The Third Of The Thirteen

38 92
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

June 2, 2022

They said that our position in the family has a sense of impact and it truly matters. The responsibilities we get also depend on which spot we are in, as well as the characters we develop. So what position are you in your family? And how different are you from your siblings? Do you carry more responsibilities or fewer?

I came across these interesting prompts on LoH after being mentioned by @Princessbusayo and she invited me to take the challenge, and one of the prompts is about the position in the family.

Commonly, the firstborn is the most responsible one and most likely to follow the path of the family. But the firstborn is also putting a lot of pressure on him/herself aside from the ones he/she gets from the family because of other people's expectations. Even approval in every decision is important and as if he/she serves as a second parent in the family.

Image from Unsplash by Juliane Liebermann

Meanwhile, the middle born seems to be flexible and outgoing. But correct if I'm wrong, some black sheep in the family is the middle born 😅. But if the firstborn opts to change his/her path, it's the second child or middle child that would carry the burdens that the firstborn has abandoned. Of course, the youngest is considered the luckiest and usually follows a different path from the rest of the family. He/she usually has his/her own world and creates his/her dreams differently from others. And he/she is also keen on learning different things and pursuing things he/she wants.

I'm the third of the thirteen (yeah, you read it right, we're a small platoon, and our soldier father was our commander, lol). And back when I was younger, I always wished to be the youngest so I didn't need to worry about responsibilities thrown at me at a young age. I may be the third, but the eldest daughter and that is even more tedious since I needed to act as the second mother in the family, and the real assistant to her. Thus, the babysitter of my younger siblings.

Back when I was in high school, my classmates often went on road trips or went swimming on the weekend. I, on the other hand, would envy them and would imagine how happy they were on the beach, while I was cuddling a baby and a baby bottle on my other hand, trying to send our baby sibling to sleep so I could rest my tired arms. After sending our baby sibling to sleep, it wasn't the end of my duty yet as I still needed to help my mother to do other house chores, or look after my other young siblings.

Image from Unsplash by Ben White

I always questioned my parents in my mind, "why can't they have better family planning? Why do I need to deprive myself of doing things I want? Why can't I enjoy my life? Why do I need to take responsibilities that shouldn't be mine." I felt unfortunate back when I was younger. But the responsibilities became lesser when I got to college since I needed to live in a boarding house near our school in the city. During those years, I was free to do things that I want away from responsibilities at home.

I thought I'll be free from responsibilities since I have two older brothers, until my eldest brother got married at a young age, then followed by my second older brother. And me, the third one and the eldest daughter, took all responsibilities that should be theirs. As I stepped out of school, there were already burdens that were waiting for me to deal with. And the freedom that I wanted? I may be free and can do everything since I got a job and earn on my own, but not free from responsibilities waiting for me at home.

It is common in our country that the oldest child becomes the breadwinner of the family. But since I became the oldest non-married child, even though I'm the third, I had a bitter twist of fate and chose the life that I don't want. It also took my freedom at a young age and followed the path drawn by others. I wanted a lot of things for myself, but I always considered those who were at home and opted not to get my wants as I have to provide for their needs. Technically, I'm living and working for their own sake and putting my own priorities, needs, and wants on the second line.

How did that experience help you become, or hinder you from becoming, a successful adult?

I don't consider myself a failure, nor a successful adult YET, but I believe in myself that I'll become one. And my experiences as a breadwinner taught me to become more mindful, and resilient, and view life from a better perspective. My journey isn't just for myself, but for others, and so I became a dreamer and a conqueror.

My position in the family may have hindered me to get the real freedom that I wanted, yet, it taught me a lot of lessons and things about life, helped me grow as a person, and became stronger, mentally and physically. And I may not be successful in professional or financial aspects YET, but I can say that I succeed in conquering the challenges my life has thrown at me. And because of my position in the family, I am where I currently am and learning how to enjoy life despite the responsibilities and challenges.

There shouldn't be a hindrance to enjoying life as there are a lot of ways to attain things we are aiming for regardless of the responsibilities placed on our shoulders.

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

31
$ 9.09
$ 8.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 18
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Many pressure are ahead of the first son or daughter of the family. Though I'm the last born of my parents, but they are still deciding to have one more but I want to remain the last born of the house #LastBorn#

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ate jane, sinave ko. Haha maya ko na basahin tlga buo. Ang sakit sa puso, pareho talaga tayo may hinanakit sa magulang. Ung sa akin lang hanggang ngayon ako pa din lahat sa gawaing bahay, nalessen lang sa pagfinance. Umabot pa sa away para mapansin ng iba kong kapatid na kailangan ko ng tulong hindi puro ako financially, ang pangit lang kasi ung start ng convo namin noon parang nagyayabang sila or nagccount. Ako naman na tahimik lang it takes lots of effort to voice out na ang pagbibigay hindi puro hindi ko binobroadcast eh hindi na tlaga ako nagbibigay financially. Ganun kasi sila noon as in ipapagmukha sayo ang nabigay pero ngayon may sharing na kmi sa bahay kahit magulo pa din set-up. May hiwalay na na fam(extended fam c mama). Sabi ko sa sarili ko bakit laging kailangan ako ang maiwan sa bahay, gumalaw at maging magulang tapos ung mga ate, kapatid ko kanya kanyang gala. Imagine mula elem hanggang ngayon na late 20's na ako. Ang pagiging magulang ba may expiration? Ung tipong pagtatawanan ka pa ng iba nanjan ka pa din sa same situation noon-nanay/ taong bahay. Looking back, Nasesenti lang tlga ako te. Feeling ko lang ang di ko naenjoy ang kabataan ko, nadeprive ako masyado, napapagod pero wala eh kailangan gumalaw para sa mga kapatid ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Panganay here hahaha🤚🏻. I can already feel the treasure kasi ang taas ng pangarap ni mama sa'kin. Laging sinasabi na maybe I am the answer to the life she's been dreaming hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're right about first borns, I do put a lot of pressure on myself and that's why I started looking for ways to make money because I know there's loads of responsibilities waiting for me in the future 😩 but I wouldn't trade places with any other position in my family, putting that pressure on myself has actually made me better

