn't poisonous. I hate that animal a lot. While packing the weed at out backyard once i almost picked a small one. On reflect i hit it with a stick and when i realised it was still small and probably didn't intend to hurt me,i felt bad. But rearing a snake is a "No" for me. Our house is also a replica of a zoo😂 we rear so many animals .

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha.. They even killed a big snake at our farm. Timorese was still young.. But I never dare play with it 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, kawawa naman inalagaan nila tas namatay lang sa nkamay ng kapitbahay. Pero if samin yan baka ganyan din nga reaction namin. Anyway grabi, naaalala ko ung ahas baga iyon na niluto ni papa sa oven di ako nag ask kung ano un basta tikim lang tas later nalaman ko na ahas pala. Bata pa ako nong nangyari yoin kaya diko tanda anong lasa nya .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lasang manok b? 😅 first and last ko yun nkatikim ng ahas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

takot ako sa ahas pero wag naman sanang patayin ng basta basta lang.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes dear. Your Devil have a pet snake. Already introduced him with the family. Trust me dear, holding a snake in your hand is the best thing. The cold feelings! Wow!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Whoa! Even me, I wouldn't be able to sleep knowing there's a snake somewhere in the house :D Too bad he was killed. Ilokano pala tatay mo sis hehe :) Kmi ni farm boy ang taga farm na walang pets :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha..kht aso? Mag alaga kyo sayang naman yard nyo hehe.. Walang tatakbo takbo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis wala :D Sila mama meron, aso at mga manok, lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala kp ate yung tuba dito pang samin mayroon pala sa Ilocos. Pinaka worst samim ate na gawing pulutan yung karne ng aso🤦‍♀.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Natikman ko rn yan pro d ko carry lasa. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi talaga sya tatagal kapag sa bahay sya dapat nasa wild dapat. Anyways nakakain nadin ako ng sawa hehe. Kambing ayaw ko Kasi maanggo haha. Yung duck din ayaw ko

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Kambing tikim lng ako nun. Yung duck masarap naman. Dto isa yan sa specialty. Sarap ng sauce. Kaso mdyo matigas ang meat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun goat lang pwede ko kainin hehe. Sayang naman si Timorese Iba pa din kasi talaga ang effect ng ahas sa atin. Kahit ako siguro mapapatay ko pag nakita ko un hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kya nga. Kht sino naman haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woaahh, paranv zoo nga yung bahay niyo sa dami ba naman ng hayop. I'm an animal lover too and I like taking good care of them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Pati mga tao prang hayop minsan 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bakit pinatay ng kapitbahay nyo Yong ahas kawawa naman Di naman yata sila inaano,

Nakain na din ako dito ng exotic food rabbit at bird matawag ba yang exotic heheh dito ko yan nakain Di sa pinas ,palaka nakakain ko hahah sa pinas noong maliit pa kame pero Yong palawan tubigan

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hndi nla alam na may ahas kmi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay kaya pala kawawa naman

$ 0.00
2 years ago