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whatever the challenges we go through that shouldn't be the hindrance nor our weaknesses

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whahaha I'm the blacksheep hahaha they said haha it's the easiest term to describe a middle child haha but yeah I admit that I'm really such an headache and outgoing one. So you are such a responsible sister haha I envy you for being that haha I used to spoil my little sister those things that prohibited by my parents haha I teached her stuffs that's cause of the headache of our parents haha so that's why I'm labeled as a blacksheep of the fam.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't envy the first born child at all, the responsibility they carry is far too much. I'm the middle born , nt much pressure at all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

some black sheep in the family is the middle born

Hahahaha, my younger one isn´t though and she is very cool. I know what is it to be the firstborn when my elder sister travelled away from us and I had to take her position to care for my siblings.

I must say you are so strong a lady to carry such huge responsibilities as the third child out of thirteen. You are indeed a brave and focused woman now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow...just wow. The 3rd of 13 and the eldest daughter. You sure carried a lot of responsibilities my dear. You are tough, strong, amazing, sacrificial and you still managed to be this beautiful, Janeeeeeyyyyyy? Ah. Are you a vampire? 😂😂🤣🤣😂😂😂

I must say that I admire your resilience and your wonderful nature.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are strong girl...I know what it's like to be faces with so much responsibility but yours is way bigger so I give you a thumbs up for that...keep fighting sis!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well written, family roles also evolve with time and the youngest that were once the most care free could turn in the most responsible when the situation calls for it. Thanks for this article.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dami nyo pala madam, usually daw ganyan pag sundalo ang tatay kc daw sabik dahil nasa malayo palagi, hehe! Ako nmn panganay rin kaya I can totally relate with you... haaay, that's life madam. Laban lang!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan lng umuwi..kpg umuwi mkabuntis 🤣.. Kelan ka mag asawa madam? 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

But not all youngest experience freedom from responsibilities. Kahit bunso ako , ako pa rin nag po provide kasi nga yung oldest namin palagi nag ta travel while the middle is married with three kids...not all situations are the same and some youngest wanted also to be the oldest so that they can scold and dictate the younger siblings too ..yan di ko na experience till now lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha. Yung mga panganay mo nlng pangaralan mo 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

gusto ko nga din sana kaso baka mabatukan ako hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being the youngest did not save me from the pressure. I am more responsible than my older brothers. :(

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mga lalaki kpatid mo? Ganun daw yun. Kpg panganay pasaway, nsa bunso ang matino. Then vice versa 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Can't relate, samin kasing magkakapatid hahaha ewan. Sakto lang, nag aayaw kapag may pag aawayan. Sina mader at pader naman walang kinakampihan ee basta bahala kami kapag nag away hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ilan pla kyo magkakapatid madam?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang sipag ng parents mo Jane ah, ginawang libangan eh😂..

Meryo agree ako doon sa middle born, pero di naman black sheep na un napariwara talaga, medyo sumegway lang ngnkonte sya pero nakabalik din naman agad sa tamang landas..

Ako naman, nilang first born and first apo and extended fam kami, ako taga alaga talaga ng mga kapatid at pinsan kong maliliit, hay kaloka.. Ang bata ko pa pero mukha na akong nanay noon😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hndi naman libangan te . minsan lng umuwi si papa. Kpg umuwi nman ayun, alams na. Ako dn mukhang nanay haha. Bili pa ko gatas at diaper pra kay bunso nkala mga tindira pra sa anak ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's not easy to be the first child. The expectations and burdens are something else

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehe before I bring in my contribution. What does the black sheep really mean? Because I am confuse here. In every family I believe that everyone have their own responsibility, I recently realized that if you refuse to accept your responsibility starting right at your yonug age , you will face it at your old age or you become a liability to to others. So is always good that we join the queue and strengthen ourselves by learning, and also prepared for the future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Black sheep means the bad one 😅 the rule breaker lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Alright friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree about the middle born hahaha.. My younger bro is dead but I'm the middle child and you know how weird I'm hahaha... And as a person who did not have to take care of so many siblings, I do not understand you but I feel you on this.. parents ask us to be responsible from the age that we deserve to be pampered

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I became understandable and considerate at a young age. haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

well that is the silver lining I guess

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whatever our position in the family, I always realize in the end that what matters most is the ability to learn and understand the family's situation. Most especially it y'all have different attitudes and views in that specific problem. I'm the eldest and I know the pressure, the hidden pressure on me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And how many are you? Don't put a lot of pressure and let other members absorb it as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel you in the way I wasn't able to enjoy my childhood as I was busy taking care my younger siblings and doing household chores. I am a middle child and as what mostly happened, I felt less love, less priority and often neglected...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I felt less love, less priority and often neglected..

So far sa bandang middle din ako.. Pero naging panganah so hndj ko to nafeel 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

pero ramdam ko din ang burden sis, iyong financial burden.. ahahah. Hirap ano?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sinabi mo pa...pero so far, naka survive naman 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dami mo pa pala kapatid, mag aaral.niyan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Meanwhile, the middle born seems to be flexible and outgoing. But correct if I'm wrong, some black sheep in the family is the middle born

I'm the middle born but I sometimes feel like the black sheep of the family. Lol! So I think the theory is correct.. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha..our black sheep is in the middle too. In fact, they are many 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago